We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite campground!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite campground!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We've been to Prospectors several times now and it has quickly become our favorite place to camp. Most recently, we went right after the fire. We had booked the trip to go see the Canon City Water Festival but found so many more things to do (in all our trips to Canon City we have yet to see the Royal Gorge). The owners, Mike and Renee, went out of their way to make sure we had an awesome time. I, like many people, think the main attraction is the Royal Gorge. Boy was I wrong! In the 3 days we were there we went to Jump Rock (a great place for the kids to jump in and play in the Arkansas River), cliff jumping (seriously the most fun ever!), and white water rafting. We are in the process of planning another trip as there are so many more things to do that we didn't know about and couldn't fit in. Mike and Renee are a wealth of information for activities that are off the beaten path.
The campground itself is so much fun for the kids (and the adults). They have a pool, hot tub, splash area, jumping pillow, Frisbee golf, volleyball, club house and a game room. The kids were never lacking for something to do and, since its all right there, we never worried when they went on their own. The adults even had fun on the jumping pillow!
I seldom rate any place a 5 star but Prospectors deserves it. The facilities were always clean and well taken care of. Anything we needed we got. We literally were spoiled during our stay. Mike was telling us about Jump Rock and how he thought the kids would enjoy it. Instead of drawing us a map he actually took us there himself! Who does that anymore? The 5th star is for over the top service and care. It's hard to find that anymore.
I highly recommend Propsectors! We will be returning a couple more times this summer to fit in more of the activities we couldn't before. We'll save the Royal Gorge visit for next summer....

Just a note - for those worried about the fire, we had no effects whatsoever. In fact, now is the best time to go. It was not crowded at all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    28
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
80
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Camped three nights in June, 3 tents, 1 camper on adjoining sites. These people know how to take care of their customers and their camp sites. You can tell they love what they do. Their daily operating hours were great; have a little store, nice playground, pets are allowed, pool, several other items to keep children and teens involved. We are hoping to return next year and most likely will rent a cabin. It’s hard on OLD people to sleep in a tent.

Room Tip: This campgrounds gets a AAA rating from me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I know why these folks are recommended so often....in a word, SERVICE. I spoke to Mike when I made my reservation for quite some time. We had visited Canon City many times and did most of the main stream attractions. Mike was a valued source of "off the beaten path" places to hike bike etc. Check in was swift and the facilities were great. We were given maps drawn out of places to we spoke of on the phone. The hikes were amazing and the experience was fantastic. On a busy Memorial Day weekend we felt like we were the important customers. These folks know what SERVICE is all about. See ya soon Prospectors!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapros90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The staff are so caring and so friendly...when we arrived to the cabin at Prospectors RV resort we found a bottle of wine waiting for us...which was so thoughtful. The check in was easy and fast with no problems. The cabin was cute,clean and inviting! This was a great place to go for a camping vacation. The owner Mike was extremely accommodating. He was so friendly and so helpful. We are so thankful to meet someone so amazing. He was so friendly and fun! We even took a snowboarding trip with him!.... I highly recommend this place to anyone that wants to have a fun Colorado getaway!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in cabin 3....loved it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimMiller222711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at prospectors for 3 weeks while searching for a job in the area. Mike, the owner, was very accommodating. it's a family business, and unlike other rv parks in the area, staying here gets you access to a pool, a hot tub and a full playground for the kids. the main building also contains a liquor store and a shop that sells anything you need to camp. Wi-Fi is available everywhere as well. Very convenient, and located next to tons of fun activities (zipline, raft, segway, helicopter, the royal gorge bridge etc)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQSimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We LOVED this campground for a family campout with small kids. It is located not too far from Royal Gorge, which was our ultimate destination and away from all the tourist clutter. We rented a cabin which was perfect to fit our family size, was reasonably priced (complete with running water, basic small kitchen appliances including microwave and fridge, as well as AC....who wouldnt love to have AC while camping?!?), and had lots for the kids to do on site. My little ones spent HOURS at the playground and at the splashpad and we had tons of family time on the jump pillow. They do have a pool, but we did not play in it as it was still pretty chilly. My 9yr old enjoyed the basketball area as well as the game room filled with arcade games and pool/foosball tables. The ladies at the front were amazingly friendly and the shop they had there filled in the items we forgot to grab and saved us a trip into town. The bathroom was nice, complete with showers and we were pleased to see it got cleaned each morning. There were many campers there, but all respectful of the thinness of cabin and tent walls and we had no problem enjoying the "peaceful outdoors". We went down there to be tourists at Royal Gorge, we'd return just to visit the campground again!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 11, but 12 and 13 were close by also depending on the number of people staying wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffie1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here with friends over Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. Our friends stayed in Cabin #6 and we were in the pull thru site #69, which were adjacent to each other. Our site was fantastic; very spacious with trees for shade and privacy, and a concrete patio area with grill, and fire pit area next to it, both with plenty of seating on the tables and benches provided. We loved the fact that this was not a characterless 'parking lot' campsite, but had great mountain views and lots of little gravel roads, pine trees and landscaping, so it was great for our son to explore on his bike and nice for us to be able to walk our dog around.

Both our site and our friend's cabin were clean and well kept, even if the picnic benches could have used a new paint job. We can't comment on the cleanliness of the restrooms as we were self-sufficient in our units and so didn't need to use them. I did see the bathhouse nearest us being cleaned though.

Our two young children loved it here too. The pool and spray park were a little cold, but they loved the playground, game room, and the jump pillow. During our stay we could also have participated in climbing the rock wall, but at $7 for 2x climbs we thought it a little steep (no pun intended!). There were a variety of other activities arranged during our stay too, like a kids movie in the outside TV area at 6pm and an older-themed movie at 8pm.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We needed firewood so they brought it to our campsite when it was delivered, and again when we wanted to top up our propane, they came to our site, picked up the canisters, filled them, and brought them back to us. Our friends had no hot water in their cabin one morning but after contacting the office, someone was there and had it fixed in less than 15 minutes - such service! If you need anything or you have an issue with something, contact the office and they'll get it rectified. You're about 10 miles from Canon City here, so we loved the well-stocked store and it was nice to be able to charge items to your campsite and just pay the one bill on checkout.

There was free WiFi but the service was patchy and we had no Verizon cell service during our stay, but it did force us to step away from everyday life for a while.

Our group, including our kids and our dog, felt very welcome at Prospectors. We were not troubled by excess noise or partying at all, although this is a large and sprawling campground and I can see that your experience might vary considerably depending on where you stay. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canon City
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Property: Prospectors RV Resort
Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing