We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay with kiddos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liars' Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Liars' Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Buena Vista B&B and Inns
Kit Carson, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay with kiddos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were so pleased to stay at the Liars' Lodge. What a beautiful property...right on the river, you can hear it roaring at night if you open your window. We have 3 kids, ages 15, 13 and 9 and finding a place that fits us all comfortably is so hard. This was perfect. We each had a bed and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. The rooms were neat and clean and the property so nice. My daughter loved playing with the resident dog. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Thanks so much to our great hosts. It's located just under a mile from town, perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We found this lovely lodge when we arrived in Buena Vista without accomodations and decided to spend the night. Since the main lodge was full, we were offered the Private Cabin on the Arkansas River! This property is amazing! Great for a small group, very well equipped and comfortable. Newly remodelled, the Cabin was much more than we expected. Modern amenities and very clean, with a deck overlooking the Gold Medal Fishing of the Arkansas River and the view out the front door of the Collegiate Range, it was fantastic! The proprietors were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast the next morning (not usually included with the Cabin rental) was delightful. I highly recommend this Lodge to people who like to fish, hike or just relax and sit on the back deck and watch the shooting stars at night!

Room Tip: The Cabin is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucklulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My cousin got married at the Liar's Lodge and this was a perfect little place for a small group. The lodge has an elegant curved staircase made of pine down which the bride walked to meet her groom as the audience enjoyed lovely music in this intimate setting. Mt. Princeton, in all its grandeur, was seen in the west while the rumbling Arkansas River could be heard, just outside the large windows, in the east. Delightful fisherman decorations, wildlife art, beautiful plants, and cozy comfortable furniture graces the pleasant accommodations. The upstairs features games, books, and movie opportunities in little "reading nooks". The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms are clean. Breakfast was outstanding with pecan waffles and a delicious egg dish! Some of my relatives stayed at the "Little House on the Arkansas" and we were impressed with these accommodations as well, enjoying a cook-out on the balcony that overlooked the Arkansas River. Maybe it was the time of year (June), but there were no bugs! All in all, the experience was very pleasant and we highly recommend it!
Matt and Linda Pangle

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PangleAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Liar's Lodge in one of the rooms facing the Arkansas River. The room was very clean and had a nice semi-private patio where we could play cards overlooking the river. The view out front was of the Collegiate Peaks, which is unobstructed given the flat land. The B&B itself is also just outside of town and close to a number of things to do. At night, we left the patio open and it was nice to sleep to the river sounds. Connie was very friendly and provided us with a delicious breakfast consisting of both a blueberry upside down waffle and an egg/bacon dish! Unfortunately, we only stayed one night but would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The river-facing rooms are great for the sound at night and the mountain-facing rooms probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdkuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed in the cabin. Perfect for two couples. Very private. Cabin was nicely furnished.
Close to town but secluded. Right on the river with wonderful views. Enjoyed the wildlife.
Perfect getaway. Will be back

Room Tip: This is a bed and breakfast with separate 2 bedroom 2 bath cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan1942woodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We loved it! The room was great, the scenery was awesome, and Carl and Connie were even better. Homemade snack in the afternoon; special-diet friendly VERY tasty breakfast; Carl even swept off our windshield after a surprise snowstorm. We couldn't have asked for more, and look forward to a revisit soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thad_CoSpgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was our 3rd stay in 2 years at Liars' Lodge. Karl and Connie are friendly hosts and very helpful. They have an extensive knowledge of the area and activities; fishing, golfing, hiking, or ATVing. In other words, it's still an excellent place to stay. We've already made plans to stay there on our 2014 spring trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Vista
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
24.2 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
8.7 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liars' Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liars' Lodge

Property: Liars' Lodge
Address: 30000 County Road 371, Buena Vista, CO 81211-9705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liars' Lodge is a modern log lodge built just before the turn of the century (the last one, of course). With 23 pinion covered acres, you're less than a mile from town, but you'll think you're miles from nowhere. The lodge sits right on the banks of the Arkansas River with over one-third mile of virtually exclusive river frontage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing