We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mike and his team were extremely polite and helpful.

This is cabin camping, if you are expecting the Ritz you are setting yourself up for disappointment. We had 8 in our party and were comfortable in cabin 10.

Close to all the Royal Gorge attractions, and a short drive to all there is to do in Colorado Springs.

We definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgruver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you, Jgruver, for your wonderful review! We are striving daily to bring our campground up to the standards that we want it to be, for our guests, and are so thankful for families like yours, that make it worth our while.
We are happy to see that you will be back as a returning guest.
-PRVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

First off, I have to say the thing that makes this resort so great are the staff. Mike and the gang were great! They took care of our every need. Secondly, the view is just breath taking. Words and pictures just don't do it justice. We stayed for 5 nights and loved every single one. The pool and hot tub were fun for us and the kids. The game room was awesome. The pool tables and cues were in great shape. Mike was kind enough to let us stay in the game room after hours so we could enjoy our last night there. We stayed in cabin 10. The cabin was cozy and rustic. Which is exactly what we were looking for. We had a group of 8 consisting of 4 adults and 4 kids. We all slept great but the kids were a bit cozy on the futon and fold down table. Will sleep 8 for sure but 6 would be more comfortable. One of the outlets in the loft didn't work, but Mike and his staff went out of their way to get us an extension cord and power strip. The staff was heading down to fix that when we checked out. The hot tub at the cabin was warm and worked great. It was very relaxing on those chilly nights. All in all we had a great time and will definitely be returning to Prospector's in the future. Thanks again Mike for the generous hospitality and the good time!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sheac88,
Thank you SO much for your excellent review of our campground! We were happy to host your family vacation, and be part of the memories that you made while you were here. You guys were the ideal guests, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks again,
-Prospectors RV Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great spot that was private and looked out to the Mountains. The pool and hot tub were nice with the cooler air we experienced. The bathrooms and showers were clean and usable. The Blow Up pillow was not inflated and our site was not clean when we parked....with some love this could be a GREAT campground...but it was just missing some final touches with cleanliness. We would stay here again. The staff were nice (a little dingy) but they tried and were harmless.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Jennifer M,
Thank you for the kind words that you have said about our park. The views ARE breathtaking.
I am glad that you see the possibility for great things to come. As new owners, that just took over on May 22nd, 2014, we look around every day, planning for the future, and working to implement new ideas. Our staff works hard, and though a bit unorthodox, all have the best of intentions to help make your stay the best it can be, now and in the future.
Thanks again,
-Prospectors RV Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This park is made for young adults. From the monstrous bouncing bag to the Frisbee Golf course. The little ones only came home to eat. The Management is new and for the most part everyone is still in training but they are desperate to help any way they can. The restrooms are very clean and since it is a new (reopened) park some things are in a state of disrepair. The roads are well maintained and well marked and the spots are spacious. If you stay remember this is a work in progress and the staff are there to put anything right.

Room Tip: The pull-thru 50 amp spaces do not have shade but the 30 amp do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDougSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank YOU, BigDougSr!
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Prospectors RV Resort is under new management, and we have the best of intentions when it comes to wiping off the grime, and making things shine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My son and I took a "cabin" trip to Colorado and were fortunate to find this gem. Our cabin was clean, cozy, and warm. We were surprised by the number of activities at the campground! Rather than drive back into Canon City, we decided to stay at the campground and allow my kid to be a kid. There was a sprinkler type water park, pool, playground, and a "bounce pillow" that was large enough to accommodate a number of adults and children. This 40 year old dad was drug into the fun and I had a blast.

The staff at Prospectors were amazing. Every little request was happily answered. The resident dogs were adorable and made my son feel at home. We were sad to leave after one night, but will bring the family back for another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear KrisTravelsOften,
Thanks a million for your positive remarks about our campground. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and excited for a chance to have you back as a returning guest.
-Prospectors RV Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Another fine stay at Prospectors. Thanks Mike and staff. Campers can be secluded or right up front. Close to everything in Canon City. Not sure what to do just ask...very good info on Canon City activities or a little further off the beaten path. Another great stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tapros90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Yay!!!! Another great stay!
That is a wonderful review, and we look forward to seeing you again, tapros90.
-Prospectors RV Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to this resort with high hopes last year with my family and was a little surprised of my experience. Extremely unfriendly staff, the owner seems to have a bit of a alcohol/anger problem, guess that is a perk of having a liquor store on site. The wife also seems very demeaning and rude. Seems like more of a "resort" for the workers. Otherwise its a beautiful area but the negativity kind of ruins the family aspect.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miketpsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear miketpsm,
I am sorry to hear about your poor experience at our campground. I would like to inform you that Prospectors RV Resort is under new management, as of May 22nd, 2014, and we are doing everything in our power to "bring the family fun" back, and get things spruced up. We are a completely new organization that bought out the old owners, and are looking forward to possibly showing you a better experience, if you take the time to come again.
Thank You,
-PRVR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
565 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
137 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
209 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
508 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range: £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing