We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what the family was expecting.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Peublo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what the family was expecting.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to this resort with high hopes last year with my family and was a little surprised of my experience. Extremely unfriendly staff, the owner seems to have a bit of a alcohol/anger problem, guess that is a perk of having a liquor store on site. The wife also seems very demeaning and rude. Seems like more of a "resort" for the workers. Otherwise its a beautiful area but the negativity kind of ruins the family aspect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miketpsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear miketpsm,
I am sorry to hear about your poor experience at our campground. I would like to inform you that Prospectors RV Resort is under new management, as of May 22nd, 2014, and we are doing everything in our power to "bring the family fun" back, and get things spruced up. We are a completely new organization that bought out the old owners, and are looking forward to possibly showing you a better experience, if you take the time to come again.
Thank You,
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    28
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
80
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The campground looked nothing like the pictures. The weeds were horrible, they had come around with a weed eater and cut down the weeds but did not pick them up (way overgrown) and there were a lot of stickers. My son and daughter-in-law had to pull weeds when they got to their site and then a woman came around with a weed eater and cut more down. The campsite was not clean and there was a lot of dirt on the concrete pad at the site which I tried to sweep as best I could. I did quite a bit of walking with my dog through the park and found abandoned campers with windows broken out and what appeared to be permanent residents with pretty rough looking sites. The disc golf was overgrown with weeds and stickers, I found the horseshoe pit but could barley see it through the overgrown weeds. The showers were dirty, the water would not drain properly, the shower curtains were horrible and the fan did not work. I wanted to use the pool but there was a large dirty ring around it. This could be a really nice campground with more effort and maybe some part time help on the grounds. I think this needs some TLC. Not one of my best experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmagpax16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear gmagpax16,
We are so very sorry to hear about the previous bad conditions of our park! I would like to inform you that Prospectors is under new ownership as of 5/22/14, and we have raised the standards quite a bit. We now have staff staying on-site, and have spent the last month trying to bring things up to par. Our weeds are cut, our bathrooms are clean, our pool has NO ring, and we are in the process of addressing some of the other issues that you have mentioned. We are looking forward to our Grand Opening in the spring of 2015, and hope you can find the time to give us another try, next time you are in the Royal Gorge area.
Thank You,
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived in Canon City knowing we needed to find a place to stay. We stopped at one camping resort and when they didn't have what we needed, one of the places they referred us to was Prospectors. We stopped at the Prospectors and they had what we needed available for the time we needed, which was nice as they seemed fairly busy. They let us look at the cabin before we decided to stay. We bought some groceries from their market and they were out of buns to match the hot dogs, but took the time to get some for us from another location on their property right then. They helped to carry our things to the cabin as we were needing a bit of assistance. They gave us recommendations on family activities and restaurants and information about the area. Our kids enjoyed the jump pillow, water pad and pool. They seemed very willing to accommodate us and help us with any needs. We would go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tess S,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Prospectors RV Resort, and look forward to seeing you in the future.
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed in the RV park, close to attractions, good rates. Owners were friendly and helpful. Also great relationships (therefore discounts) with other attractions for staying with them. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJohnson5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of what the Royal Gorge has to offer.
Thank You,
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in cabin #9 this past weekend and my kids did not want to leave! They loved the pool, jump pillow, splash pad and game room. The property was very clean and the cabin had everything we needed. The people working the front desk who I think were the owners were very friendly and helpful. They were able to direct us to activities around town and close by but my kids were just happy hanging out at the resort. We have already decided to come back in September for their Halloween weekend.

I will definitely be recommended this spot to all my friends with kids!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks so much for your positive words about our campground. We look forward to having you come back to stay!
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Scout friendly a big plus but hardly a resort. Did have a pool that looked clean. Sites were bare patches of dirt but was a value! Easy reservations and folks were friendly enough on the phone. Did not get to see them as we arrived late and departed early. Game room was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are happy to see that your time at Prospectors was well spent, and would like to let you know that we are now under new management. If you are ever looking for a scout friendly place to pitch a tent, that is getting better by the day, please keep us in mind.
Thank You,
Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and thought we'd give it a try even though there were a few bad ones.
Well folks, stick with the bad ones. I agree with the comment regarding pictures ... The place is NOTHING, like the photos.
I'm not sure when the grass had been cut last.
Hard to tell the defined area of the sites.
Very few campers, those that were there were not recent pull ins.
Told the hubby, lets keep going...way to creepy!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Texanontheroad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review the campground. We would like you to know that we are under new ownership, as of May 22nd, 2014. The issue of being creepy, weedy, and undefined are things that we are proactively working to correct, and we hope that you will try Prospectors RV Resort again, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canon City
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Property: Prospectors RV Resort
Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing