We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional spot”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We came to Canon City to ride the Royal Gorge Train. This hotel could not be more convenient. It is right across the street from the station.
Our kids love the pool even if it is heavy on the chlorine. $10 charge for our dog to stay and we collected "choice rewards" because Econo Lodge is part of their program made it a win win. We are here for Spring Break so it is not high season.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank momof2wildchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel when it was not busy and had Room 215, king + rollaway, 2 adults, 1 child. They let us have the room without charging for the rollaway. The room was dated but clean and quiet except for I occasionally heard the water running through pipes for about 5 seconds. It did not disturb my sleep. The bed was a comfortable firmness. I always use my own pillow. The rollaway looked miserable (sag), but my son was fine with it. The shower had good pressure with plenty of hot water. The view was an alley. The view from the front of the hotel is the main road through Canon City and the railroad museum. The breakfast was a simple continental with waffles, pastries and cereal and was fine. We did not use the pool. It was a good stay for one night for the price.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BrendaW447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I made these reservation a few months ago and of course printed out the confirmation, but when we got to the hotel they only showed 1 room reserved. This was a family outing so besides myself and my husband we also had my daughter, her husband and their two kids. The receptionist was on the phone right away to get this figured out that is why I always print out my confirmation at home to show what I paid for.. We never did get our king room that we ordered but we ended up with two double queen rooms next door to each other.

This was a fun outing for our grandsons. We were taking them on the Royal Gorge Route railroad for the Santa Express. This hotel is within walking distance to the railroad.. that part was perfect. It was a little loud because the hotel was full of children that were to going on the Santa Express, but after the train trip it quieted down. The hotel staff were so nice and as an over night stay this place is also perfect.

The beds were to me very comfortable but my husband didn't really like the pillows. In my daughters room the heater didn't work very well but I guess it wasn't uncomfortable but could have been warmer.

All in all if u have kids and u are wanted to take the Santa Express, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craykclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Check in clerk was friendly. We stayed as a point night. I don't like that they imprint your credit card for incidentals. Most hotels file the registration cards just in a box after running audit. So other employees have access to my credit card number! I'm not to comfortable with that. When we checked in the clerk told us that the heater went out in the pool and he could not get anyone to go look at it due to the holiday (we stayed thanksgiving day) so that was a bummer for the kids. They kept the pool open but it was to cold. Room needs lots of preventative maintenance. The blow dryer was coming off the wall, the latch on the door needs another screw. The room was very dusty, the freezer needs de frosting, and a few other little things. The 2 choice hotels In this area are both older but next time i think ill try the quality inn.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank isawthesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed there for one night while participating in a bicycling event. The hotel is older, but rooms are clean and staff is friendly and accommodating. Your dogs can also stay for extra $10/night. Breakfast is...well just skip it and go to a local cafe nearby, since you are right next to downtown and it is guaranteed to be great. Railway station is right across the street, and many other local activities you can partake in - rent a bike, or go on a hike or a zip-line. If you are just looking for a place to sleep for a night or two - this hotel will do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank party_z_yanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Decent hotel in a great location. The interior decor is a little dated, but the rooms are clean and the staff was nice. It's within walking distance of the Royal Gorge Railroad and downtown Canon City. The free breakfast was so-so. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanonCityEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Betty G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. We always strive to keep our property above and beyond the standards outlined by Econo Lodge. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Cañon City, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Cañon City Econo Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Decent hotel with rooms and common areas well maintained. Very close to the Royal Gorge Bridge, downtown area, rail station and a nice clean park with a duck pond. Staff very friendly and helpful. If you want a cheap place to stay then this is it. The TV and beds are older but they worked for the one night we were there. We drove around looking at the other hotels in the area and we found that the Econo Lodge was the cleanest looking hotel we saw. I would definitely stay here again....for the price, we had no complaints. Note: We stayed the night before the Royal Gorge fire, in fact, we left the Royal Gorge Bridge a couple of hours before it started.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTrujillo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanonCityEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear BTrujillo3,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful Cañon City area. If you ever come back to the area, and stay with us we would love to offer you some discount coupons for the Royal Gorge Railroad. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the Cañon City area.

Sincerely,
Cañon City Econo Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canon City hotels
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Canon City
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Canon City
Hampton Inn Canon City
#4 of 13 in Canon City
576 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#7 of 13 in Canon City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Canon City
Super 8 Canon City
#2 of 13 in Canon City
454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Canon City
Best Western Canon City
#3 of 13 in Canon City
524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Canon City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 311 Royal Gorge Blvd, Canon City, CO 81212-3744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Canon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Canon City
Price Range: £49 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Canon City
Canon City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing