We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint little getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospectors RV Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Council bluffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint little getaway”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

In town for a wedding Prospectors was perfectly in the middle of the venues for the wedding and the reception. We stayed in one of the little cabins for a long weekend. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We made breakfast and lunch in the little kitchenette. The park came with a lot of activities (pool, volleyball, ladder golf, etc). The staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming! Very much enjoyed our stay, we will let our friends and family know and we will be requesting our comfy cabin again when we return! Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewelch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Ewelch03,
Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy you were able to come, enjoy the wedding, and have a comfortable stay!
-Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    28
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
80
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just Facts
30 ft between the Water/ Electric and the sewer. Could not hook up both
Ladies Shower/ bathroom 4 bathroom stalls in all one stall out of order, One shower out of order one shower trickled water could not even get shampoo out, and could not regulate water there, hot or cold not both. Straightened but not really clean. Long hairs still on shower walls as well as floor. Should be swept first. Cleaning takes place before 8 am and is shoddy at best.
Men’s Shower/bathroom 4 stalls in all 2 showers broken

2 personal bathrooms on the south side just bathroom no shower . One in ok but the other poor. Mopped but not really, floor full of hair and streaky. Toilet would not flush spigot was floppy as was the toilet. Paper towel dispenser broken.

Were there for 5 days pool was cleaned of debris but not clear water very cloudy and sand on the bottom.
Hot tub was very cloudy lots of scum floating both days we used it. Pillow and water feature never turned on for the children to use.

Could not tell staff from the people who were staying in tents. No one wore a name tag and appeared dingy in appearance.

Paid exactly what we were quoted. We were very happy with the price. Park was very quiet and respectful. Park RV site was semi-clean, but tent campers site looks like they had lots of clutter, and junk.

Now for my opinion:
Owners were nice, They acknowledged us at every chance, The office was clean and neat as was the store, The bathroom in the office was also spotless. Which leads me to believe that the owners need to check up on their workers. The Rec/Kitchen was in ok shape also appeared that the pool tables were well kept. I believe the people helping them are taking advantage and not doing what they are paid to do. Which give a new owner a lot of grief. We saw a woman walking around with a mop but no water, we saw water near the main bathrooms with on one or no mop.

And to be fair we never asked them to turn on the features for the children. Although that is how we found the place was cause of the neat features we saw from the street. The play ground was nice the children enjoyed it. The sand box was so full of sand and had sand toys for them to enjoy.

As it is now we would not come back here. But if improvements were made we would reconsider.
We stayed here last year and had a good experience and we also stayed when it was Jellystone RV Park which was nice also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyTunnicliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Ms. Tunnicliff,
Thanks for taking some time to leave a detailed "Facts" list.
I am so very curious about what RV site you may have been in, but you didn't register under your last name. We have no sites on our property that have hookups that far apart. Maybe you were using a hook-up intended for a different site?
As you clearly know, we are under new ownership as of May 22nd, and the previous management has left us in a state of disrepair. While we are in the process of doing as much to fix the issues as we can during this busy season, most of the complaints you have will need to be addressed during our off season.
THE BATHROOMS!!!!!! Oh my! Oddly enough, we have just let our bathroom team go, as of this morning, and are planning to train a new couple this week. Hopefully these people will be able to keep it at a higher standard.
With all of the rain that we have been having in the last couple weeks, our pool has had some issues with being a bit cloudy, but now that the sun is out, it has cleared right up.
We cater to all ends of the tourist business here in 8-mile, including being a place for the workers at the places where the tourists enjoy going, to be able to stay for their season. They do have semi-permanent set-ups, in our guide camp area, which is set aside, and in the back corner of our campground. They are respectable people, and have every right to be comfortable during their stay with us.
Our staff would be the people wearing Prospectors shirts, that are out and about, helping our guests. They are work campers, for the most part, and do not earn a wage. We are confident that we are not being "taken advantage of", as we are not blind, or incapable of properly accessing a situation. We do not have a name tag rule, anymore than most of the other campground workers in the area. If you expect workers to not look "dingy", while working to fix all the things you know need attention, then you may have a skewed idea of hard work. Maybe if you had met them fresh out of the shower............
We are making many improvements, and have plans for lots more. If you would like to visit in the future, please feel free to do that.........using your best "judge"ment of the situation.
Thank You.
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mike and his team were extremely polite and helpful.

This is cabin camping, if you are expecting the Ritz you are setting yourself up for disappointment. We had 8 in our party and were comfortable in cabin 10.

Close to all the Royal Gorge attractions, and a short drive to all there is to do in Colorado Springs.

We definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgruver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you, Jgruver, for your wonderful review! We are striving daily to bring our campground up to the standards that we want it to be, for our guests, and are so thankful for families like yours, that make it worth our while.
We are happy to see that you will be back as a returning guest.
-PRVR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First off, I have to say the thing that makes this resort so great are the staff. Mike and the gang were great! They took care of our every need. Secondly, the view is just breath taking. Words and pictures just don't do it justice. We stayed for 5 nights and loved every single one. The pool and hot tub were fun for us and the kids. The game room was awesome. The pool tables and cues were in great shape. Mike was kind enough to let us stay in the game room after hours so we could enjoy our last night there. We stayed in cabin 10. The cabin was cozy and rustic. Which is exactly what we were looking for. We had a group of 8 consisting of 4 adults and 4 kids. We all slept great but the kids were a bit cozy on the futon and fold down table. Will sleep 8 for sure but 6 would be more comfortable. One of the outlets in the loft didn't work, but Mike and his staff went out of their way to get us an extension cord and power strip. The staff was heading down to fix that when we checked out. The hot tub at the cabin was warm and worked great. It was very relaxing on those chilly nights. All in all we had a great time and will definitely be returning to Prospector's in the future. Thanks again Mike for the generous hospitality and the good time!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sheac88,
Thank you SO much for your excellent review of our campground! We were happy to host your family vacation, and be part of the memories that you made while you were here. You guys were the ideal guests, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thanks again,
-Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great spot that was private and looked out to the Mountains. The pool and hot tub were nice with the cooler air we experienced. The bathrooms and showers were clean and usable. The Blow Up pillow was not inflated and our site was not clean when we parked....with some love this could be a GREAT campground...but it was just missing some final touches with cleanliness. We would stay here again. The staff were nice (a little dingy) but they tried and were harmless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Jennifer M,
Thank you for the kind words that you have said about our park. The views ARE breathtaking.
I am glad that you see the possibility for great things to come. As new owners, that just took over on May 22nd, 2014, we look around every day, planning for the future, and working to implement new ideas. Our staff works hard, and though a bit unorthodox, all have the best of intentions to help make your stay the best it can be, now and in the future.
Thanks again,
-Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This park is made for young adults. From the monstrous bouncing bag to the Frisbee Golf course. The little ones only came home to eat. The Management is new and for the most part everyone is still in training but they are desperate to help any way they can. The restrooms are very clean and since it is a new (reopened) park some things are in a state of disrepair. The roads are well maintained and well marked and the spots are spacious. If you stay remember this is a work in progress and the staff are there to put anything right.

Room Tip: The pull-thru 50 amp spaces do not have shade but the 30 amp do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDougSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank YOU, BigDougSr!
We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Prospectors RV Resort is under new management, and we have the best of intentions when it comes to wiping off the grime, and making things shine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My son and I took a "cabin" trip to Colorado and were fortunate to find this gem. Our cabin was clean, cozy, and warm. We were surprised by the number of activities at the campground! Rather than drive back into Canon City, we decided to stay at the campground and allow my kid to be a kid. There was a sprinkler type water park, pool, playground, and a "bounce pillow" that was large enough to accommodate a number of adults and children. This 40 year old dad was drug into the fun and I had a blast.

The staff at Prospectors were amazing. Every little request was happily answered. The resident dogs were adorable and made my son feel at home. We were sad to leave after one night, but will bring the family back for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProspectorsRVResort, Front Office Manager at Prospectors RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear KrisTravelsOften,
Thanks a million for your positive remarks about our campground. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and excited for a chance to have you back as a returning guest.
-Prospectors RV Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canon City
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
6.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospectors RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospectors RV Resort

Property: Prospectors RV Resort
Address: 43959 W US Highway 50, Canon City, CO 81212-9742
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prospectors RV Resort is a full service campground in the heart of the Royal Gorge Area. We offer 126 Tent/RV spots, 13 cabins, and are open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing