We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family destination”
Review of Elk Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great family destination”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is our second ranch vacation. We had an amazing time at Elk Mountain Ranch. The staff was incredible. The owners were hands on. The food was amazing. The horses were awesome. What a great time! You could not ask for a better experience than this ranch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thanks Jesse! It was a pleasure to have you all at the ranch. Please give our best to the boys and don't you two train too hard.... you are making the rest of us look bad. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband, daughter, and I were interested in experiencing a dude ranch vacation and learning how to ride horses. What we came back with was SO much more! EMR is filled with employees that welcome you as part of their family. My daughter became so attached to not only the friends she made with the other guests, but with nearly all of the employees that treated her with such love! As the sole vegetarian, they accommodated my dietary needs so personally and perfectly - everything was delicious! We travel several times a year, and this was the first time my daughter cried upon her return from a vacation over missing her horse, her friends, and everyone that worked there. As long as I can get a horse that doesn't eat while riding, I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All of the rooms (cabins) are within close proximity. The ranch overall is quiet. There is one cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
It was an honor to have you with us this July. Everyone still talked about Kaelyn and what a wonderful young lady she is. Please give her our best. We would love to have you all back .... and yes we can get you a horse that won't munch a bunch. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

EMR has gone over and beyond to make our family vacation a memorable one. Wonderful food, service, and variety of experiences to accommodate all of us. The staff is superb with attention to detail in every activity. We felt right at home in our cabin for the week. We enjoyed the horseback riding and the awesome views of the mountains in every direction. We had a blast white water rafting on the Arkansas River. Each meal was of abundance and tasted very good. Hope to come back next year! Thanks for the best outdoor adventure for our family.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jmkrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a family vacation at Elk Mountain Ranch. It was wonderful for everyone. The youngest, 3 and 4 year olds, we're well entertained in the children's program and loved riding Scout and Oakley.
The 2 pre-teen boys and the 2 13 year old girls all agree it is the best family vacation ever. Tears were shed when we had to leave. However, no one had more fun than the parents. Tom and Sue Murphy have very high standards, hire an outstanding team of college students, and take wonderful care of their horses. Safety always came first. Each trail ride was different. The scenery was beautiful. The meals were outstanding! I could go on and on. The kids have already asked to please go back next year.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mydougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for spending your special week with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I got "roped" into attending dude ranch family reunion. Though I have done outdoor activities like hiking and backpacking I had never ridden a horse or done other cowboy-ish activities.

By the end of the week, I was able to command a horse to go where I wanted to go and I could shoot 66% of the clay pigeons out of the air.

The owners are very safety minded, which annoyed some of the guests who thought they were expert horse riders, but I appreciated the attention to safety. The horses were very well trained.
One of my measures of an outdoor trip is how often do you get out the first aid kit. I had to bandage one "hot spot" I got from my new cowboy boots after a 16 mile ride.

Elk Mountain Ranch is in the middle of a beautiful section of the Rockies, and the staff leads a lot of long rides into the back country.

If I was to caution the traveler about any aspect of Elk Mountain Ranch, it would be to watch out for the large quantities of good food. The Ranch is at a high elevation, and they present you with more yummy food than you can eat and digest in the thin air.

An excellent place to go if you want to ride horses.

The first picture on the Tripadvisor description was my room, which in addition to the bedroom had a small living room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Glad you got "roped in". Loved having you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a fantastic family vacation at Elk Mountain Ranch, during the adults-only week at the beginning of September. My sister wrote a much longer review which covered pretty much everything, but I wanted to add my agreement.

Our room was rustic but very comfortable, and wonderfully quiet and dark at night. The ranch is old but meticulously maintained.

As much as I enjoyed the people and the activities and the food, the scenery of the high Rockies was what really blew my socks off. As a Californian who hikes a lot in the Sierra Nevada, I kept feeling like a traitor as I thought, "This is even prettier than the Sierras!" An advantage of being on horseback was that we could cover more mileage than you could on foot, and the ranch has access to a large number of really beautiful trails.

One pragmatic comment: you will like this place more if you are really into horses, or highly motivated to get that way. Riding is the primary activity, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Ask Sue. She'll help you choose the right room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
So happy that you enjoyed our 14ers.... they are spectacular. It was a treat to meet your family and get to know you all. Thanks for coming to our ranch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This vacation was our fourth straight year at Elk Mountain Ranch and we will make five next year -- a week at EMR is just that great! It is a wonderful week of horse rides, Colorado mountain scenery, excursions, water rafting, fabulous home cooked food, and exemplary hospitality from Tom and Sue and all the EMR staff. Plus some great trout fishing too! I know that it is a perfect family vacation but we like the adult only week in September. See you next year!!! Don and Carolyn S.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Elk Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
We look forward to year number 5... and RJ and Star will be waiting. Thanks for your belief in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
12.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
444 reviews
14.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
11.3 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
11.9 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rivers Mountain Motel
#4 of 18 in Buena Vista
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Ranch

Property: Elk Mountain Ranch
Address: 13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's highest guest ranch at 9600 feet. Adjacent to the Browns Canyon National Monument. Weekly package includes meals, lodging and activities - horseback riding, white water rafting, shooting sports, van trip to Aspen, excursion to ropes & adventure park, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, hayride, square dance, childrens' program and more. Massage extra. 35 pampered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Ranch Hotel Buena Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing