We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodations with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodations with excellent service”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

4x4 and GPS highly recommended to get to this hideaway, and take the Upala route! Love that it feels like the blue river is in your backyard and you can swim in it (at your own risk). The staff was super friendly and service was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    161
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
158
467
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I went to this place with a couple of friends; we paid for a ‘Casita’ since it has two double beds where we were all comfortable.

I would try to express the great experience we had on a couple of concrete words:
1- Service (Personnel), I have never being treated best than in this Hotel, not only by the marvelous Bartender Oscar Delgado but also by the receptionist. They definitely were always on top of every single request we had, helping and guiding when needed and we all believe that the biggest pleasure by staying there was due to these two amazing employees. They assure everything was beyond our expectations. Two thumps up for them!

2- Room amenities: The casita was a beautiful replicate of a little house, it had our own little freezer, outside shower, Jacuzzi and a nice deck for staying in front of it that give us the opportunity to stayed a couple of hours there feeling the marvelous nature that we were surrounded.

Since the National Park is really close, we could have our walk there and met the Rio Celeste with all their wonderful details such an incredible experience, even though It was a hard path due to the day before rained and tons of mud (Wear your boots if you are thinking to go there!).

I would definitely will visit this hotel again, even if I can’t go to the Rio Celeste National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Rio Celeste Hideaway and it truly was just as beautiful as what the pictures show (if not more!). Not only are the views and the rooms beautiful but the food and the staff are just a delight. This is truly a magical place and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Loved the jacuzzi in the Villa Forest Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Been around a while, seen a lot of places, resorts, hotels, up and down the scale from cheap to expensive, and though I am not a rich girl I felt like queen for a day at this place. The actual room is an experience onto itself. Really worth the money and the arduous trip. romantic, luxurious, inviting and excellent

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If it wasn't for the food I would give this hotel a 5. The rooms were amazing with both an indoor and outdoor shower. The furniture in the rooms as well as the lounge and restaurant area made me feel like I was in Bali. There is an outdoor patio surrounded by trees giving you privacy. The landscaping surrounding the hotel was beautiful. The bed was pretty hard, but we found that to be the case with all the hotels we stayed at while we were in Costa Rica. The hotel environment was very relaxing and peaceful. There weren't many guests staying at the hotel during our stay. The food however was awful. They had the same menu for lunch and dinner with only a limited selection. Prices for lunch and dinner selections ranged from $25-30 per person. For breakfast you could chose between a typical breakfast (rice, beans, scrambled eggs, and plantains) or an American breakfast. The flavors were bland and the food was dry. I guess during peak season or if the hotel is full they do have breakfast buffets and maybe that's better. There was toast, juice, and some small muffins at the breakfast buffet area. The drive to and from the hotel to the main road is so bumpy it took us an hour each way to drive about 4 miles. Even though we hated having to drive 2 hours round trip we drove to the city nearby (Bijagua) just to get some decent food at a local soda and bakery which definitely hit the spot. If the food was better we would definitely consider going back to the hotel, because the rooms and service were great. However, having a limited menu, bland tasting food, and no access to other restaurants unless you drive an hour it makes the stay less pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were on our first trip to Costa Rica, and within days we were deviating from our gameplan. We had stopped in a lovely coffee house in La Fortuna,( called My Coffee ) and the young gentleman there recommended Rio Celeste as a must see. After a 20 km drive down a typically Costa Rican backroad we came upon the Hideaway. What a treat. It was immaculate. Our room was more like a small house and the deck bordered upon the jungle. The pool facilities were wonderful and featured three mineral water hot tubs. We hiked down to the river ( about 700 metres) and were treated to a beautiful scene. The river was sky blue, and there was a small area to swinm in. The hotel provided a small cabana and towels. Nice touch. The dining was exceptional, the service great. We were also less than a mile from the National Park which featured a somewhat arduous jungle hike to the source of the blue water. At the furthest point of the hike , two large creeks of brown colored water converged, fell over a very small waterfalls ( 2 feet high) and the water turned to a sky blue color. Well worth the sweat expended for the hike. On our return to the parking lot we spied a typical small local restaurant across the road and there we enjoyed ice cold beer, and a great lunch. Rio Celeste is a must see and the Hideaway is so romantic that you could stay for days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Rio Celeste Hideaway is a real gem. If you are looking for a luxurious retreat in the middle of the jungle off the beaten tourist path- this is the place for you.

The twenty eight individual casitas are tastefully furnished with Balinese four poster beds and come with balconies, jacuzzis and outdoor showers(optional!) set in a mini walled garden. The rooms are well maintained, very private and quiet. The Nayara Hotel and Spa in Arenal has the same owners who have given the place the same attention to detail and service as in Arenal.
Rio Celeste Hideaway has its own access the to the Rio Celeste in the form of a 700m riverside footpath ending in a little rancho with towels, set up for those keen to take a dip in the blue river, which is not possible in the National Park. The main reason for coming to this area is to see the stunningly blue Rio Celeste river, which looks fake in photographs because of the of the minerals giving it a milky blue appearance- but photos do not do it justice.

Getting to the hotel is a challenge and would be dodgy in a 2wd or vehicle without high clearance as the 9km off pavement from Bijagua is muddy, stony and deeply rutted in places. There is a second access road from the other side of the Tenorio volcano which you would use coming from Arenal; this is reputedly better.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples wanting a special treat for two or three nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a forest view balcony. We liked #17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
23.0 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
#1 of 40 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing