We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Celeste Mountain Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tenorio Lodge(Bijagua de Upala)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Perdido(Bagaces)
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
635
185
48
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
185
48
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerrio celeste hideawaythe rivernational parkswim up barrainy seasonour honeymoonprivate trailhidden gemoff the beaten pathdown the roadbeautiful placesan joseremote locationcevichehotel groundstrip to costa rica
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our week-long trek around Costa Rica. Overall, a great hotel: friendly staff, very well-appointed rooms, beautiful pool area and lobby, and extremely thorough housekeeping service.

Do be aware that this hotel is 22 kilometers down a dirt/gravel road off of what passes as a "main highway" in Costa Rica. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, as the seclusion is one of the best things about this hotel, but it is a bumpy ride and takes about 40 minutes each way.

We had one fantastic day exploring the nearby Tenorio National Park; there are guided tours available but it's very easy to set out on your own as well (the paths are well marked). If you know some basic Spanish the park ranger at the ranger station can provide directions and other helpful information. Bring clothes that can get soaked!

The only negative aspect of this hotel that we noticed was the food. Since there's really no were else nearby to eat, you're basically eating at the hotel restaurant for all your meals. This worked out okay, because the traditional Costa Rican breakfast that they provide is delicious and filling, so we ended up skipping lunch most of the time anyway. The dinner options we tried were a little spotty, but they're definitely trying hard so it's hard to fault them too much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustinCase713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Great place, excellent staff, great tours and guides

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdykes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We just returned from a trip to Costa Rica which included 4 nights at Rio Celeste Hideaway. I travelled with my boyfriend, and two daughters 11 and 13 yrs old. This is an absolutely FABULOUS hotel! The rooms and grounds are spotless and beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful - excellent service! The beds are exceptionally comfortable, with great linens, and feather mattress toppers. The pool is beautiful, but was a bit chilly - probably due to the recent rain. The food at the restaurant is very good, and they were very accommodating to my picky children, making special requests that weren't on the menu.

The location is perfect...if you want to be away from the crowds. This hotel is pretty remote, and is about 20km down a bumpy dirt road. It's a beautiful drive, so just relax and enjoy. Also, it is an easy hike into Tenorio national park, where you can see the stunningly, freakishly BEAUTIFUL blue river, waterfall and hot spring. We hiked to the waterfall three times, including once at about 7:30 a.m., and we were the only people there! If you think the photos of the waterfall and river are beautiful, well, they are even more spectacular in person! We also went on an excursion, set up by the hotel, to visit a local farm - it was a lot of fun, and educational. The only problem was that we weren't advised that part of the tour was going into the forest by the farm, and the land was pretty swampy there, so the mosquitos were swarming. On one hike to the waterfall, we went with a guide (which we normally don't do), and he was excellent - showing us a different route through the rainforest, going past several fumaroles. We wouldn't have found this route on our own.

My kids really enjoyed this hotel as well....free wifi in the lounge! A small but good selection of DVDs at the reception desk! They thought it was a cool, fun adventure.

In short, I HIGHLY recommend this hidden gem! Go, before everyone finds out about it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liv2travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Rio Celeste Hideaway is a dream! The drive up there was a bit strenuous, its about a 45 min (because you drive slow) drive on gravel road before arriving. At first we thought we were lost, but when we finally got there my husband and I said to eachother, So worth the drive!

The rooms, the scenery, the service, the food, the spa, EVERYTHING is done with excellence. The staff is so accomodating they makes you feel like you're their priority. We fell in love with Costa Rica because of this Hotel.

We plan on visiting really soon. HIGHLY recommend if you need to truly relax, feel spoiled, and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etLovinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

After a very adventurous trip (we came from the wrong side) we finally reached the place. During the hard trip we had said to each "This place must be fantastic to make a trip like this worthwhile." It appeared to be much much more than that. Fantastic rooms, great staff, wonderful service, fabulous food, lots and lots of privacy and magnificent mostly unspoiled nature nearby.

It was just magic. We were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikHaaften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews