We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Canon City!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Canon City is full of activities rafting, zip lines, ATV, fishing, hiking, and the list goes on and on, however the selection of hotels in the city is sad at best. The ladies at the Abby suggested Jewel of the Canon as one of the cutest, cleanest, and centrally located places to stay in town. I have to say I was blown away; the room was beautiful, extremely clean, we arrived to fresh baked cookies, it was only a short walk from the Royal Gorge Railway and downtown, and the owners not only made a fabulous breakfast but they were extremely friendly and fun to converse with. We could not have had a better time over the holiday weekend breaking up our mosquitos and camping with an exceedingly comfortable night at Jewel of the Canon (also one of the best beds I’ve ever slept in). I would highly recommend Jewel of the Canon if you plan on visiting Canon City or the Royal Gorge area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so very much!! We're so glad you were comfortable in our B&B. It was a pleasure chatting with you & Will! Looking forward to seeing you again. Maybe we can go to Brothers! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed only one night and were amazed at how beautiful, comfortable and delightful an experience it was. The breakfast prepared by Michelle was delicious. Brian and she make the most wonderful and welcoming couple. They gave us excellent advice for dinner, local shopping, walking through the streets of Canon City, and the sky line drive, which should not be missed, although it takes a bit of nerves at the wheel. The B&B is a labor of love and the experience is unforgettable. Harvey Glassman

Room Tip: We chose our room on the internet and loved it. All the rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loubabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind comments.
Thank you to all our guests - we have so enjoyed this summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 3 nights and loved it. The room was spacious and comfortable and the hosts were wonderful. Michelle is a great cook and served unique and delicious breakfasts every morning. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our time at the Jewel of the Canyon was relaxing and comforting. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. In addition, the B&B is in easy walking distance of the quaint downtown area and the Royal Gorge Train depot. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with Brian and Michelle in the ground floor room early in August 2013 whilst riding the Royal Gorge train, very handy being only a few blocks walk away. I have to agree with most of the previous reviewers, the place and hosts are wonderful, especially considering how long they have been in the place, they are naturals at it. Brian has worked hard on the garden making it wonderful to sit on the porch until well after dark watching the local life go by. Michelle makes wonderful breakfasts, don't be afraid to discuss them the night before in case she's planning something you don't like, she'll readily change things. Although there are no coffee making facilities in the room, there is a machine in the dining room that makes nice and fancy stuff any time you feel the need. Michelle is up with the larks so early fresh coffee is available if you wander into the dining room. Brian pointed us in the direction of a good long walk along the river park path, very good with photography potential with the dear, but get the DEET on unless you like giving blood! They suggested Michaels on Main Street to eat, we agree, good food and atmosphere, only a few blocks walk away. All in all most excellent place to stay, well recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor room available if stairs are challenging in any way.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlchemistBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed one night and loved it. We had the Queen's Canyon room which was very well appointed, comfortable and air conditioned although it was unneeded because the weather was beautiful during our stay. The breakfast was excellent and substantial. I loved the ever present home-baked brownies. Michelle also demonstrated her tenacity in support of her guests; when a few of us had problems with a local business, she was able to get refunds issued.
Given the other accommodations available in Canon City, this is a "best buy."

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We loved this place! Try to stay two nights. We really enjoyed this house. We had two rooms. One for our daughter and one for us. So beautiful. The choice of paint colors, the furniture, the wonderful beds. Very quiet. Beautiful porch and gardens. Great breakfast too. Michelle is a wonderful cook. Don't think twice. Go for it. So clean.

Room Tip: Each room was great. If you don't like stairs the one downstairs was nice. We stayed upstairs an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpop121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
136 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#1 of 13 in Canon City
440 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: 429 Greenwood Ave, Canon City, CO 81212-3245
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing