We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is a true hideaway.It's off the key tourist tracks, requires either a SUV or a good driver willing to take a sedan up the gravel road. The hotel is 1500m from the entrance to the great Rio Celeste River National Park and even has it's own jungle path curved out to reach the river. BTW, there is a nice stand with towels next to the river so it's easy to take a swim.

One of the best things about the place are the room or should I say: huts. Very spacious, great bathroom inc. an outdoo shower. Loads of room for clothes and extra places to sit down.
The place is also v.clean altough the hot spring pools will soon require a refresh. The restuarant serves really good food but it's overpriced. You do not have too many alternatices outside the hotel (one soda and one other hotel restaurant). Having said that the quality was really good and portions big.

The service was ok, but I have seen better. For example I was surprised no one offered the melex to take our bags up to the hut... The guys in the restaurants on the other hand were really nice.

The biggest drawback from our point of view were the breakfasts. You had the standard american set, fruits and 1 dish to chose from 2... We have had better breakfast in 2 star hotels in Costa Rica. Big shame not to have even pankaces, omlettes as an alternative.
Spa prices were ok, a bit on the top end, but affordable.

The pool was nice, but do not expect attractions for the kids. It's not a pure family destination so we knew this before arrival. What was a surprise is a lack of even a small playground. There was actually a nice lot a bit away from the crowd that should make a great spot for one :)

To sum up: if the breakfast will be improved, the price tag lowered on the stay and in the menu card, the hotel should get more 5 stars votes. I give it 4 as t the rooms, the remote location in the jungle near the Celeste river still deserve a very good rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful/tropical and just what we were hoping for on our trip. The landscaping was so pretty. I absolutely loved the rooms which were huge and full of amenities. The hotel and grounds are very clean. Everything was just like the pictures on line. The only thing I would recommend is a 4 wheel drive vehicle. This hotel is really remote and not easy to get to. It is a long way on an unpaved bumpy, and at times steep road. Our standard car almost did not make it up two different inclines--we just started rolling back. About 30 minutes in to the trip and I was really praying we would make it to the hotel. The kids thought it was great fun, but it was way off the beaten path. As long as you know what to expect on the way to the hotel, then once you get there, you will be very pleased. Also expect to have all your meals at the hotel as there is no where else to go. But the restaurant is lovely, just a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great! it has great rooms and surroundings, the people that work there are all very pleasant and nice. The food is very good and the river is priceless!

Only the road there is not as nice, take a 4x4 because it is wort it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful, private hideaway! Rooms are spacious & beautifuy decorated (inc private porch, jacuzi, in and outdoor shower and huge bed). Staff is friendly and helpful. Great food nice pool. Hotel has a private trail (15min) to the blue celeste river where you can dip in (clean towels are ready for you). Perfect!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The room was gorgeous although musty but that's the way it is in a rain forest. LOVED the outdoor shower and beautiful back deck. We had a fabulous time. Food was delicious. Worth the drive out there for sure. Weather was a little wet but we were prepared for that. Didn't have a problem with mosquitoes which was a nice surprise. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisM311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel & Food:
This hotel was a pain to get to but such an amazing gem once you get there. We rented a car and would not have found this place without the GPS. If you're doing the same thing then hold on tight- lots of steep, unpaved roads. Once you get there you're welcomed at an open-air lobby and all of the staff members are very helpful. There is wifi in the main areas but not in the rooms, and board/card games in the lobby lounge area. The rooms are in individual huts/casitas. The room was absolutely gorgeous! The outdoor shower was incredible, the bedding was comfortable, and we loved that it was tucked away in the forest. This was exactly what we wanted from our trip to Costa Rica. The food at the restaurant was very good and the welcome drink was delicious (so we ordered it with rum). The included breakfast consists of LOTS of fresh fruit and a hot meal of your choice. It was delicious and so much food!

Excursions:
I wish I had known that the hiking trail on the property led to a swimming hole in the Rio Celeste river. I definitely encourage you to do that. Its an easy 5-10 minute walk, accessible by flip flops. Take your swim suit and a towel! We also hiked to the Rio Celeste waterfall. We chose to do this without a guide, which was perfectly fine. There is a $10 entry fee per person into the national park. (Take cash!) Make sure to walk all the way to the end of the trail, that's where you'll see the river water change colors. We walked through very deep mud, make sure to take hiking boots and prepare to get VERY dirty. It's well worth it! Lastly, we opted to do the kayaking trip offered through the hotel. We expected it to be a bit more rigorous but it ended up being a pretty quiet and relaxing paddle. Ohdir (spelling?) was our guide and he was very nice. We had lunch at Dona Ina's soda close to the hotel. It was really good! I definitely recommend that place if you want to eat typical tico food offsite.

We will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: We loved room #16- it was on the back of the property, away from everyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything was great, my only recommendation to the hotel is to implement some sort of transportation to the national part that is around 2 kilometers from the Hotel. I guess the 90% of the people that go to this hotel stay there because of this park, but there is no transportation from the hotel to the park and the road is not in a good shape for those who don't own a 4x4 car. I will not mind to pay for that service instead of walk that road or drive my sedan through those "road"

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_Pintor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,428 reviews
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
323 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,481 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range: £61 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing