We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel & Food:
This hotel was a pain to get to but such an amazing gem once you get there. We rented a car and would not have found this place without the GPS. If you're doing the same thing then hold on tight- lots of steep, unpaved roads. Once you get there you're welcomed at an open-air lobby and all of the staff members are very helpful. There is wifi in the main areas but not in the rooms, and board/card games in the lobby lounge area. The rooms are in individual huts/casitas. The room was absolutely gorgeous! The outdoor shower was incredible, the bedding was comfortable, and we loved that it was tucked away in the forest. This was exactly what we wanted from our trip to Costa Rica. The food at the restaurant was very good and the welcome drink was delicious (so we ordered it with rum). The included breakfast consists of LOTS of fresh fruit and a hot meal of your choice. It was delicious and so much food!

Excursions:
I wish I had known that the hiking trail on the property led to a swimming hole in the Rio Celeste river. I definitely encourage you to do that. Its an easy 5-10 minute walk, accessible by flip flops. Take your swim suit and a towel! We also hiked to the Rio Celeste waterfall. We chose to do this without a guide, which was perfectly fine. There is a $10 entry fee per person into the national park. (Take cash!) Make sure to walk all the way to the end of the trail, that's where you'll see the river water change colors. We walked through very deep mud, make sure to take hiking boots and prepare to get VERY dirty. It's well worth it! Lastly, we opted to do the kayaking trip offered through the hotel. We expected it to be a bit more rigorous but it ended up being a pretty quiet and relaxing paddle. Ohdir (spelling?) was our guide and he was very nice. We had lunch at Dona Ina's soda close to the hotel. It was really good! I definitely recommend that place if you want to eat typical tico food offsite.

We will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved room #16- it was on the back of the property, away from everyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything was great, my only recommendation to the hotel is to implement some sort of transportation to the national part that is around 2 kilometers from the Hotel. I guess the 90% of the people that go to this hotel stay there because of this park, but there is no transportation from the hotel to the park and the road is not in a good shape for those who don't own a 4x4 car. I will not mind to pay for that service instead of walk that road or drive my sedan through those "road"

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_Pintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was such a great find and so perfectly located in the Rio Celeste area. The included breakfast Tipico was yummy but was also a nice place to eat. We had our 14mth daughter with us and although she was the only child we saw, the staff was very helpful and friendly in accommodating our families needs. The pictures are right on and probably don't even do it justice. I wish they had babysitting because it really was a wonderful romantic place for a couple to be in love and relax.

Room Tip: There is a place near the hotel to get great tipical CR cooking and the staff is very helpful in mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is extremely remote and hard to get to on unpaved roads. The rooms are spacious, but the lighting is odd- fluorescent bulbs. There is an outdoor shower which is nice. The food is fair, but there is no other place remotely close. The service is not good- front desk staff is not polished. The property is very run down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imrconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Hideaway Hotel is a beautiful place. The staff are all excellent and seem to be waiting to do whatever you want. The room we stayed in was so romantic: hardwood floors, bamboo high ceilings, huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub, outdoor shower, covered private patio. The pool area is very inviting and has 3 hot tubs. There is an adjoining, swim-up bar where Mauricio, bartender extraordinaire will serve you. Breakfast is included in the room rate. We ate dinner there our first night. The food was excellent, but we thought a little over priced. My husband and I also had massages in the spa. This experience was the most disappointing of our stay. My husband had a Swedish massage; his masseuse used way too much pressure, even using her elbows on his upper back, NOT what one expects from a normal Swedish massage. I had the aromatherapy massage. I've had these before, and the masseur always used several different fragrances throughout the massage. However, before my massage, I was asked to sniff several scents and then pick one. Only one. The massage itself was okay except that he didn't massage my scalp at all, which I have come to expect with every massage! Other than that, we LOVED our stay there. Another night we ate dinner at the hotel down the road, Rio Celeste Catarata, which has a lovely local cafe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

True meaning to the above mentioned titled quote. No complaints at all from arrival to departure at the resort. The staff is amazing and the rooms are placed in pure paradise. The perfect stay for a romantic styled getaway! Tip: If looking for a true Costa Rican home cooked meal just down the bumpy road from the resort is a family owned restaurant that serves you right out of their home in a covered outdoor seating area-the resort staff members at the front desk directed us and there is where we dinned for cheap while our plates were pretty hearty during our late night returns from full day excursions.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank k_garcia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! Our room was a private bungalow set back in the rain forest. It was better than we anticipated. We were serenaded to sleep each night by the sound of the rainforests creatures which could not make for a better back ground noise. The food in the restaurant was also amazing! The service staff was very professional which of course always enhances any experience. Food was kind of expensive, but was worth the money. Seeing the astonishing River Celeste at Tenorio National Park was just an added benefit to the two day stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway ;)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,966 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,430 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range: £66 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing