We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful but Remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful but Remote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful/tropical and just what we were hoping for on our trip. The landscaping was so pretty. I absolutely loved the rooms which were huge and full of amenities. The hotel and grounds are very clean. Everything was just like the pictures on line. The only thing I would recommend is a 4 wheel drive vehicle. This hotel is really remote and not easy to get to. It is a long way on an unpaved bumpy, and at times steep road. Our standard car almost did not make it up two different inclines--we just started rolling back. About 30 minutes in to the trip and I was really praying we would make it to the hotel. The kids thought it was great fun, but it was way off the beaten path. As long as you know what to expect on the way to the hotel, then once you get there, you will be very pleased. Also expect to have all your meals at the hotel as there is no where else to go. But the restaurant is lovely, just a little overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    158
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
157
462
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great! it has great rooms and surroundings, the people that work there are all very pleasant and nice. The food is very good and the river is priceless!

Only the road there is not as nice, take a 4x4 because it is wort it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful, private hideaway! Rooms are spacious & beautifuy decorated (inc private porch, jacuzi, in and outdoor shower and huge bed). Staff is friendly and helpful. Great food nice pool. Hotel has a private trail (15min) to the blue celeste river where you can dip in (clean towels are ready for you). Perfect!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The room was gorgeous although musty but that's the way it is in a rain forest. LOVED the outdoor shower and beautiful back deck. We had a fabulous time. Food was delicious. Worth the drive out there for sure. Weather was a little wet but we were prepared for that. Didn't have a problem with mosquitoes which was a nice surprise. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisM311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel & Food:
This hotel was a pain to get to but such an amazing gem once you get there. We rented a car and would not have found this place without the GPS. If you're doing the same thing then hold on tight- lots of steep, unpaved roads. Once you get there you're welcomed at an open-air lobby and all of the staff members are very helpful. There is wifi in the main areas but not in the rooms, and board/card games in the lobby lounge area. The rooms are in individual huts/casitas. The room was absolutely gorgeous! The outdoor shower was incredible, the bedding was comfortable, and we loved that it was tucked away in the forest. This was exactly what we wanted from our trip to Costa Rica. The food at the restaurant was very good and the welcome drink was delicious (so we ordered it with rum). The included breakfast consists of LOTS of fresh fruit and a hot meal of your choice. It was delicious and so much food!

Excursions:
I wish I had known that the hiking trail on the property led to a swimming hole in the Rio Celeste river. I definitely encourage you to do that. Its an easy 5-10 minute walk, accessible by flip flops. Take your swim suit and a towel! We also hiked to the Rio Celeste waterfall. We chose to do this without a guide, which was perfectly fine. There is a $10 entry fee per person into the national park. (Take cash!) Make sure to walk all the way to the end of the trail, that's where you'll see the river water change colors. We walked through very deep mud, make sure to take hiking boots and prepare to get VERY dirty. It's well worth it! Lastly, we opted to do the kayaking trip offered through the hotel. We expected it to be a bit more rigorous but it ended up being a pretty quiet and relaxing paddle. Ohdir (spelling?) was our guide and he was very nice. We had lunch at Dona Ina's soda close to the hotel. It was really good! I definitely recommend that place if you want to eat typical tico food offsite.

We will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved room #16- it was on the back of the property, away from everyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything was great, my only recommendation to the hotel is to implement some sort of transportation to the national part that is around 2 kilometers from the Hotel. I guess the 90% of the people that go to this hotel stay there because of this park, but there is no transportation from the hotel to the park and the road is not in a good shape for those who don't own a 4x4 car. I will not mind to pay for that service instead of walk that road or drive my sedan through those "road"

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis_Pintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was such a great find and so perfectly located in the Rio Celeste area. The included breakfast Tipico was yummy but was also a nice place to eat. We had our 14mth daughter with us and although she was the only child we saw, the staff was very helpful and friendly in accommodating our families needs. The pictures are right on and probably don't even do it justice. I wish they had babysitting because it really was a wonderful romantic place for a couple to be in love and relax.

Room Tip: There is a place near the hotel to get great tipical CR cooking and the staff is very helpful in mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
23.0 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
#1 of 39 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing