We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Getting to Rio Celeste Hideaway is an adventure in itself! 5km of road to the hotel will give
you a butt massage! There are plans to pave the road, but don't look for it anytime soon say the locals. It is worth the trip anyway to get away from it all! Attention to detail in the furnishings in both rooms and restaurant is quite nice. The staff is exceptional. A member of the hotel staff took my husband and I a hike behind the hotel to the river-he was very knowledgeable about the flora/fauna and animals. Our shoes got pretty muddy crossing the river etc, so the housekeeping staff cleaned them. WOW! I was going to throw them out after this trip, but they still sparkle! This is a new hotel so you will have it quiet until the word gets out. We went from Rio Celeste Hideaway to Cana Negro for a river excursion. That was super! We did not have time in 2 days to get into the park because of the all day river trip. I hear the waterfalls in the park are great. The color of the water particularly interesting. If off the beaten path is what you are looking for look no further!
The chef is young and came out to greet us-one dinner was a bit bland, but the next night wonderful! Breakfast was quite good. We brought our own wine, no corkage fee. The spa room is under construction. Should be done in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

I have been traveling to Costa Rica all my life, being that I have a Costa Rican mother and have always loved exploring the natural wonders of the country. Now each summer I return with my husband and two children, ages 5 and 6, to experience new adventures.

While I have been to many waterfalls and rivers throughout the country, what one finds at Rio Celeste is so remarkably distinct because of the amazing phenomena of two rivers converging to create chemical reaction that produces this incredibly blue hue in the water. This is a place that many of the guide books have not yet covered, so if you aim to experience something truly remote and unique, this is a gem. You can enter the trails just a couple kilometers from the Hideaway hotel inside the Tenorio Volcano National Park. In addition to the river, you will be amidst the thermal waters of a volcano, the trails of the forest, and the spectacular waterfall.

The Rio Celeste Hideaway offers the luxury, service and amenities of a fine hotel. Yet it is so removed from even the nearest town, it is a true getaway. The rooms are super spacious and elegantly finished. Each is its own separate building with a porch so it offers great peace and privacy. My family’s favorite feature was the private outdoor shower adjoining the bathroom. If you come here you will likely only leave to hike into the park. The common spaces within the hotel are very elegant and welcoming. The pool and hot tubs with accompanying pool bar are a great place to decompress. We ended up extending our stay because the ambience and amenities was so conducive to relaxing and renewing.

The staff of the hotel is extremely service oriented. Each person was so earnest and genuine in wanting us to have a super experience. One detail that won me over was that when we arrived with our wet and muddy hiking clothes and shoes they washed AND dried them right away. When we experienced a couple operational hiccups due to the newness of the hotel, the staff was so incredibly open to our feedback and went above and beyond to compensate.

My heartfelt thanks to the whole staff for all you did for us!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Simply put, excellent. This hotel is run by the same people who opened the Arenal Nayara Hotel near the Arenal Volcano. Friends of ours pointed us towards that hotel and in researching that property we came upon the Rio Celeste Hideaway. What a vacation, we hiked along the river, had a real picnic style costa rican meal, we saw so much wild life. We can't wait to get back.

I attached a link to the other hotel, Arenal Nayara. They are fairly similar in style and level of luxury.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g309226-d866587-Reviews-Arenal_Nayara_Hotel_Gardens-La_Fortuna_de_San_Carlos_Arenal_Volcano_National_Park_Province_of_Alajuela.html

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We were transported to a different world. The hotel is gorgeous, exclusive, gourmet and extra comfortable. The sights are awesome. The Rio Celeste national park hike is inspiring, good exercise and an incredible way to experience the rain forest. The river and waterfall are unique in the world. We took horses to reach the parks entrance and our son loved the contact with nature. The neighboring area is a true Costa Rican rural experience and there's a family that will take you in and let you milk their cow and feed their animals. Back at the hotel, the attention was beyond special, the rooms are ample and beautiful, the food is excellent and the pool and wet bar kept us very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rlechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the new Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel last month, and we can't say enough good things about our stay there. The hotel is very new, and they're still ironing out some early wrinkles, but over all, it was a wonderful experience and we would stay there again, hands down. The hotel itself is gorgeous, with dark wood floors and furnishings that give it a relaxing, Asian vibe. The colors and decor blend beautifully with the beauty of its surrounding rain forest, green and luscious. Our "casita" featured a private balcony overlooking the lush greenery, and a private outdoor shower. We were pleased to find our fridge stocked with complementary goodies. The staff is great, friendly and enthusiastic, and went out of their way to make sure we were pleased at all times.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We went hiking in the Tenorio National Park, which was just gorgeous. It was a vigorous hike, but well worth the effort! We also went on a bird-watching tour, led by a delightful local guide, and got plenty of great pics. The best was rafting down Rio Celeste...a must! We also got a good amount of rest and relaxation, and truly felt thousands of miles away from the daily grind of our lives back home. The main restaurant, Kantala, is very good. We also enjoyed drinks at the swim bar, Luna Azul.

Overall we would absolutely recommend this hotel, and plan on staying there again on our next trip to Costa Rica. We only wish we could have had a couple more days there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas son habitaciones muy comodas y lujosas, no creo que exista diferencia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas estan bien ubicadas.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marcela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia de Rio... ., General Manager at Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenorio Volcano National Park
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
738 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
100 reviews
6 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,494 reviews
17.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel

Address: La Paz de Rio Celeste | 1 kilometer southeast of the Tenorio Volcano National Park., Tenorio Volcano National Park 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tenorio Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenorio Volcano National Park
Price Range: £111 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Celeste Hideaway is a boutique, gourmet and ecologically orientated hotel. It provides a world of comfort and style surrounded by an untouched natural paradise. This hidden hotel is located in the middle of the Rainforest adjacent to the Tenorio Volcano National Park where the amazing Rio Celeste lies. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of its 26 spacious casitas (bungalows) provides an exclusive retreat in which guests can relax amidst the breathtaking rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing