We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Tour”

Royal Gorge Route Railroad
Ranked #11 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F-7 streamlined locomotives follow a route along the "Grand Canyon of the Arkansas River" and feature Twilight and Dinner trains.
Martensville, Sask.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Scenic Tour”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A great way to see the gorge up close. Riding the rails! It was a wonderful 2 hour tour with food and beverages available for ordering. The gorge is lovely and is a must see when in the area. There is a guide on board who will answer any questions you have and the staff are friendly and always willing to assist. We booked on line from Canada and when we showed up to claim our tickets, they were waiting for us. All proceeded without a glitch. Excellent service and excellent tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Letkemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    325
    93
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun day out with family.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great ride. Beautiful views. The service was great. Even in coach you can order drinks and meals. Servers were very friendly. Our son loved the ride, he's very into trains.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank naomiaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Do!!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Family and I decided to seeing the gorge from the train and must say this is the way to go. Just beautiful. Staff was very friendly and got some excellent pictures. Food was so and so, but the scenery overrides any reviews of the food. Would do it again if in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the dinner train”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

To start - the Royal Gorge Route Dinner Train has a special sentimental thing with us so my views maybe are a little clouded by that, but I don't think so. This was our 4th time on the train, 3rd time for dinner. In the past you had to select your entrée choice when you booked but this year you can decide when you board the train and are seated at your table. I always have the prime rib myself and it's been great every time - generous serving for sure. The scenery in the canyon is awesome and the train will stop under the Royal Gorge Bridge for a few minutes for photos before continuing on to the turnaround point. Unfortunately on this trip the skies opened up and it rained heavily for most of the trip. That was okay for us as we just enjoyed the ride, food and wine selections having done the train a few times before. I felt bad for the people that maybe didn't get to see all they'd hoped but there's not much you can do about it is there?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandy, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Ride”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful train ride along the rapids of the Arkansas River. Gorgeous views of a roaring river with white water rafters paddling by, mountain views and historic landmarks. Multiple types of rail cars to include great food and beverages. Open air car to go out and enjoy the ride and take pictures. Most of all an extended stop to enjoy the Royal Gorge Bridge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NVK203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Gorge Route Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Royal Gorge Route Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing