We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT A GREAT FIND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surf Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Chateau
Ranked #1 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT FIND!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We LOVED this hotel! We stayed for two nights with our two sub-teen grandsons - who stayed in the loft and miraculously did not trash the everything WHITE decor!
The bed, the linens, the towels, the coffee, the BEST! The attention to detail was amazing.. Staying here was such a treat and the making of our visit to Buena Vista. We highly recommend it.

Be sure to visit the nearby Crepe Stand along the river for the most delicious breakfast Crepes and coffee.

Jhammer



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed by chance for three nights, the third by extended choice. Stone work original and organic, rooms clean and very chic with minimalist decoration that I think will stand the test of time. The string, by the river and the park, was charming despite construction on site. Romantic, organic, friendly, unique for small town Colorado.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleo nowhere
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent one night at Surf Chateau while on a family vacation to Colorado. We love Buena Vista and have spent numerous days in various lodging situations in the area. We were in Chateau #2, which is one of the queen loft rooms. Our child slept on the main level. It was wonderful to have enough room to spread out and have some privacy, while still being able to keep an eye on our young one. The little extras such as the small table and chairs in the courtyard are perfect for sipping wine or a cup of hot tea (provided by the establishment) while unwinding from a day on the river. We were literally 20 steps from the river park and could hear the water through our open window all night. The location was very quiet and cozy. We plan more trips back to BV, and will be planning our dates around the availability of a room at Surf Chateau. Be sure to check out the Eddyline Pub, within walking distance....BUT, call ahead and put your name on the wait list as it is the only eatery in the immediate area.

It is hard to rate the service on this hotel, because the unique check in system does not require any face-to-face contact. Be sure to read your email confirmation completely and utilize the online check in confirmation. Some other guests arrived quite late and could not figure out how to use the keypad because they had not confirmed via the electronic method.

Room Tip: Check out the loft rooms. Be sure to park early or you will have to park on a residential side stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnylmahs235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome stay at the Surf Chateau...it made our experience unique and enjoyable! We loved having coffee (good coffee) on the patio in the mornings and you can't beat the 10 second walk to the river!
The showers and sheets are amazing and the rooms are light and airy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Surf Chateau for our anniversary and were enchanted by the mix of elegance, romantic flair, and minimalist interior design. The cottage we stayed in had everything we could want yet nothing to clutter up the floor plan. The courtyard is like something from a castle in France . . . the perfect place to have a glass of wine and read. Just a stone's throw away is access to first class whitewater, a trail for a morning walk, benches for a romantic moment, and a craft style brew pub to wash down the day's adventures.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend (their opening weekend), and had an amazing time. The rooms are absolutely stunning and I can't imagine ever staying at a regular hotel again! So many places in and near Buena Vista are of the '70s rustic lodge type - but not this place! Surf Chateau re-envisions rustic to a modern, clean interpretation, yet with an elegant nod towards vintage/shabby-chic.
We had one of the loft rooms that had a sofa on the ground level and a very comfortable queen bed in the loft (I guess some rooms have an additional queen bed instead of a sofa on the ground level, in case you don't want to climb a ladder). The ceiling was very high and made the room feel extremely spacious. The kitchenette was quite functional (and included delicious, locally-roasted coffee), and the bathroom was great. Our bathroom window shade was a bit transparent, but no one was outside our window, so it worked out.
Location-wise, it's right in the middle of entertainment - on the river bank, and walking distance from many restaurants.
There wasn't a front desk for us to check in - they send an email with all the details though (including the manager's phone number, just in case. The room has a keyless entry with a passcode programmed just for each guest, so that saves the worry of losing keys or demagnetizing them. The courtyard is really cute and there were couples and families out enjoying the sun while we were there.
Overall, this was a great place to stay, not just for Buena Vista, but for anywhere! Surf Chateau is one of my favorite hotels worldwide - unique, awesome, and affordable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic location on the banks of the Arkansas River providing easy access to the river and the hiking trails beyond. Neat parks nearby in a funky and cute new area south of downtown. This hotel has a beautiful courtyard for morning coffee if you don't end up sipping your coffee on the bank of the river instead.
The rooms are simply decorated, but well appointed with a mini kitchenette including small refrigerator, breakfast bar and microwave. The spa-like bathroom is bright and generously sized. The rooms consist of a main floor area with the kitchenette, bathroom, and either a queen sized bed and TV stand or a couch and gas stove, all on a bare concrete floor. The sleeping loft upstairs has angled ceilings and is accessed by a ladder, which may be a challenge for some guests. The room had a European feel to it.
We slept with the window open and enjoyed listening to the river as we fell asleep and awoke. The kids slept on the main floor so they could watch TV late, while we slept in the loft. The TV is not visible from the loft.
The experience felt more like a vacation rental than a hotel because there was not an office to check in and access was electronic, with access info provided with the reservation.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are not yet complete and look like they may have a different layout from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
22.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
407 reviews
22.2 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
75 reviews
23.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
348 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Chateau

Property: Surf Chateau
Address: 1028 Wave St, Buena Vista, CO 81211-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Chateau is a distinctly different hotel experience. We invite you to step away from the world of conventional corporate rooms and step into a place where thoughtful design, balanced with endless possibility for outdoor adventure, creates the perfect framework for your vacation. We are located on the bank of the Arkansas River, overlooking the whitewater park in the heart of a critically acclaimed walkable neighborhood called South Main. Here you will find charming architecture, a relaxed small-town feel and endless opportunities for adventure. World-class kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, rafting, road and mountain biking, fly fishing, and an extensive system of trails are just steps away. When you're done with the day's journey, dining and boutique shops are at your fingertips. No driving necessary. A FEW IMPORTANT THINGS TO NOTE BEFORE MAKING A RESERVATION: - Please note that there is a construction project underway immediately adjacent to the Surf Chateau. There may be construction noise and traffic between the hours of 8:30 and 6 Monday through Saturday. - TripAdvisor automatically lists us in their B&B/Inn category since we do not have a 24 hour front desk. However, we are not a B&B. - Please make sure to read room descriptions before making a reservation. The property is quite unique in terms of room layout, amenities, check in process, etc. Not all rooms will work for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Surf Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing