We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rio Celeste Posada Rural(Tenorio Volcano National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
641
185
48
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
185
48
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerrio celeste hideawaythe rivernational parkswim up barrainy seasonour honeymoonprivate trailhidden gemoff the beaten pathdown the roadbeautiful placesan joseremote locationcevichehotel groundstrip to costa rica
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Cannot say enough great things about this place. Perfect service, perfect accommodations, amazing location. Great food. Wonderful massages. Just perfect all around. So incredibly romantic...

We got here just in time to see the beautiful blue river, a quick jaunt from the hotel. That night it started raining so we skipped the national park waterfall hike as the rain turned the color of the river. We din't feel like we missed out because we were able to swim the day before. Wish we could have stayed longer, only 1 night. An amazing one night it was!

Try the tortilla soup :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

During our recent 10 day honeymoon in Costa Rica we stayed at five different properties. The Rio Celeste Hideaway was hands down our favorite.

Our arrival was preceded by a 30 minute drive on a cobbled dirt road through a rural agricultural area. When we arrived at the hotel it was like being in a different world. Hideaway is the perfect descriptor. The rooms are adjacent to natural rainforest and are surrounded by beautiful, well maintained grounds with many tropical flowers. The pool and multiple hot tubs were clean and enjoyable.

Our room was a separate building with a private balcony looking into the forest with a river running nearby, very romantic! The room itself was huge and attractive. There was a jacuzzi tub and an interesting enclosed outdoor shower. It was very clean and comfortable.

The hotel had its own private trail down to the Rio Celeste. It was well maintained and gave a true "in the rainforest" experience.

The breakfast buffet was pretty average but the dinners we had at the restaurant were quite good. The serve staff were all friendly and generally on top of things.

During our stay we had an emergency back in the states that required some phone calls. There was no cell reception but the front desk staff offered us free use of a VOIP phone. The desk staff, especially Juan Pablo, assisted us with distinction throughout our stay going above and beyond the call of duty more than once.

WiFi service in the reception and restaurant areas was adequate.

The only detraction was the condition of the roofs on the rooms. Most had many holes through the shingles some of which were rather large. Ours was no exception but, despite rains each night, the inside was water tight.

Overall we had a most enjoyable stay and would return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNWTravellinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Traveling to and from Liberia, we chose to experience the Tenorio area rather than the ever-popular Arenal/Monteverde area, which is much farther away. Plus this would be new to both of us. It was well worth the extra planning and price. To get there, we booked transportation through Guanacaste Viajes Tours. Their price was the best and their logistics were flawless - an airport pickup, a van to Bijuaguas, a 4WD taxi waiting for us to take us up the rocky road to the hotel (included for the originally quoted price from GVT). That all took about 2:45. Note: Lonely Planet says you can't get there from Bijaguas - outdated. Once there the hotel is truly a hideaway. Tip: hit the grocery store before heading up the rocky road and get some booze or snacks. Once you're at the hotel, you're captive to their menu and prices. Good food and drink, just $$ if you're there for a while. While I'm on the food topic, if you have time and energy you can walk down the road for 2 km to the local Soda and have authentic, tasty Casadas and local environment for local prices.
The hotel is beautiful with a nice pool and hot tubs. The regular forest facing rooms were great, and I agree with reviewers that say there aren't really bad rooms. I'd try to avoid the rooms on the inside circle, lacking a private backyard, but other than that they all have good views of forest and privacy. I wouldn't stress about that too much. There's a 1km trail you can take to the Rio Celeste. It's not THE Rio Celeste that is a must do, but it's the same water and you definitely can swim in it. We went there twice and swam in total privacy. Another tip: bring a really good flashlight and you can have night adventures on the trail at or after dark. I would not spend $35 for the 1 hour night tour. Bring a flashlight and some courage and you'll have a better time spotting the frogs and other surprises yourself. Breakfast was included in the tab and other meals were spend as expected but very good. Service was great and staff super friendly. I wonder if anyone older than 25 works there. Have good company, because this place is secluded!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmSarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is one of those rare places where the photos do not do justice...the place is even more beautiful than the photos on the website. Everything about this place was excellent - amazing location by the Tenorio Volcano National Park, gorgeous cottages, cool outdoor shower, caring staff, a trail right from within the property (would recommend this easy trail) where you could have a picnic on the covered deck. The only one not so good thing about this place is the food, the food in the small restaurant outside the national park was way better.

You will need your own rental car to get to this place for sure and preferably a 4x4 as there are unpaved roads for miles (which is not an uncommon occurrence in Costa Rica).

We are in love with Rio Celeste, this is surely one of our best hotels and we travel quite a lot. Thank you Rio Celeste and we will be back for longer the next time. This was a great find :) and surely highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAManSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

There are two ways of reaching this resort which have been well documented.

The journey from Guatuso in the East is about 22km and the terrain quite easily traversed - you do not need a 4 wheel drive. If you are coming via Bijagua in the West although the journey is much shorter the terrain is difficult and I would not like to have tackled it in an ordinary car!

Once reaching the Lodge you will be quite amazed at the level of luxury. The Forest Casita (ours was number 23) is magnificent. Large, luxurious and with a big terrace overlooking the forest and river. Lovely furnishings and a massive bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath (which does work but takes a long time to fill to a working level) and plenty of hot water. There is also an outside shower for those that like that type of thing. Sadly the weather was really poor when we were there in late December.

There is a large pool (quite cool) and several outside jacuzzis (much warmer) and nice paths both in the grounds and down to the river.

The food was terrific, a wide menu and very imaginative dishes. Really this is almost a luxury restaurant with rooms but sadly the wine list was as mediocre as we experienced in Costa Rica.

Staff were charming throughout our two night stay and it was a shame about the weather.

Although we thoroughly enjoyed the place it was a nuisance that nearly all the other guests were from a large "pre-wedding party". This is supposed to be a peaceful retreat and their prescence made it far from peaceful. Very loud music the first night when we were dining - we actually complained about it and the staff were very supportive and got it turned down.

A tip then is that if you do book, and we would recommend the lodge wholeheartedly, and want peace and quiet then check with them there is not a large wedding or similar party booked in at the same time.

Room Tip: All Forest Casitas similar and first rate. Beware of wedding parties!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews