We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping by the River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Sleeping by the river is just so relaxing. Our bedroom was tastefully appointed but the deck overlooking the Arkansas River just outside of our bedroom gave us a peaceful entrance into the world of nature we do not have in our home in the city. We slept soundly with only the screen door separating us from the music of the water flowing over the rocks. We will return and our friends will come too. And we will sleep soundly. And in the morning we will all enjoy a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank bunana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Gosh, Bunana your review is so poetic, especially since it looks look like you have slept in many beautiful places. Hope you get to come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a truly relaxing three days along the river and plan to return. Our hosts were very welcoming the whole time, the food and its presentation were spectacular, and our accommodations were very comfortable. A+

Room Tip: The Gone Fishing room could be renamed Gone Sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hey Greg S - So glad you enjoyed our Gone Fishing Suite aka Gone SLEEPING Suite!! It is definitely a great place to sleep, especially with your sliding glass doors open to the river sounds and cool breeze. Nothing more peaceful! Thanks much for the great review :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just spent the weekend at Mountain River Inn and we had a lovely time. The rooms were beautiful and spacious and the property was just beautiful. Our balcony looked over the Arkansas river. As well, we saw many interesting birds which I really enjoyed including hummingbirds, mountain bluebirds, Stellar's jays and others. We spent time down by the river and just hanging around in addition to hiking and the hot springs. Erin and Mark are very cordial and the breakfasts were spectacular. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hey kenverdweller - so glad you could take a little respite from "City Mouse" life and be a "Country Mouse" at our little B&B for awhile :o) Come back and visit any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thank you Mark and Erin for sharing your piece of paradise with those of us who have the opportunity to experience your home, hospitality and little piece of paradise. Your home is beautiful,your " eclectic" decor is artistic and fun , your breakfast exquisite and hospitality unequaled. Erin thank you so much for the dill which will have a special spot in next years herb garden. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Mitch and Karen , once you run out of money and move under the bridge by Mark and Erins' house it may be crowded because we may be there first :) . Maybe we can negotiate a deal so that we can at least come up for Erin and Marks fabulous breakfast.

Mark and Annette
St Louis

Room Tip: 3 rooms and they are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

LOL, MarkT - I'm thinking our bridge is going to be a very busy place!! So glad you enjoyed everything and were able to share our piece of paradise with us - it just gives you happy feet, doesn't it?? I'll be waiting to see how your Dill crop turns out - don't forget to let some go to flower and seed so you will have seeds to plant the following year :o) All deals for breakfast are definitely negotiable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary this year. We normally do weekend trips for our anniversary but after reading the reviews of others, we knew we'd want to stay longer. 3 nights was still not enough, but we had an AMAZING time. We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts, 2 of which were also in Buena Vista, but this was by far our favorite. Erin and Mark made us feel at home, were very enjoyable to talk to, and the food was not only delicious but also beautifully arranged. I could have spent the whole time sitting by the river or in the hot tub under a sky full of stars. We also loved watching the hummingbirds at the feeders, the deer accross the river, and falling asleep to the sound of the river outside our room. We stayed in the Gone Fishing room and really enjoyed it, but I peeked in the other 2 rooms and they all look great. We drove our jeep and tried out some of the trails nearby, it is a great location to start and end the day. We also loved playing in the river just down the road from Mountain River Inn B&B. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gone Fishing room and really enjoyed it, but I peeked in the other 2 rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Love ALL of your pictures, JessicaH!! The sweet Swallow Tail feeding babies, the Humming Bird, your Jeep in the water crossing, and CRINGED at the picture of your DH (Dear Husband) jumping in the water (was that "Jump Rock"? YIKES). Mark and I took your advise and went to Carnage Canyon (to JUST watch) and OMGosh, had a blast (see my News blog) watched nutty peops going up that thing. Thanks for the recommendation - we will definitely do that again! Tell that DH of ours THANKS FROM THE BOTTOM OF OUR HEARTS for his service and everything he will be doing to keep us safe here at home - Hugs to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights here in July because we wanted a convenient location to hike nearby 14ers and go whitewater rafting on the Arkansas. Mark and Erin are very friendly and welcoming hosts who even offered to get up and make us breakfast at 5 AM if we wanted on the days we were leaving early to go hiking. The breakfasts were delicious and impressive each day, and the room was very comfortable. The property is a quick drive (about 2 miles) from the restaurants in downtown Buena Vista, and it offers a nice secluded location on the Arkansas with its own "beach," sitting areas, and a hot tub overlooking the river. I can't think of a nicer place to relax and recover on a summer afternoon after a long morning of hiking in the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron10B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hey Aaron10B! Glad you both enjoyed your stay here, and glad you enjoyed your breakfasts (even though you didn't get to eat one until lunch!) - come on back any time you want to do some more 14'ners :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we were overjoyed with the room, the view, the service and especially the food! We have already rebooked for an entire week next year and are already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainRiverInn, Owner at Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks a bunch JeanieC! So glad you could stay and have such a relaxing time, while your crazy other half wore himself out on 14'ners :o) We will see you next year - hopefully you'll be doing your own 14'ner s :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
1.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Liars' Lodge
Liars' Lodge
#2 of 8 in Buena Vista
86 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30670 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9113 (Formerly Room at the River Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range: £145 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain River Inn is a Bed & Breakfast that rests on the banks of the famous Arkansas River, at the foot of the Collegiate Mountain Range in central Colorado, U.S.A. This quiet country setting with mountain & river views in all directions, is located 1.5 miles north of the historic downtown district of Buena Vista, Colorado. Your choice of accommodations includes three large lodging rooms, all with private baths, private riverbank deck entrance, and furnished in either willow, pine, or aspen wood furniture. See individual Room Descriptions for more details. Outside your private entrance is a deck with a patio table and chairs, wild flowers in season, and a path to the outdoor hot tub and down to the river's edge. A full and hearty breakfast is served in our dining room when the weather is cooler, or on the deck when things warm up. On the river's edge is an outdoor kiva fire-pit for evening bonfires and storytelling about the day's adventures of hiking, biking, whitewater rafting, kayaking, fly fishin', horseback riding, jeepin', 4-wheeling the Four Mile Creek Area, and sightseeing in the Rocky Mountain high country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain River Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing