We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total tranquility”
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total tranquility”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We arrived at Boutique Bungalows after a lenghty trip from Magnetic Island and were instantly relaxed! Steve and Sharon were there to meet us with freshly baked banana bread & help us to our bungalow.
The bungalows themeselves were excellent, very clean and had everything we needed and more for a really great stay.
After a lovely dip in the swimming pool we went to Scotty's a restaurant recommended to us by Steve and Sharon to enjoy friendly company and great food.
We booked the accomodation to be near the Tully rafting and I would highly recommend it to anyone with similar plans or that simply want to get away from it all

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
313
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The other reviews say it all so without going into to much detail, it is a great little spot, huge clean rooms with a nice lounge area, tv/dvd player with DVD's to lend from the main house. Small kitchenette area and comfy bed!

The pool area was great for a dip after going for a jog on the beach and Steve and Sharon were great hosts...not to mention the breakfast which was delicious and plentiful. Some of the best bacon I have had!

Also enjoyed playing with Angie the WALLABY after brekkie, although Mango didn't take to me!

Good restaurant recommendation at Bingal Bay and wallaby spotting up on the hill at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lah1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Steve & Sharon are the HOSTESSES WITH THE MOSTESSES. Beautiful, Fantastic, excellent breakfast,spotlessly clean, .Try the Pizza;s ! Beautiful tropical gardens to relax in, with Sharon the tourism guru & mother kangeroo, & Steve the man of the moment, couldnt find a single fault.We highly reccommend BOUTIQUE BUNGALLOWS for a quiet getaway. 10/10
Steve & Yvonne Little mulgrave Cairns

Room Tip: there is only 3 bungalows take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnes591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We spent two nights here, and enjoyed the serenity of the beautiful gardens. To boot, we saw a cassowary and its youngster nearly walk right up next to our bungalow!

You will have an opportunty to hold a baby wallabie, and the breakfast was sufficient. You gotta be on time, though, as we missed the hot breakfast one morning when we showed up at 0855am. The owners will give you local tips for Mission Beach, and we wish we had more time to enjoy the area!

The sweet treat brought by for "afternoon tea" was a nice touch, too. Overall, it was a good experience.

Note that on the weekend before Easter, most restaurants will close early or have limited service-- we unfortunately found this out the hard way.

The rooms are basic and sufficient, with a queen bed, and separate seating area. Each room also has a tv and blu ray dvd player, as well as a basic kitchen that is stocked with pots/utensils. There is a small refrigerator, microwave, and a kitchen sink.

We went without a/c on one of the nights because the remote was out of batteries. It forced us to open up all the screened windows and door, which let all the nice night sounds in. Though a little warm without the a/c, it was nice to hear the natural night sounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktowner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueMissionBeach, Owner at Boutique Bungalows, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thanks for the review and we would just like to point out a few discrepancies for our future guests.

On arrival with your friends that stayed in another bungalow, breakfast was explained and that we like you to appear by 8.30 which you did on the first morning and as you told us you had bad jet-lag and after a late night of drinking on their patio your friends even suggested waking you up for breakfast as you had not appeared by 9am. My wife packed away the hot food which we have health regulations and you arrived to grab a coffee and said you would come back in 20mins for breakfast. You subsequently had available, yoghurts, cereal, fruit salad, breads, pancakes etc.

You were all advised that dining in Mission beach is not late and when you venture out at 8-30, 9pm looking for food it may not be available but you managed to find pizza.

All rooms have KING BEDS there are no queen beds here!

There are no pots in the kitchenette!

The aircon was already on and does not require batteries and there is an on button on the unit itself if the remote does not function it was working perfectly in the morning!

You mentioned that the batteries on the TV remote were flat not the aircon, we could have replaced them at a moments notice.

It is unfortunate that you left in a huff without saying goodbye as we like to farewell all our guests and thank them for staying with us.

Thank you both for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This has to be one of the most amazing experiences ever. Its much much more than just and bed and breakfast place to stay. Straight away felt really comfortable with Sharon and Steve as they welcomed us to their home. This is paradise in the middle of the rainforrest, Steve helped us with our luggage to a beautiful bungalow set amongst the most beautiful trees plants and flowers with birds singing all around us. Sharon followed with delicious fresh fruit and home made cakes, a refreshing welcome. The bungalow is wonderful and luxurious, furnished to a very high standard, lovely colour co-ordinated linens and cushions on the bed - with matching crocodile and turtle! The bathroom is modern and very clean with lots of lovely toiletries - frog toilet seat made me laugh very tropical! Everything you could possibly need was supplied in the kitchen area including tea coffee water. The bungalow has lots of windows and a veranda so day or night we watched and listened to birds and kept a lookout for creatures - saw a wild adult Walaby early morning just chilling out in the garden near the pool. Sharon collected fresh tropical flowers early morning and laid them on the table. Everything fresh and home made. The breakfast was a real surprise the best we had in a month! A large selection included a cooked breakfast fresh fruit yogurt various breads , juice tea coffee and pancakes lots of choice for everyone. It was served in a communal area which allowed us to not only catch up with Sharon and Steve but also one or two other guests!

In their spare time......Sharon and Steve rescue injured and orphaned animals which include birds, lizards and .........baby walabies. OMG I cant express how privaledged we felt to be able to feed them and hold them, learning about these creatures was wonderful, Sharon taught us so much... better than any zoo. I could have stayed here forever.

There was also a beautiful good sized swimming pool in this wonderful tropical setting. A short walk to an amazing huge beach were we only saw one other couple walking and an old gentleman throw a net into the sea for a couple of mins then drag out 3 HUGE fish for tea.

In the bungalow was a huge TV, lots of dvds available, even cold beer if you ask. Sharon and Steve gave us lots of information on interesting places to go and things to see and maps- we found a Cassawary and lots of walaby families, waterfalls, beaches and restaurants. I Highly recommend a stay here to anyone visiting this area....you will want to stay longer. I cant thank Sharon and Steve enough for a wonderful stay, their humour and very happy memories that we will keep forever. Good Luck to you both in all that you do,

Room Tip: stay more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueMissionBeach, Owner at Boutique Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
WELL WHAT CAN YOU SAY TO THAT!
THANK YOU!!!!!!!
Thats what we strive for here at Boutique Bungalows and Mission Beach.It has been a struggle with cyclones and the GFC for a few years now but hopefully Mission Beach which has a fresh new look about it and some vey positive business owners, is about to become a great holiday destination once again.
We look forward to some great times ahead with our future guests.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Boutique Bungalows because of work commitments in the area, and will definitely be coming back to Boutique Bungalows when in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area with the lush vegetation, the cleanliness of the bungalows and the delicious breakfasts. Sharon and Steve were wonderful guests giving us every day a different home made cake for afternoon tea. Definitely worth the detour!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October 2012 on a 3 week tour of Aus.
We had booked this as 'reasonably priced' accomodation to balance some of our pricier places but were sorry we hadn't planned to stay longer! I have to say the photos don't do this place, or the rooms, much justice.
The reception from our friendly host was very welcoming, despite our very late arrival..
The room was beautiful, and very spacious, with a sofa and tv area, and exceptionally clean(no bugs!). The rooms are set around the pool, amongst stunning dense vegetation-it's very easy to forget that you're not alone!
One thing I would suggest though is remembering to close the shutters at night as the otherwise the calls of the birds in the morning will wake you- what a great way to start the day though?!
The room has a folder with useful information such as local restaurants and takeway, which proved useful after our long jouney, and we spent the evening at 'Jill and Woody's' Pizza restaurant just a short walk away, taking in the peaceful atmoshere and chatting to the friendly locals. Breakfast was simple, but delicious, and eaten around the table with other guests who were travelling through, as well as the hosts beautiful parrot who watched over proceedings!
The highlight of breakfast had to be getting to hold a baby wallaby whose mother had sadly been run over and killed. This place also does the work of a santuary, and its clear to see what kind and caring people the hosts are. Mission Beach is a well kept secret, tranquil and beautiful,perfect if you need to unwind. All in all, a lovely, but short stay-only wish it could have been longer! # If you do decide to stay at this lovely oasis, be sure to put 'wongaling beach' into the sat nav- as it wont find it under Mission beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Property: Boutique Bungalows
Address: 3 Spurwood CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing