We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Scenic, Clean Restrooms, and Professional Staff”
Review of KOA Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Campground
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We go on 3-week trips every summer. To keep costs down, we stay at KOA campgrounds in their "Kamping Kabins." They are very basic and range in price but are usually competitive with other places with camping cabins in the same area.

Although one of the more expensive KOA campgrounds we have been to, it was worth every penny! The area is gourgeous and the campground is situated up on a hill between two rocky hillsides with a view of a few 14, 000 foot mountain peaks across an expansive, green valley. There is a very busy two-lane highway way down the hill about a mile, but the noise from that wasn't too bad.

We were very sorry that we had only booked 2 nights at this campground because not only did the area have numerous things to do, there was also plenty to do without leaving the campground. There are hot springs, fishing, and even a ghost town (St Elmo) all within an hour or less of the campground. Oh, also there are numerous river rafting companies and even a zip-line attraction near Salida.

There is a horseback riding stables right on sight that is run by a wonderful family. We went on the best trail ride ever which only cost us $25.00 each for one hour. In the area where we live, the stables charge a minumum of $50.00/hr so this was a bargain.

The only problem we encountered while here was the the hot water heater for the restrooms went out so there was no hot water one of the nights we stayed there. The repair man was called promptly but he had to order the part from the east coast. So the management promptly let us know and told us that we could check out and go elsewhere and that they would refund us for the remainder of out reservation (that night) or they would comp us breakfast the following morning for our family of 4. So even though we had gone fishing and horseback rding that day and sorely needed a shower, we opted for the breakfast. option. We figured that we were camping and had to rough it.

They also told us that the community center in town had showers we could probably use and they even called for us to inquire about the hours. Unfortunately they were going to close too soon for us to get there, but they did make the call.

I was very impressed how the management was very apologetic about the shower situation and that they offered us solutions. We have had our hot water heater fail at our house too so I know that it never happens at a good time.

By the way, the breakfast was delicious and the cooks were friendly. Again, it was on-site and very convenient, especially since it was the morning of our departure.

Also, this place was very clean. They were in the process of doing some painting when we were there and the bathroom and laundry room were sparkling clean. I highly recommend this KOA, it was one of the best we have ever been to.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akidcagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for KOA Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 102 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Very happy we stayed here. Very picturesque - great views of the mountains. The website does not do it justice. Grounds had a lot of rock formations in the hills that the kids loved climbing on. The cabin and baths were very clean and the staff could not have been any nicer. Also very close to town.
Recommend Noah's Ark rafting and Mother's for breakfast in BV.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GotToG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We arrived at the KOA tired after having hiked up Mount Elbert. The staff immediately reserved us time in the hot tub. Wonderful! We stayed in a cabin which cost just under 60 dollars. The cabin itself had a double bed and bunk bed and a small table. There was a heater in the cabin as well. We were able to get internet access in the cabin. The rec room wasn't too special consisting of a pool table and small TV but the laundry room was nice and the camp store was well stocked. Breakfast was available for reasonable prices on the premises on an outdoor patio. The bathroom was a bit of a hike from the cabin along a very soft sandy road. Staff were friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deevah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We were tired of setting up our tent and decided to rent a cabin here. It is unfortunate they charge you for the extra room in it, for the kids, and then on top of that charge you for each child. It was an okay site, cabin 7, but the two cabins on either side and ours had to put up with the RV dump station directly in front of our cabins. Not good placement at all.

Good things: Clean cabin nearby whitewater attractions. Hot breakfast served (extra charge) out in a cook shack. Hot tub can be reserved for 1/2 hour. Friendly hosts with lots of smiles and information. Good scenery. Clean bathrooms. Everyone quieted down nicely at 10 PM.

Could use improvement: Need to limit tv time in the rec room. It rained, so kids were in there, and a man hogged the tv set all day watching golf. Prices seemed high, considering you could get a real motel room for the same cost. Playground equipment kind of shabby. Need more seating on porch, for rainy days. Some cabins had enough seating for 2 or 3 people, ours had one little chair.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satisfaction7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

This is a nice campground, with good, clean restrooms and shower facilities. However, for what you get, the prices were very high. Customer service was lousy, also. Any more than two people per campsite requires additional fees. A family with children will pay additional fees for each child. A simple tent site with four people will cost at least $30 per night. I was there with a Girl Scout troop that was camping there. We had a tent site and an RV site adjacent to each other. We reserved and paid for three nights at check in. Four people left before the third night. We vacated the tent site before check out time. The staff said that they would "think about" refunding the third night. We took the tent down and cleaned the site prior to check out time, but they still refused to refund the money. Cell phone service there was spotty. We asked to use their phone to make a toll free call. They refused, saying the phone was for business use only. They did not go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable, and for the prices, this place isn't worth it.

11  Thank Joel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAjosDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
3.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
478 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
2.1 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Buena Vista
Super 8 Buena Vista
#2 of 3 in Buena Vista
518 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
18.1 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Campground

Address: 27700 County Road 303, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9716
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Buena Vista
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing