We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what a GREAT time!!!”

Royal Gorge Rafting
Ranked #1 of 18 Tours in Canon City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Royal Gorge Rafting, Zip Line Tours & the White Water Bar & Grill ~ One Location, 100% Fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 August 2014

10 of us from my company went down to RGR for a day of team building fun to do the full day rafting trip through the Royal Gorge, and OMG did we all have a GREAT time!!! If you can get/request Bono for your guide - you will be SURE to have a BLAST!!! He was amazing and awesome and funny and personable, and an all around great guide. He explained everything really well, and made sure that we all practiced the techniques in the calm waters before heading into the rapids. We rafted class 2, 3 and 4 rapids, and did GREAT! We had 2 people “go swimming,” but they were back on the raft SO fast because of Bono's instructions and cool, calm head, that it really wasn't a huge deal at all. On the full day trip you get to stop and have lunch, and the guides made us the best fajitas, along with some other goodies. It was just such a great time. Bono should probably get a raise, he was so awesome. ;) Thanks Bono and RGR for such an AMAZING time!!!! We did need 2 rafts to carry all 10 of us, and the other guide’s name was Cameron. The other group of people that went with him said he was pretty awesome too. And then Frenchie met us half way at lunch time and continued down the river with us, and was so cool too, and took some pretty amazing pictures. I would definitely recommend RGR if you're headed down to the Royal Gorge to raft. Best time ever!

1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2014

Wow, that's so awesome that your group had such a great time on the Royal Gorge Full Day rafting trip! Bono and Cameron are amongst our most experienced and knowledgeable guides at Royal Gorge Rafting. They are also fun, funny and very personable. It's works out well that on the Royal Gorge, there is ample time to practice and learn how to be a cohesive team before heading out into those exhilarating rapids. The delicious, freshly grilled fajitas was a new idea for the riverside lunch this year and we've had such great reviews about it that we plan on keeping it on the menu. Glad you enjoyed it! What's unique to our company is our kayak photographer who accompanies you down the Royal Gorge to capture those thrilling moments right in the rapids. The kayaker also is an added support in any situation.

Thank you for rafting with us and recommending us! We hope that you will come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,043 - 1,047 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Adam made the rafting experience awesome. He communicated with all of us on the raft and made us work together as a team. So by the end of the rafting we knew each other. Great Experience and great guide. Best White Water Rafting experience.

Thank Leroy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

It is important that everyone in the raft work together as a team, so communication is important. It is also more fun as a group when every one gets to know each other and can enjoy the experience together. We're glad that Adam brought everyone together as a group and you all shared a great time.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will come to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I (wife and 4 kids, 20, 17, 15 and 12) had the absolute best time at Royal Gorge Rafting. We had a great guide, Matt. Such a blast! Highly recommend.

1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

Thank you for choosing us to take you and your family whitewater rafting. We're so glad you had a great time rafting with Matt as your guide. He's a gem!

We hope that you will come back again to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My trip for the Royal Gorge White Water Rafting was great. Our tour guide was Grahm. He was a great guy and very fun too be around. He made our trip well worth it!

1  Thank Lane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

We're so happy to hear that Graeme made your rafting trip through the Royal Gorge a fun experience for you! Not only is he fun, he is also a very knowledgeable and experienced guide who has rafted on many rivers around the world.

Thank you for choosing us for your rafting trip. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

20 year old daughter & I did the full day tour ending a little beyond the Royal Gorge Bridge. River side lunch was one of our better meals on our trip (chicken fajitas, guacamole, lots of fresh fruit & grandmas special sauce). Don, our guide, was great would recommend asking for him. The morning portion of the trip was mostly 2-3 level rapids which was a good way for us flat landers to prepare for the level 3-4 rapids in the afternoon. The scenery alone is worth the trip!

1  Thank bigblindbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoJames, Front Office Manager at Royal Gorge Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

You summed up the Royal Gorge Full Day rafting trip quite perfectly! The morning section in the Bighorn Sheep Canyon is a great warm up for the thrilling, action-packed class III/IV rapids in the afternoon in the gorgeous Royal Gorge. We introduced the delicious freshly-grilled chicken fajita lunch this season to the full day Royal Gorge trip and it has been very well received. We're glad you enjoyed it as well! Don is a great guide with numerous years experience on the Arkansas River and it's awesome that you had a great time with him!

A big thank you to you and your daughter for rafting with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal Gorge Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing