We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borderline”

Budget Host Longhorn Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Host Longhorn Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Byers
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our way back to New York from California. After driving all day, I wanted to get east of Denver (and all that traffic) before looking for a motel. Well, we ended up here. Definitely not the most luxurious or cleanest place I've ever stayed. Owner/manager was a nice guy but the room we ended up with was pretty rough. If you're a single guy and need a place to crash, this place will probably suffice. If you've got your wife/girlfriend and or kids with you, keep going down Route 70. You'll eventually come to another motel. Spend a few extra bucks and get a nice room, we were wishing that we did. Also, one observation I made in the morning as we were getting ready to get back on the road was that the owner/manager was the one cleaning rooms. Not sure if he had some help that didn't come in that day for whatever reason or he's running a one-man operation there. I did notice that he was using a grocery cart for the dirty linen and garbage and such. Whenever you see something like that you can pretty much rest assured that you're not in a five-star establishment.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kuzinjethro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

We were tired from travel and decided to take a chance on this older tired looking motel. We were pleased to find a freshly painted room, clean comfortable beds and a courteous manager. They are working on the place to give it a facelift. We would stay there again if in need of a room in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were moved several times to get into a room that, according to the manager, had a "working" air conditioner. The room never got below 85. My daughter's hair was plastered to her head. The room was trashy, and the sheets had stains. The manager was also incredibly rude. Never again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tris2cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

my wife and I got stuck at this hotel due to car trouble on our honeymoon we where told it should take about 8 hours to fix our car (this is like 5 am) the owner wanted to charge us two days stay for 8 hours of occupancy the rooms where dirty and not well maintained and the managment will rip you off if you see this hotel keep driving.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank njolma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The Longhorn Motel offered us a nice clean room to stay in. Our room was on the upper level. Unfortunately there is no elevator, only stairs. Most of the rooms are on the ground floor. There is a large outdoor pool, wireless internet, and cable tv. The motel is located next to the Longhorn Resturant (which is a great place to eat) and across the highway from a Sinclair convenience store.

I was disappointed to find there wasn't a refrigerator in the room. The mattresses could have been more comfortable, but the owners couldn't have been nicer!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samsonjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We were diverted to Byers because of a snowstorm and found our haven at the Longhorn Motel. It was perfectly adequate for our purposes: clean, snug and safe. And the manager was the friendliest motel manager we've met in a long time.

Nevertheless, the property is old and is in need of a major remodel. I cant imagine that there is much traffic through byers, so I doubt it will ever be worth remodeling the hotel, so it will probably continue to decline. (Though the night we were there it was full because of the snowstorm.) Things were worn, the shower was hard to use, the lock hardly worked, etc. And the water was totally undrinkable.

So if you find yourself in Byers, CO needing a place to sleep, this place is absolutely fine, but I'd vacation elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happyfamilyadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Budget Host Longhorn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Longhorn Motel

Address: 456 N Main St, Hwy 36, Exit 316, Byers, CO 80103-8308
Region: United States > Colorado > Byers
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Byers
Price Range: £50 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Longhorn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Budget Host Longhorn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Longhorn Hotel Byers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing