We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of the trip”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is incredible, especially considering the price. My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights when we first arrived in Costa Rica and were blown away by the hotel's beauty. Though the road to get there is rough if you come from Bijuaga (TIP: If you're coming from the south or west, drive the extra distance to Upala! We had a 4 wheel drive, and were still slipping and sliding down sheer mud and sand hillls on the Bijuaga road) the destination is well worth the trip.
Each "room" is really its own little cabana which is somehow designed in such a way as to never see any neighbors, or really much of the path. You feel secluded. And they are incredibly spacious.
We also booked a massage, and this was the best massage of our lives. Extremely professional and the setting was beautiful.
The food in the restaurant is superb (I recommend the salmon). Many many hotel restaurants leave something to be desired, but this one was incredible.
The private hotel hike down to the river is quite nice too, especially if you want to take a dip in the insanely blue water (the national park has rules against it.....). Quite fun to go whooshing down the rapids on your back.
All in all, this was an incredible hotel, extremely well designed, and the staff was unbelievably friendly. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Drive to Upala. Do not take the Bijuaga road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conwaypedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    166
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
164
474
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We can't recommend this hotel enough- it was truly a mix of authenticity, comfort, and beauty. The grounds are so well maintained. Don't miss the walk to the river - and make sure you swim when you get there - it's unbelievable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 1 night at this hotel and I wish it could have been more! The hotel room was amazing with a great balcony that has a view to the forest. It is truly stricking. The bathroom is very pretty and spacious, I particularly liked the fact that there is an outdoor shower so you can choose where to take a shower.

Service was incredible, every single waiter or person in the hotel was extremely nice and eagger to help you. The food was amazing- the tomato creme was outstanding and we had meat which was also very very good.

I loved this place and would LOVE to come back. You must visit this place if you're staying near Rio Celeste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I will summaries by saying that you need to visit this hotel!

It is set in an incredible location and the fact that it has a walk down to the river with swimming facilities is just out of this world!

The hotel pool and ground is beautiful and the fact that the room look onto the rainforest is just incredible!

I would only say that the dinners could have been slightly improved give how extraordinary everything else was but I do need to mention that we spent Christmas eve so perhaps the buffet was not as great as the restaurant usually is, that is not to say it was good!!!

The room were again beautifully decorated and very comfortable, we loved the out door shower!!!

The staff is very helpful and attended to our every request even before our arrival.

It is true that the access is tricky but honestly any costa rica vehicle will make it, it is easier in a 4x4 but not essential I tell you the locals work wonders! In any event it is a road trip worth taking on!

The activities offered in and around are also incredible and for our family the very best in costa rica. We did a hike which catered for a 4 year old all the way to a 69...and all walked out promising we would do it again. The kids organised by the hotel was just great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa, Polska
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is a true hideaway.It's off the key tourist tracks, requires either a SUV or a good driver willing to take a sedan up the gravel road. The hotel is 1500m from the entrance to the great Rio Celeste River National Park and even has it's own jungle path curved out to reach the river. BTW, there is a nice stand with towels next to the river so it's easy to take a swim.

One of the best things about the place are the room or should I say: huts. Very spacious, great bathroom inc. an outdoo shower. Loads of room for clothes and extra places to sit down.
The place is also v.clean altough the hot spring pools will soon require a refresh. The restuarant serves really good food but it's overpriced. You do not have too many alternatices outside the hotel (one soda and one other hotel restaurant). Having said that the quality was really good and portions big.

The service was ok, but I have seen better. For example I was surprised no one offered the melex to take our bags up to the hut... The guys in the restaurants on the other hand were really nice.

The biggest drawback from our point of view were the breakfasts. You had the standard american set, fruits and 1 dish to chose from 2... We have had better breakfast in 2 star hotels in Costa Rica. Big shame not to have even pankaces, omlettes as an alternative.
Spa prices were ok, a bit on the top end, but affordable.

The pool was nice, but do not expect attractions for the kids. It's not a pure family destination so we knew this before arrival. What was a surprise is a lack of even a small playground. There was actually a nice lot a bit away from the crowd that should make a great spot for one :)

To sum up: if the breakfast will be improved, the price tag lowered on the stay and in the menu card, the hotel should get more 5 stars votes. I give it 4 as t the rooms, the remote location in the jungle near the Celeste river still deserve a very good rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken SC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The hotel lobby is beautiful/tropical and just what we were hoping for on our trip. The landscaping was so pretty. I absolutely loved the rooms which were huge and full of amenities. The hotel and grounds are very clean. Everything was just like the pictures on line. The only thing I would recommend is a 4 wheel drive vehicle. This hotel is really remote and not easy to get to. It is a long way on an unpaved bumpy, and at times steep road. Our standard car almost did not make it up two different inclines--we just started rolling back. About 30 minutes in to the trip and I was really praying we would make it to the hotel. The kids thought it was great fun, but it was way off the beaten path. As long as you know what to expect on the way to the hotel, then once you get there, you will be very pleased. Also expect to have all your meals at the hotel as there is no where else to go. But the restaurant is lovely, just a little overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdgAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great! it has great rooms and surroundings, the people that work there are all very pleasant and nice. The food is very good and the river is priceless!

Only the road there is not as nice, take a 4x4 because it is wort it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
650 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,380 reviews
24.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,247 reviews
24.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Property: Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing