We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk Mountain Ranch
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Buena Vista
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pinon Court Cabins(Buena Vista)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Salida)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Lodge(Salida)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
182
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom and suesquare dancingtrap shootingwhite water raftingfamily vacationriding experiencenew friendspetting zooother guestskids programhome cookednever a dull momenthay ridesbucket listrifle shootingthe entire stafffamily style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My husband and I went here with his parents, college age brother and teenage brother for a family vacation. We had an amazing time. Elk Mtn Ranch is tucked away in the mountains just far enough to give it that private feel - but still convenient enough to get to main roads for the day trips. The Ranch and surrounding area is beautiful.
There is never a dull moment here. There is always something you can take part in - or you can just relax in your room or in the main lodge if you want a slower pace. The owners, Tom and Sue, are amazing and they hire the best staff! They are always willing to go the extra mile. Do not hesitate to try this Ranch if you are looking to ride horses a lot. There are daily trail rides, sometimes in the morning and the afternoon, and all the horses are well trained. Groups are kept small so you can feel more comfortable.
Meals are family-style with the other guests and that is a great touch. We made some great friends here and look forward to keeping in contact with them. The food is amazing - there is never a shortage and they will cater to special requests.
I just can't say enough good things about this place. It has that rustic feel - but you are not without any luxury, no "roughing it."
The ranch is run on generators so from 11pm - 6am there is no electricity, but there are flashlights in the rooms and propane lamps available. It was amazing waking up in the to TOTAL darkness. Most of us city people wish for it to be this dark at night!
Do yourself a favor and give Elk Mtn Ranch a try! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PuffinSEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I LOVED THIS! We stayed for the week, and did the horseback riding. Everyone is nice, and funny, and the horses are great. I loved it! The lodging is great too. I would defintely recommend going! IT GAVE ME ONE OF THE BEST WEEKS OF MY LIFE! You can choose to ride everyday, which we did, and recommend. All the trails are great. Or, you can sit back and relax, do shoot two different types of guns, shoot clay pigeons, whitewater raft, or do archery. I also recommend the horse Buddy, Jasper, or Latifah. You get a horse for the week, and these horses are great. You are allowed to request a horse.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rancher_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

All we can really say is that the Elk Mountain Ranch is a wonderful place to spend your vacation. Not only is the staff well trained, but the staff goes beyond the normal expectations of a five star hotel. We went to the ranch on our honeymoon in May of 1999, and went back in 2004 for our 5 year anniversary, and plan to go back on our 10 year anniversary in 2009. We cannot begin to describe how relaxing as well as exciting this place was, except to say that we love the entire Murphy Family, and I know that we both gained 10lbs from the amazing home cooking we had. We Highly Recommend visiting the Elk Mountain Ranch if you are seeking a truly stress-free, but exciting vacation!!!

Jason and Carol Campbell
Villa Ridge, Missouri

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank qhcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

On arriving at the Elk Mountain Ranch, Tom Murphy thanked his guests for allowing the opportunity to take responsibility for our special vacation time. Tom and Sue clearly take this responsibility seriously and it shows from start to finish. My wife and I and our two boys (ages 9 and 12) can safely say that this was one of our best vacations ever (if not the best). The Murphys have succeeded in creating a very special place in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. We will undoubtedly return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Win_E_Bago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We had an amazing time at Elk Mountain. From the time we arrived, we were treated like members of the family by the owners, Tom and Sue and all of the extremely professional, hardworking and friendly staff. The ranch is in set in amazingly beautiful scenery in the Rockies, 9 miles down a dirt track. We stayed in a rustic log cabin which was spotlessly clean and the food was as good as any restaurant. Our horses were very well trained and looked after. There is a full program of activities daily and you are encouraged to do as much or as little as you want. We only sat down to eat!
Riding is on the schedule every day, either a morning and afternoon ride from the ranch, or brunch cookouts, or for the brave an overnight camping trip, If you want a break, or for non riders, there are other trips such as white water rafting, fly fishing, trips to a hot springs and Aspen. In the evening there are hayrides, square dancing, volleyball and visiting entertainment. The week we were at the ranch, we went to the local rodeo. All activities are included in the price.

The electricity is by generator and we found our mobile phone chargers and battery chargers didnt work, nor could we get a reception on our mobile phones (although some people could), so it is worth bearing this in mind and preparing for this prior to your stay.

Nothing was too much trouble to make your stay comfortable, with Sue even going into town to get a replacement watch battery for me, when my watch gave up on the second day!

Being out of civilization for a week was the most relaxing experience ever and we really did not want to leave.

If you are looking for a dude ranch holiday, either as friends, a couple or a family, dont hesitate to book Elk Mountain! - There is loads to do for everyone, and we all had a whale of a time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews