We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, learning experience for all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinosaur Depot - CLOSED

Dinosaur Depot
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum and lab complex where visitors can view exhibits and watch volunteers prepare fossils for study.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids, learning experience for all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

In this block there are quite a few things to see and do...dinasaur museum was very interesting and educational, but samples at the popcorn factory made it hard to decide on flavors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A Fun Stroll. Nice For Kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Before arriving at Dinosaur Depot, I read reviews. Some said it was a money trap. Some said it was a tourist trap. As we drove to Dinosaur Depot, I was a bit skeptical but forged ahead. It turned out to be great. The people were nice. The displays were fun. The kids were having fun. The sounds of children laughing could be heard periodically. It was a nice trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for our Future Palaeontologist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is a small museum but it has some amazing claims to fame. Many specimens from this area and lab are on display in major museums around the world. It also has the worlds most complete Stegosaurus on display. Great gift shop and the hands on area upstairs has activities for everyone, from baby to adult! It was a great place for us to let our kiddos get out and stretch their legs after traveling!

Visited August 2012
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Bafarmerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty fun and informative, although small.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The kids enjoyed it, but I wish there was more to see. There wasn't descriptions or enough info about some of the specimens, and it seemed like the explore/play room upstairs was bigger than the actual exhibit! We pretty much were done within 30-40 minutes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OriginalYouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice indoor activity for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have 3 kids under 9 years old and they really enjoyed this little museum. All of the workers were very friendly, but a highlight was when the lady working in the lab came to the window to talk with the kids. She spent quite a bit of time letting them hold different fossils and talking to them about her work and the fossils.
We probably spent 1.5 hours here--about 25 minutes in the first floor museum where there are fossils and then the rest of the time upstairs where the kids played with plastic dinosaurs and other dinosaur related toys.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DarienFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinosaur Depot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing