We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, beautiful location, wonderful people, good breakfast.”
Review of Liars' Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liars' Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Liars' Lodge is a wonderful place. The lodge's architecture and craftsmanship is amazing - note the spiral staircase with hand carved railings. Set on a bluff over a beautiful part of the Arkansas river, the lodge is a place where you just want to sit on one of the decks and soak it all in.

Carl and Carol are friendly, down to earth people who fix a really nice breakfast. The rooms are 4 star quality. It's like staying in a really nice boutique hotel only better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Liar's Lodge onthe river in Buena Vista. The lodge has five spacious rooms plus a rental cabin. Our purpose was for ATVing, and the owners fortunately cater to ATVers as well as fishermen and others who want enjoy the beauty of the collegiate and surrounding mountains. A very good breakfast is served and guests can enjoy the social atmasphere of the lodge in intimate-lodge settings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ixchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We absolutely loved the Liar’s Lodge! We had a wonderful room (Pine Creek Room) on the first floor, with a sliding glass door that accessed the decks along the river. Carl and Connie were wonderful hosts. The lodge itself is absolutely incredible. The attention to detail in both construction and furnishings is a marvel. The breakfast was creatively prepared (two types of waffles and an egg/cheese dish) and nicely presented. We enjoyed the conversation with the other guests over breakfast before heading out for our 2-day white-water rafting trip. If we ever find ourselves back in Buena Vista, we will most definitely stay at the Liar’s Lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeslieRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the Liars' Lodge at the beginning of a rafting trip on the Arkansas River. The lodge was great place to start the trip. Some in our party fished the river from the river-bank behind the lodge. This beautiful pine lodge is not really rustic at all but has all the amenities anyone would ever need.
Breakfast was first-class gourmet experience and Carl and Connie run a first class establishment. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IG2BTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Host and hostess, the comfortable and attractive lodge, hearty breakfast, and views of the Arkansas River and Mount Princeton in the Collegiate range of the Rockies add up to a splendid place to spend some time. Its location on the river and a couple of miles from Buena Vista, an interesting mountain town, contribute to a pleasant stay. The high desert area about the lodge offers room for walking, and the sounds and sights of a rushing river add to the pleasures of enjoying the deck-overlook.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My family decided to have a Colorado vacation in July with only 3 days notice, I called around to 7 locations looking for a room before finding Carl. As soon as he answered the phone I felt as if I was calling family. Carl had a room available and made sure we understood the policy for last minute reservations. Friday we ran a little late and he and Connie were very sweet as we showed up around 8:30, I expected some grief but they welcomed us and had everything ready and offered us some sweets and a drink with our check-in. We had to be at our rafting at 8 the next morning when breakfast was served so, they got up EARLY to prepare an early meal just for us. This type of service continued throughout the next 2 days as we meet the family and other guest.
We will definetely return and advise other to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had just the 1 night at Liars Lodge and it was perfect. We stayed in the Frog Rock room which was plenty big enough and had access straight onto the balcony that over looks the Arkansas River. The lodge is about 2 miles from town so we drove in the arvo, left the car down town and walked home after testing out a number of the little pubs in town! Breakfast at Liars was great, we had waffles with home made berry syrup. We were extremely happy with our choice of accommodation, we could have stayed closer to town but I don't know if we could have found something with so much character as Liars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTravelAddict8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.6 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
512 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
23.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liars' Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liars' Lodge

Address: 30000 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range: £96 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liars' Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liars' Lodge is a modern log lodge built just before the turn of the century (the last one, of course). With 23 pinion covered acres, you're less than a mile from town, but you'll think you're miles from nowhere. The lodge sits right on the banks of the Arkansas River with over one-third mile of virtually exclusive river frontage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Liars' Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing