We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had a quick trip 3 night stay in Costa Rica, which the only thing wrong with our trip. Everything exceeded all expectations. Next time we go back (which will hopefully be sooner rather than later) we will plan to stay at the Rio Celeste if not the whole time at least the majority.

We rented a car and drove from La Fortuna to Rio Celeste Hideout, which was an hour and 30 min. It would be shorter but the last 30 min are bumpy and rocky dirt roads and there isn't much you can do to speed up that process. You really drive through rural parts Costa Rica and wonder if you are going to the right place.

It is called the Hideout for a reason, this hotel (and by hotel I mean heaven) is located at the very top of the hill at which I can only imagine is the end of the road. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink, our bags were gathered in a golf cart and told to just relax, enjoy and take a walk around the site.

The service is spectacular. We were taken out to our casita (#17 - great location looking out straight into the rainforest) by golf cart. I have to say that I've found my dream bedroom. Pictures don't do this place justice. The dark wood against white and bright colors is perfect with the green backdrop of the rainforest. Be sure to enjoy a private outdoor shower that is perfectly landscaped.

This is the nicest and most romantic place I've ever stayed at. The pool is one of the prettiest pools I've seen and has 3 hot tubs surrounding it (the hot tub in the very back is the hottest). Be sure to go to the hot tub at night and you'll get to hear howling monkeys!

The restaurant had impeccable service and very good food. Try the tortilla soup (and try not to eat it in 2 minutes)! You can relax as much or do as much activity at Rio Celeste, they have all the tours you need and can be arranged for you.

If you are looking to go on a hike on your own, there is a path between Casita #19 and #20 that will lead you all the way down to the river below. It isn't marked but we ended up finding it on our own and was one of our favorite experiences.

It was raining the majority of the time we were at Rio Celeste and with the short amount of time we were there we didn't get to see the water at its finest (electric blue color) but, it was still so incredibly beautiful and I can't wait to return.

I could go on and on forever about this place and we were only there for 17 hours. It is a true gem and great value for your money! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meghanmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    158
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
154
461
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

beautifull place and amazing service!!!
very romantic !!! We stay 2 night but 3 nights is better!
is a luxury 5 start small hotel; hiding in the beautifull jungle !
The food was very expensive for the quality...but we find a Soda Irma just down the road and the local Costa Rican food there was delicioso !! fresh tilapia meal with a drink and tortillas for only $5!! Rio celeste tour is a most do! we did have a car so we did Cano Negro Tour in our own.

Room Tip: Casita # 27 & #28 are the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny9347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed 2 nights and loved the hotel and scenery.

Rooms:

GREAT…We had room in the back of the resort facing the jungle and we were very pleased with all the amenities the room offered. The room had a large bed, cold A/C, great flat screen tv and beautiful outdoor shower. The Room also had a refrigerator and coffee maker. Outdoor seating on the deck offered a great spot to relax in the AM.

Pool:

Large pool with 3 hot tubs.

Resort:

It took us 30 minutes on a gravel road to get to the resort. They have secure parking and is 500 meters from the national park. The resort offers free internet in the lobby with 2 computers and also free skype.
The grounds are full of ginger plants and the paths are lighted.

FOOD:

This was the only problem with the resort and if you read other reviews others say the same thing about the bad food.
Breakfast was the best meal and if you book the resort with breakfast included you get coffee, bread basket, fruit plate and a choice of either fried eggs of scrambled eggs. If you want something else there is a charge.
We only ate once at the resort for dinner and that was enough. I ordered the French onion soup and it was horrible. They put a piece of burnt American single slice cheese on top of onion water with croutons. Then the country salad had yellow broccoli and mushy cauliflower with wilted lettuce. My husband ordered shrimp and they were not cleaned. The vegetables were overcooked and the fries undercooked. I have never returned a meal before but I did this time and the waiter was offended that I did not like the food and kept asking why??? If I was management I would hire a new cook and put more Costa Rican dinners on the menu. The food was also pricey of 18 dollars per meal and soups/salads are around 6 dollars. We actually ordered a bday cake before we arrived and never asked for it after the dinner meal.
TIP: great restaurant 500 meters from the hotel at the national park entrance. 10 different meal options for around 7 dollars. Super clean and great food. If you don’t have a car you can walk just down the road. Go out of hotel turn right at the big boulder turn into park entrance and the restaurant is right there…open till 7 pm. Also a little bit down the road a blue shack is another great restaurant …a older Costa Rican lady makes amazing food. Very clean and safe and around 7 dollars per plate. This cantina is open till 9 pm.

Hiking:

You do not need a guide to hike the park. It is 10 dollars per person to enter and I think its best to enter at the main entrance (out hotel to right 500 meters down)
Its one way up and one way down. They will draw you a little map at the entrance of the park if you ask. Bring bathing suit to swim in falls and hot springs.

Drive:

We rented a suv from Liberia airport and the drive was easy and took around 3 hours. Great roads and signs are in English.
Workers at the resort speak a little English…Tours from the resort are on the pricey side and so is the spa. We booked direct thru the hotel website and we got the room with breakfast, welcome drink and fruit plate in room for a great price. We did have to ask for the fruit plate a few times but we ended up getting a great fruit bowl delivered to the room. We also had to ask for the welcome drink. The young lady who met us did not speak the best English but that was no concern for us.

Summary:

Great hotel …we would stay here again but hope they hire a new cook or restaurant manager…

Would have given it 5 stars but the food brought it down a star!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Grayce_The_Super_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Four of us went to this place for a weekend, it's one of the best trips I've ever done: relaxing, romantic, delicious food, excellent service, beautiful views and rooms.... hoghly reccommended :) Dying to go back again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita_Med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Gorgeous place. Went for 12 days in 4 different hotels; this was the best hotel. Best service, most relaxing, and most beautiful. The one issue is location - its right by Rio Celeste, as advertised, but a pain to get to. It's definitely worth it though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

When we first inquired into this hotel and we were told the Rio Celeste was “300 mts from the hotel”, we thought great! Since we were travelling with two toddlers we wanted to be as close as possible. What we didn’t realize was that, yes, Rio Celeste is 300 mts away, but not the really blue section with the waterfall that you see in all the pictures. That is actually a 4-hour round-trip hike, impossible with a 2yo and 4yo. Since they knew we were traveling with two young children when we booked, it would have been nice for them to let us know this before we confirmed our reservation: that we would not be able to visit the main attraction (and reason people come) to this area. No problem, we thought, we’ll just get a babysitter for a few hours so, at least, my husband and I could visit the river. So we tried to set this up ahead of time with enough notice, only to be informed that the hotel does not offer this service. While I understand the hotel not providing this service personally, every hotel we have visited in Costa Rica with our children the last few years is willing to, at least, look for someone in the community who wants to make a little extra money and, in turn, keeping their guests happy. Hideaway, however, would not do anything. Just the difference between great customer service and mediocre, in our opinion. In light of this, we decided that the 3 nights we had booked there was going to be too long, and decided to change our reservation to 2 nights. They would not extend any consideration and we would have to pay for that 3rd night in full anyway. Not a great start.

The Good:
The lobby and rooms at the hotel are beautiful, I’m sure the best in the area. Great use of bold colours throughout the hotel. We loved the huge bathroom with outdoor shower and Jacuzzi tub, and it was nice having a DVD player and TV when it was raining outside. Comfortable beds and linens. Beautiful furniture (loved the carved chairs on the deck!) The standard nightly rate is on the low side, especially in the Green Season.

The Bad:
-The food was indescribably bad, really awful, probably the most consistently bad food we’ve had in any hotel we’ve ever stayed at. It became a running joke to us; even my kids wouldn’t eat it, and they’re great eaters. There is no way such a nice hotel should serve what we were served, especially at the prices they charge for it. Tip: for good food, go to Dona Irma’s down the road, great ‘soda’ run by a lovely Costa Rican lady.
-No cribs available, not even a pack n play, so my 2 year old kept falling of the bed. Had we known, we could have brought one from home, but we’ve never stayed at a luxury or budget hotel that couldn’t provide one.
-They had an issue with frogs/tadpoles in the pool, which we know to be common during their mating season in May (we live in CR and have a pool ourselves), but they closed it off with yellow tape our first day there, and never bothered to clean it or shock it while we were there. We occasionally would see workers standing around and talking about it, but nobody seemed eager to actually do something about it. They could have had it fixed in 24 hours (again, we have experience in these matters), but didn’t. They finally got the vacuum out the morning we were leaving. Since the pool and hot tubs were one of the reasons we booked this hotel (again, 2 small children) and they couldn’t visit the Rio Celeste lagoon, this was a big disappointment to my children. No discount whatsoever was given for this issue, which I would have thought would have been a given.

Would recommend to couples and families with older children, but they really need to improve the food in such a remote location!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Owner at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
First and foremost, please let us extend our apologies for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway. We take any and all feedback very seriously, as we feel that ensuring good customer service is of the utmost importance.

In response to some of your concerns, we have already ordered pack and plays for the hotel. We also held a meeting to address your recent comments. Regarding the food at the hotel, we are constantly working to improve the quality and flavors on our menu. We will also ensure that any further issues with frogs or tadpoles in the pool will be addressed promptly and efficiently. Our staff has also been counseled to advise hotel guests regarding the length of the hike to the water falls, in particular with regard to the physical rigors of this excursion that may not be appropriate for elderly guests or young children. We also apologize for charging you for the third night of your stay. Our hotel policy is to cancel charges for additional nights when our guests decide to shorten their stay. Please send us your mailing address so that we may reimburse you.

Unfortunately, we unable to offer babysitting services at Rio Celeste. This is a significant liability for our hotel and staff. The safety of our guests is paramount, and as such, we cannot in good conscience assure that a local person coming to care for our guests’ children would be a responsible and well-intentioned individual.

We thank you kindly for your compliments on our casitas, and are thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities of the room. We hope that we have adequately addressed your concerns, and hope you consider staying with us again in the future. As always, at Rio Celeste Hideaway, our primary goal is to ensure that our guests have a great and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

It takes about 40 minutes from the "main" road, on a rocky road in the middle of the rain forest to get to The Rio Celeste HIdeaway and it is worth every bump.

The setting is secluded, the property is exquisite and the accommodations are top notch. The outdoor lobby and restaurant are beautifully appointed and the pool area is lovely. .This is a small property with 24 rooms so the service is quite personalized. The hotel has been open for about a year, and it does seem that they are still ironing out the kinks. However, if there is a service issue, the staff members do their best to address it.

Rooms are large individual casitas, each with its own porch and its own outdoor shower area. The room is quite open...so open in fact, that we wondered why they were not furnished with dressers for your clothes. A minor over sight?

Some of the casitas face towards the jungle and some face towards the pathways. For added privacy, and the chance to see more wildlife, I would recommend that you request a casita with a porch facing the jungle. Casitas 17 and 18 face the jungle AND the river so ask for one of those.

The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is good, but not spectacular, and it is on the pricey side, so be forewarned as this location is so secluded that you are a captive audience.

The best meal is breakfast. It is hearty which is a good thing because if you go on the Rio Celeste Waterfall hike with the hotel's guide, all you get is a small bottle of water and an orange even though the hotel tells you that the guided walk comes with lunch. Again, be forewarned.

The main reason for coming to this area is to hike to the Rio Celeste River and Waterfall. The hike is moderate and approximately 7 miles round trip. The river is magical. It was a glorious experience. We went two days in a row. The first day, we took the guided hike, hired through the hotel. Our guide did not speak English. There are maps at the park entrance so the the second day, we hiked without a guide. Bring water socks or river shoes as you need to cross the rocky river. Wear or bring a bathing suit for the hot springs. Do not miss this experience. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

Two to three nights is good to take it all in without feeling rushed.

If you love rivers, jungles, waterfalls, and immaculate accommodations in a secluded location, you will love the Rio Celeste Hideaway. We hope to have the opportunity to return there some day in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Casita 17 and 18 face the jungle and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azaragovia, Owner at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
We would first like to thank you for the wonderful and heartfelt comments you left for our hotel. Rio Celeste is one of world’s hidden paradises that is just beginning to be discovered. We’re excited that you were as delighted as we were when we first set foot in this pristine jungle. We are, as you stated, a quite secluded hotel, so labor and supplies are always a challenge. Nevertheless, we apologize that your dining experience with us was less than extraordinary. Also, we apologize for your room not having a dresser. We have, however, included shelves in the closet for your convenience thus avoiding the need for a dresser and saving space within the room itself. In the future, we will take your feedback into serious consideration if we build new rooms. Thank you once again for letting us serve you and for taking the time to let us know how you’re doing. Hopefully, you had a smooth trip back home and we would love to welcome you back if you’re ever headed this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.5 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
24.9 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,235 reviews
2.8 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
#2 of 39 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing