We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking scenery and rides !!!”
Review of Badger Creek Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Badger Creek Ranch
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was a dream! What shall we say .... how can we describe? Great, breathtaking, unbelievable. Hospitality at his best !!! Nice and cosy :) Sue, "the goodess of the kitchen" did a job (I can't find the right word for it) simply "wow". Eric (and Sarah the helping hand) did a great job, too. A lot of infos about the landscape, the history, the natives and a lot more. It's a perfect place to relax.
It was funny and cheerful, too. Their dogs ("Blue" & "Sammy") are nice and friendly from the first minute on. Relaxed horses, too. Absolutely important to say, Susan and Eric did always much more than we expected. We could watch them training the horses in the roundpen and we could try it, too, There were a lot to learn and to see. Vielen, vielen Dank aus Oberbayern. Thanks a lot :) from Franz & Karola Bauer. We can recommend this great spot from conviction.

Room Tip: Es gibt nur 2 Zimmer. Es spielt keine Rolle. Beide toll in dem "Bunkhouse"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranzBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Franz and Karola, What a great way to start our season with such nice guests! We truly enjoyed meeting and riding with you both. I am so glad you had a good time. It was hard to say goodbye to you both but hope that someday we will ride together again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this trip to celebrate our son's college graduation. We never thought it would be the incredible adventure that it was. Sue, Eric, and Sara treated us like family and went beyond the call of duty. Our vacation was filled with wonderful horseback rides, incredible views, sensational food, and great company. I would whole heartily recommend this guest ranch to anyone regardless of skill level.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Andy,

It was great to have you and your family here. It was a pleasure getting to know you all. Thanks to Joseph for all his help. Too bad he just graduated from college but if his day job doesn't work out we could sure put him to work here. Enjoyed all the great conversations and rides! Thanks again. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Badger Creek Ranch. I was a bit skeptical of all of the 5 star reviews, really how could anywhere be that perfect. I will tell you that owners Sue and Eric deserve every one of those stars and more.
You wake up every morning to big skies, beautiful animals, wonderful food and Eric to take you on a morning full of amazing views. You come back from your ride, eat another wonderful meal and then do whatever you want to do. Rock hound, pan for gold, drive into one of the many little towns, nap...whatever you want and all completely your choice. Every evening there is another great meal and conversation. We had a fire a couple of the nights, went walking, watched TV, hung out with the barn cat on the porch(what a lover he is!)as well as Blue and Sammie their 2 dogs, once again your choice. A very relaxing week filled with wonderful memories.
Sue and Eric are very special people and I know our lives are better for having met them and experienced their adventure of a cattle ranch in Colorado.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaureenDeLand_Fl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you so much for your really great review! We have been so lucky this year to have such wonderful guests like you guys. It was a pleasure to have you hear and miss our pre dinner visits around the campfire! Hope you will consider coming back some day soon, we would love it!!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sue and Eric are the most gracious people that I have ever met. They made are vacation the most memorable trip yet and the views are second to none. Sue is an excellent cook and I tried and loved-foods that I would have never thought I would.
Please take time and go to this ranch and enjoy life the way it is meant to be and enjoy their hospitality and down home goodness. I would love to give this more than a 5 star but that is the highest it goes so with this said my wife and myself say keep up the great job!!
Sincerely,
Steve & Sandy Ogden

Room Tip: Dress in layers!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hey Steve,
Thank you so much for great review! We had a lot of fun with you both. We hope that you may one day decide to return because we enjoy having guests who are fun to have around and who enjoy the scenery like us!!! Earl and Indy send their best. Thanks again.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our daughter is a horse lover & really wanted to go to a ranch for her 16th birthday, which was July 4th. We read all the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor for BC & decided to just go for it...and we were so incredibly glad we did! The hosts, Sue & Eric were warm & treated us like old friends. The cabin was comfortable & homey...perfect for a family stay.

Every morning started with an amazing breakfast and a couple hour horseback ride. My husband, son (13) & I don't ride, but Eric & his wrangler Moriah were so patient, esp with Nervous Nelly me! We had a lot of laughs! The scenery was breathtaking...I felt like I was on a movie set, honestly! It is just incredible! Then we would ride back for a fabulous lunch (even my picky eater daughter loved Sue's cooking!) & have the afternoon to do whatever we wanted. We hiked around the creek(beautiful!), panned for gold, looked for Indian artifacts, relaxed with dogs on the porch and read, played games...One afternoon we drove over the mountain (1/2 drive?) to Salida for ice cream. It is a cute artsy town with shops, a great park, etc.

Then for my daughter's bday, Sue & Eric had their friend (we loved him...he was hysterical!) come with his Draft horses which he hooked up to a wagon and we all had a fantastic wagon ride through the fields. He even let my daughter Drive the wagon (her first time driving she likes to say!) She even rode too fast over a rock & got her "first flat tire." And did I mention it was pouring rain for like 15min?? Once again, so many laughs! BUT then we saw a rainbow...how magical!! Then we all went back to the house for a delicious bday cake that Sue made. We were just so appreciative of the effort Sue & Eric made to make it a special, forever memorable day for my daughter.

If you are looking for a wonderful family vacation, BC is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Julie,
Thanks for those kind words. Eric and I enjoyed having your family around. It was so nice that you chose us to celebrate your daughters 16th here. Her first driving experience was definitely a memory we will keep, and talk about for years. She has become one of the BCR guests best stories!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What an experience! Would we do it again? No question about it - YES! Knowing that we were headed to a cattle ranch we thought it may not be as relaxing as a typical vacation, but it was! Ranch owners Eric and Sue are amazing and treat you like royalty! They never forget that you are on vacation. The riding was magnificent, the cattle beautiful, along with the breath-taking views! The accommodations were neat and clean, the food outstanding. A vacation we will never forget!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Angela,

It was pleasure having you guys here with us. Thank you so much for your review. Thanks also for bringing our much needed rain and sharing all your expertise with us. You were very generous and great guests!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Maybe you won’t go here to become a Cowboy, but odds are high you’re going to feel like one at Badger Creek Ranch. It’s in the middle of nowhere; there is way more wildlife than humans. You’ll ride through the open range of grassland, mountains and forests. You’ll go out to the cattle that are scattered over the ranch. Do they look healthy? Are all cattle on board? Do they moo? Yes, they do – and you won’t hear much more.
Enjoy the silence, and every now and then Eric’s going to tell you tales about the place you cross or see, which won’t be just places anymore, it will be “The mountain where….”, or “The rock that looks like…”
Slow down. If you want to be alone but not lonely, relax on the red couch in the middle of the bunkhouse’s porch. Sammy, a dog, will quietly join you just seconds later. And the same couch on the same porch is an ideal spot to watch the stars at night and listen to the yowling of the coyotes.
Though, when you’re back home and you think you became a cowboy – forget about it, ‘cause a real cowboy, does he sleep till eight in the morning, does he jump on already saddled horses, does he have the comfort of such delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner as those Sue prepares – every day? That’s not a real cowboy life, that’s a dream – but those are parts of the ingredients for a great vacation, where dreams come true for a limited time.
We’ve been there in late June 2013 for three days and as many other reviews already mention – that’s quite short. But even if you have only three days on hand, it’s still absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grobmotoriker_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue727_11, Owner at Badger Creek Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Grobmotoriker,

Now, after a review like that I truly expect to see you as our ranch neighbors soon. Thank you so much! Thanks for sharing your amazing photos with us too! I think they are some of the best photos of the ranch I have seen. We hope that you may consider a return visit before you return home. Great to hear from you. Bis Bald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
36 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
457 reviews
37.9 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#2 of 13 in Canon City
534 reviews
37.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Canon City
35.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
140 reviews
37.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badger Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badger Creek Ranch

Address: 5795 County Road 2, Canon City, CO 81212-9789
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Canon City
Price Range: £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badger Creek Ranch is an ALL INCLUSIVE working cattle and guest ranch located high in the spectacular Colorado Rocky Mountains. It is also our home. Here we invite you to enjoy a western vacation adventure of a lifetime. At Badger Creek Ranch you will be an important part of our cowboy crew as we ride fences, round up, doctor and sort our cattle. Even though we are a working cattle ranch, we never forget you are on vacation! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing