We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B on the Arkansas River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I had a chance to spend some quiet time without the kids to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary in BV. We were so happy to have found Mountain River Inn (previously called Room at the River - now under a new name and ownership). The owners have thought of every detail for this lovely get-away. The room was clean and charmingly decorated, with a private entrance to the deck area overlooking the river. The breakfasts were thoughtfully prepared and yummy. And we really enjoyed the hot tub one afternoon after a few hours of hiking. Erin, the owner (her husband was away that week) was friendly and conversational. We really appreciated the small, intimate atmosphere of this B&B with only 3 rooms and a homey feel. We will definitely go back to Mountain River Inn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. Buffalo Peaks has a beautiful window view to the north but does not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLidov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

This was our first experience at a bed & breakfast and we both agree that if they are all like this we are hooked on the concept.

THE BED. Our room had its own entrance and its own bathroom with one of the best showers I have ever been in. It was extremely clean, furnished with a very comfortable king size bed, as well as a side room with a twin bed, desk and chairs. We stayed in the “Gone Fishin Suite” which was decorated with so many interesting fishing “knick knacks” that we could have stayed in the room all day long just to admire them. But we came to Colorado to enjoy the outdoors. It was AMAZING just a few steps down from our own private patio, was the mighty Arkansas River roaring by. A Spectacular view.

THE BREAKFAST. One word - DELICIOUS! Erin was careful to check with us to learn if we had any food restrictions and carefully prepared breakfasts that took that in consideration. She alternated sweet breakfasts with savory ones to make a meal that was a GREAT way to start the day. The oatmeal bran pancake muffins were outstanding! The breakfast table was set in such an attractive fashion, that we actually took pictures of the meal. What a great way to meet the other guests while enjoying a wonderful meal.

THE HOSTS – Mark and Erin. They were the most friendly, comfortable people to be with. They treated us like we were long-lost relatives. They helped us make reservations for the white water rafting, gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and even printed our boarding pass for our return flight.

All in all, we highly recommend the Room at the River. Our only concern is that our stay there may have set the bar too high for the next bed & breakfast that we visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our room was large, beautifully decorated and had an abundance of comforts. The friendly owners have thought of everything to make visitors comfortable. A tasty breakfast was served in an elegant country manner. We were sorry to only be able to stay one night. If ever in Colorado again we would revisit.

Room Tip: The Willow Suite was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! And, that is big given the fact that we aren't really B&B type of people

This place has new owners and is now called Mountain River Inn. However, Trip Advisor has not made any changes.

We stayed 2 nights earlier this month during our trip through Colorado. The house (rooms) was clean, comfortable and appropriately decorated.

We stayed in the Fishing Room, which is actually a 2 room suite w/ its own entrance. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample space. Coffee & tea was available in the room. It also had a small fridge and microwave.

The hosts were very friendly and the breakfasts beyond phenomenal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in this great B & B this June for 2 nights and enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and beautiful views of the river. Erin was a wonderful host and the breakfasts were over the top! We will certainly recommend to friends and look forward to staying there again when we visit Buena Vista!!!

Room Tip: We loved the Buffalo Peaks Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Lovely, lovely, lovely. This is quiet, it is peace, it is beauty. A weekend isn't long enough! Roomy accommodations with comfortable touches, absolutely delicious food, Barb's knowledge of everything from climbing and hiking to shopping in the area, and finally, a location right on the Arkansas. The back deck overlooking the river stretches from one end of the house to the other, and that and the landscaped bank offer multiple intimate niches with wicker, wrought iron or Adirondack chairs for river watching and gazing at the stunning cliffs and rock formations across the river. An excellent example of a place with an infinite variety of things to do while also offering seductive "let's just sit in the sun and relax" comfort. This is one I'll hope to return to.

Room Tip: All three rooms are large, comfortable, and well designed. The Gone Fishin' suite has the sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SussedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Recently spent a couple of days at the Room at the River. The rooms there are beautifully appointed in a rustic decor, the location is very convenient to the town of Buena Vista and other area attractions and the location on the Arkansas River is fantastic. Barb is an excellent hostess, providing excellent breakfasts along with advice on area attractions that would be missed otherwise. She recommended several places that we would have missed otherwise - and all were worth the trip. Hope to return for another visit in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
1.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Liars' Lodge
Liars' Lodge
#2 of 8 in Buena Vista
87 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30670 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9113 (Formerly Room at the River Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range: £144 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain River Inn is a Bed & Breakfast that rests on the banks of the famous Arkansas River, at the foot of the Collegiate Mountain Range in central Colorado, U.S.A. This quiet country setting with mountain & river views in all directions, is located 1.5 miles north of the historic downtown district of Buena Vista, Colorado. Your choice of accommodations includes three large lodging rooms, all with private baths, private riverbank deck entrance, and furnished in either willow, pine, or aspen wood furniture. See individual Room Descriptions for more details. Outside your private entrance is a deck with a patio table and chairs, wild flowers in season, and a path to the outdoor hot tub and down to the river's edge. A full and hearty breakfast is served in our dining room when the weather is cooler, or on the deck when things warm up. On the river's edge is an outdoor kiva fire-pit for evening bonfires and storytelling about the day's adventures of hiking, biking, whitewater rafting, kayaking, fly fishin', horseback riding, jeepin', 4-wheeling the Four Mile Creek Area, and sightseeing in the Rocky Mountain high country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing