We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Touring through Queensland we found this an unexpected delightful surprise. It was clean relaxing and private. Breakfast was enjoyable been able to socialize with owners/other guests. Also enjoyed their respect for wildlife and environment. Thanks for fabulous stay Sharon & Steve, hope to return one day.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank petenandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautiful place to stay, bungalows had all that we needed, clean and well kept. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty for all. the pool is very well set out and the hosts steve and sharon were full of advice on places to see in area. The wildlife in the park was a bonus.only thing i would add is extra cups and glasses in room as if friends call by you cant share a coffee as the settings are for 2 people only. Have recommended b/b to all our friends if they come to mission beach.
Geoff & Stella

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Beautiful and clean, but we did not feel very welcome after the second time. Future guests beware! If you go with friends and book 2 bungalows, after 6:00pm you are not allowed to quietly drink a glass of wine together on each other's verandah. Also, anyone under the age of 18 is again not allowed to literally "set foot" on the property and a big fuss is made about it. It's not even a question of rowdy children, this was a 16 year old young lady who wanted to briefly drop in (30min at most). If you are willing to accept to be treated this way, you will definitely enjoy the place!
Josephina

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Josephina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Paradise on earth, we can’t describe it better and this includes both the premises as the nice owners living at the location. The place has a central, extremely clean, salt water swimming pool with a couple of bungalows placed around it. All bungalows are well separated from each other by palm trees and rainforest garden plants to guarantee the necessary privacy. We did even perform a swim at night (nicely illuminated) and felt like being in the jungle (natural sounds). The bungalows are extremely well equipped, very spacious and clean.
The owners cared for orphan kangaroos and could not stop telling about it. They also served a delicious breakfast and were so kind to show us their snake they hold as a pet. Before we left, we received tailored tourist information, just enough and what we needed taking into account our travel plans. They provided other information to another couple compatible with their needs. Just perfect.
One advise: if you plan on visiting the place, book for at least two consecutive nights

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are a birder, you know that one spends a lot of time outdoors. After spending a long hot day birding, it's an incredible pleasure to take a dip in the salt water pool. Salt water? Yes...so much better than a chlorined freshwater one.

The offerings of Boutique Bungalows in Mission Beach, Australia are both numerous and luxurious. It was only a year and a half ago that Steve and Sharon rebuilt their lovely Bed and Breakfast after it was trashed by Cyclone Yasi in Feb, 2011. Their photos show the devastation...but they took it as an opportunity to improve on what appeared to be an outstanding B&B.
Each cabin is private, screened by tropical plants like bananas and palms. This island of jungle provides habitat for many species of birds, all of whom, it seemed, congregated around our cabin in the morning. In the evening, we dined on the cool verandah and bagged more life list birds.
Their breakfast is filling, with bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans to go along with things like fresh fruit, toast, jam, cereal, etc. Steve brings out Mango, a sun conure (a parrot from S. America) to entertain while you eat breakfast. While we ate breakfast,the wild birds and the wallabies came up to visit. We only caught a glimpse of the cassowary, a young male who lives in the neighborhood. But having searched for cassowarys for two weeks, it was a treat to have one show up for breakfast!
Our cabin was sumptous and perfectly appointed. Clean, clean, clean bathroom, kitchenette and living area. Large fans keep it cool, along with much screening but if you really insist, you can use the Air Conditioner.

Sharon bakes. A lot. We had carrot cake waiting for us in our room when we arrived, and this afternoon when we returned, there was some fabulous chocolate cake. I better not stay long, I'll get fat!
After a lovely day of beach combing (where we bagged white bellied sea eagles), and found squid pens, coconuts, and beautiful shells on the clean, long beaches of Mission Beach, it was such a treat to swim in the salt water swimming pool.

Of course, you can walk to the beach itself, in about five minutes. Do so. It's lovely and the view is incredible.

Boutique Bungalow is a world class B&B-small, private and yet open and friendly. Do NOT miss it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a lovely property with excellent facilities. The bungalows are self contained and have everything you need, are sparkling clean, and spacious. The hosts are friendly and there is something for everyone at breakfast. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived at night, having driven from Cairns airport. It took us about 2 hours to get to Boutique Bungalows, we were tired, and had lost the directions. However, after a couple of phone calls with Steve, we arrived.
We were greeted by Steve and Sharon, and directed to a Thai restaurant where we grabbed a take away meal. Breakfast in the morning was in a great setting, enhanced by a display of rescued animals, which we were able to handle. Breakfast was comprehensive and varied.
The beach is about 5 minutes walk from Boutique Bungalows, and goes for miles.
This was our first visit to the area, and we did not realise that Mission Beach, Wongaling Beach (where Boutique Bungalows is situated) and South Mission Beach are some kilometres apart. Therefore, having a car is a distinct advantage, as Boutique Bungalows is a bit isolated. Having a car allowed us to visit a number of sights, and eat at Mission Beach and Wongaling Beach.
Boutique Bungalows comprises just three bungalows, set so that you are quite unaware of the other two. The pool is really great, and set amongst tropical vegetation.
The sounds made by tropical birds from well before dawn and late in the afternoons is something we will always remember.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
0.6 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge
Hibiscus Lodge
#2 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Address: 3 Spurwood CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing