We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Not Aging Well”
Review of Casa del Sol

Casa del Sol
Ranked #29 of 40 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's Not Aging Well”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Used to be that Casa del Sol was a highlight of our annual trip to BV. Sadly, we've watched the service decline over the years. If you sit on the patio-watch out. It's a blackhole, and they tend to forget you are out there.

Whoever is running the house is just not paying attention. Customers come in and stand in uncertainty by the front door for upwards of 5 minutes, waiting to be acknowledged. We watched a waitress accidentally break a glass, and her fellow servers just walked over or around it until she came back. Then the guy who cleaned it up did a half-assed job, so everyone who entered the restaurant after that point last night was walking through it. We heard lots of apologies at nearby tables for lateness of food. The restaurant opens at 5, and this was at 6. If you're in the weeds an hour after opening, what the heck is going on?

The food we had was decent. Chips are from a bag, but the salsa is awesome. I understand the power of tradition, but the menu hasn't changed in 10 years, and some new options or more flexibility might be nice. Our waitress was awesome, but i got the feeling that was the exception, not the rule.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    18
    18
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level Contributor
237 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Not particularly good food. The enchiladas sauce tasted like it came out of a can. The seating is very uncomfortable, if you are over 40 and not really flexible anymore. The menu is limited, no burritos or other typical Mexican Restaurant fare. The service was good, best to try another restaurant in town before coming here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I will never eat at this place again . Food was horrible I had the spicy layer enchiladas and my wife the green chile burrito . The plate was hot but not the food . We would never eat here again go down the street for good Mexican food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this restaurant!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The chips were a red flag when I realized they were tostitos. My enchiladas were burnt although that was the least of their problems. I would agree that this was not only the worst mexican food I have ever eaten but by far the worst food in general I have ever eaten. The most insulting part is that after leaving most of your food on the plate because it taste so poorly you are presented with a high bill as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poor choice”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The food portions were small and the prices were high. ($5.75 for an extra small taco and side of beans.) The food quality left more to be desired, too, i.e., no spices, chips from a bag, lettuce from a bag, etc. However, the salsa was very good, as was the service. Won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Sol also viewed

 
Buena Vista, CO
Buena Vista, CO
 

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing