We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's on Main - CLOSED

Michael's on Main
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Seasonally Driven - Fine Food and Art" Farm to fork, highlighting Colorado beef and fresh seafood. Chef Sean prepares all fresh dishes & sauces, no frozen or processed items. Vegan & gluten free selections available. Features Art gallery, shopping in boutique and gift & chocolate shoppe. Private meeting/event dining room and Catering available.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Right off, our waitress (Carson) was great. Good menu selection for this type of restaurant with a nice atmosphere. The wine list matched very well with the food menu. With your bill you'll receive a comment sheet that the manager actually reads. We made a few suggestions (our wine was served warm). Overall a good dining experience especially for Canon City. We hoped King enjoyed our leftovers!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    43
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Food was incredible great atmosphere service was okay plan on coming again everybody was very helpful the chefs knew what they were talking about great vegetarian dishes really nice apps

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enter with a Full Stomach”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went in for dinner. After we sat at the table for about 5 minutes the waitress gave us one glass of ice water, said she'd be back to take our order with another glass of water. We waited 15 minutes and she didn't come back. So we left. The art gallery upstairs is very nice, not sure if the food is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Michael's was a great restaurant when it opened several years ago, but unfortunately, food quality, consistency and value went into a steep death spiral. We were very loyal, regular customers back when the food was good, but like many others, stopped patronizing Michael's when the food quality declined so sharply. The restaurant itself was closed several months for changes to the physical layout. When the restaurant recently reopened, we returned with high hopes that the food quality and service had also improved. Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed again. While waiting nearly an hour for a simple breakfast order, at a time when there were very few customers in the restaurant, we witnessed other customers served incorrect orders, then we had the same experience. Breakfast eggs are simply not good cold. The manager on-duty was a very nice person and she apologized profusely, but sadly, Michael's kitchen was an utter failure again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“On the Right Track”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Since our last visit (Fall 2013) they have made vast improvements. The service this time was prompt, friendly, and professional. The entrees were more realistically priced. My wife's Catalina Chicken was a little on the rubbery side, but tasted good. My blacked salmon was not very spicy...had no "kick", and was slightly overdone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's on Main also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing