We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enhance your Canon City experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canon City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Canon City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Enhance your Canon City experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

by staying here. A well maintained 1890 home with a convenient location. We stayed in the Phantom (spacious) room and enjoyed the experience of padding down the hall to our private bathroom. Michelle was very accommodating with our breakfast time and you do NOT want to miss her breakfast!
My wife and I have been staying in B& B's since the 1980's and this is one of the better ones. When we return to Canon City, we will not even consider any other lodging.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper (like myself) you may want to choose a west side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Manager at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
It was a pleasure having the 2 of you as guests. I so enjoyed our conversations! Looking forward to trying Fly Fishing! Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again! I'd love for Brian to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
191
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We took a weekend and spent 2 nights at the Jewel of the Canyons. The home and our room was very clean. The home and our room was warm, relaxing, cozy and we felt so at home. The breakfast each morning was more than we expected, not only did the meals taste good but had such an appealing presentation. We plan to visit again and would highly recommend this very special B and B to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated for the guests comfort with beautiful furnishings from the early 1900's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you're looking for a great B&B, this is it. The house is immaculate. Very clean and comfortable. Michelle and Brian were very accommodating. They let us check in early and Michelle made an awesome breakfast! We'd go back in a heart beat. Great place for a romantic getaway. BONUS, they're close to the best restaurants in town, e.g. Le Petit Chablis and the Skyline movie theater. Great time and even better hosts!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Manager at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Jewel of the Canyons late Spring 2013. Located off the beaten path of the main street on a fairly quiet side street. This B &B is a charming little home which they have recently done much landscaping to beautify the front yard. The inside is well put together. Our room was the Red Rocks Room. This is a nice room with a decent bathroom. Oddly enough a glass door is what separates this room from the main living area of the house. The blinds which cover this glass is not exactly private. It was a bit uncomfortable being that the bed is directly in front of this door with others just yards away able to see through the glass and cracks in the blinds.
Breakfast is hard to comment on, as the entree of eggs Benedict is not a favorite of ours. It was most likely good but not to our liking. The host seemed a bit frazzled over making more coffee. Her comment was something like, "we have a lot of coffee drinkers today guess I'll have to make more coffee". Sigh. Not a comment you would expect from a gracious B&B host.
Not the most friendly host we've experienced, but we realize that some host feel it is important to give their guest the tour and then as much quiet and privacy as possible.
The fresh flowers are a nice touch. The place is clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable and the neighbor nice and fairly quiet.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments so we can better serve our guests! Having taken over the "Jewel" in May of 2013 we knew we would be making minor changes.
The wood blinds on the French doors in Red Rocks have been replaced with room darkening pleated shades. The glass panels on the doors have been frosted. You could not see into the room but we felt that our guests should not feel the lack of privacy.
In regards to the coffee...I don't like an empty coffee pot! We now have a Bunn coffee system to assure we always have fresh hot coffee.
We have a variety of breakfast specialties. I'm sorry our breakfast choice was not to your liking on the day you stayed with us. I would have been more than happy to make you something else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great stay in Canon City!

Michelle was a great hostess and luckily I was the only guest so I had the run of the house

Very well maintained and beautiful decor.

Wonderful breakfast of Belgian waffles...

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from 5th st
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeweechaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks for the review!! It was so nice chatting with you at breakfast. Looking forward to seeing you soon! Having wrist surgery....Doc decided best solution for the long term....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I had a delightful stay at this charming, beautifully restored Victorian Home in Canon City. This comfy B and B is as warm and friendly as the innkeepers themselves, Michelle and Brian. They do an outstanding job and go the extra step to insure your comfort and enjoyment. We rented all four rooms on New Year's eve with three other couples. Michelle even left the holiday decorations up special for us so we could all enjoy the evening and feel festive. We rode the Royal Gorge Route train that is located just three short blocks away and came back to the Inn to ring in the new year with games and cheer gathered around the fireplace in the living room. We could not have had a nicer stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Red Rocks Canyon room. Located downstairs with a connecting bath. Well appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foursport43, Owner at Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so very much!! It was a pleasure to see you ring in the New Year - fireworks and all!! Please come and visit during the summer months when there are concerts, rafting and many other neat things to do. Your group knows how to have fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ours was a one night stay and after that one night we wished that we had more time and could stay another. The Jewel of the Canyons B&B is a beautiful, thoughtfully and thoroughly restored, home located right off Main Street in Canon City. We chose the Queen's Canyon room and it was everything that it was described and pictured to be . . . and more. This is a room with room to spare and a large up-to-date bathroom. Perfect!

Michelle Tate is a great hostess and our breakfast was outstanding. While somewhat new at operating a Bed and Breakfast, you would think that she had years of experience as there was nothing that didn't meet our expectations during our stay.

The location is walking distance to most anything you would want in terms of a casual restaurant or a pleasant walk around town.

We take "road trips" throughout Colorado often and have made a great new discovery. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#8 of 13 in Canon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Inn Motel
Parkview Inn Motel
#2 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jewel of the Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Address: 429 Greenwood Ave, Canon City, CO 81212-3245
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Canon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Cañon City’s most charming Bed & Breakfast Inn. Enjoy present day comforts in an authentic 1890 Victorian style Bed & Breakfast while visiting scenic Cañon City, Colorado, the "Gateway to the Rockies."Our Cañon City Bed & Breakfast Inn welcomes Colorado vacationers, business travelers, out-of-town guests, friends, relatives, and anyone needing a relaxing place to stay while away from home. With near-perfect weather, the Cañon City, Colorado area embraces western history, river rafting on the Arkansas River, hiking, mountain biking, antiquing, and attractions such as the Royal Gorge Route Railroad, Royal Gorge Bridge and Park, and The Winery at Holy Cross Abbey. Take your camera and enjoy the gorgeous drive to Cripple Creek (casinos) and Victor, Colorado. It's a quick 45-minute drive to Colorado Springs and two hours to Denver. Walk from our bed and breakfast country inn just two blocks to historic downtown Cañon City, offering a variety of wonderful dining, sightseeing and shopping experiences. Jewel of the Canyons Bed & Breakfast resident-owners Michelle and Brian invite you to their beautiful 1890 Queen Anne home that has been restored to its original beauty and splendor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing