We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to be”
Review of Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best place to be”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed our time here very much. The bungalows are furnished with passion and taste and provide everything you need. They are built in a wonderful tropical garden, that was set out by the hosts. Sharon's and Steve's hospitality is another reason why you should stay at Boutique Bungalows. They served us every day with a delicious and self-made mini-cake, a terrific breakfast at the terrace and they were very helpful and dedicated to us by planning and booking trips to the reef or other spots in the proximity. Another highlight was that we could watch and tease the baby wallabies that Sharon and Steve care for. A long and beautiful beach could be reached within a 5 minutes walk. Not far away there are other beaches, a beautiful little town and walking tracks through the rainforest that are awesome. We will be back. Jessi & Jens

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
314
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Steve and Sharon were on the deck to greet us and were on the deck again waving us farewell as we drove off.
Sort of sums up this couple who have put together a most remarkable oasis in Mission Beach despite the elements being against them over the years.
The cabins are extremely well presented and clean, a comfortable king bed that you are reluctant to get out of in the morning. Privacy is paramount with glimpses through the palms of the lovely pool, especially at night, afternoon tea of chocolate mousse and strawberries, everything has been thought of to ensure your stay is beyond comfortable and an extra bonus is the wildlife that these guys are carers for. Cassowary outside your front door, where else would you see that!
Having stayed in 17 varying accommodation rooms/cabins over the past 30 days of travelling North Queensland, Boutique Bungalows easily has claimed top spot for us and is exceptional value.
This B&B really has it all and guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful and private bungalows, sensational surrounds and wonderful hospitality. I had the most wonderful sleep and the home cooked breakfast was amazing. I only wish I could have stayed longer! I strongly recommend staying at Boutique Bungalows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely, peaceful retreat close to Mission Beach on the Cassowary Coast, northern Queensland. The 3 units are tastefully furnished, with kitchenette including microwave, and ensuite bathroom with shower over bath. The grounds contained a well maintained swimming pool to cool off in. A friendly welcome from hosts Steve and Sharon, with afternoon tea on arrival and lots of advice on local attractions especially where to see wallabies and cassowaries. They also provided a delicious breakfast, with cereal, fruit, toast, pastries alongside a full cooked breakfast. There was also an added bonus - a chance together up close to wallabies, parrots and snakes that are in their care. No children allowed, but certainly a delightful retreat for adults - we look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We are a Spanish couple that travelled to Mission Beach in May 2012 (stated April 13 in the review as this is the furthest back Tripadvisor allows us) and stayed at Boutique Bungalows. We’ve owed them this review since then as they, Steve and Sharon, were two excellent hosts, the place was spotless and beautiful and they treat us in such a way we felt very welcome every minute we stayed there. I definitely recommend Boutique Bungalows as the place to stay in Mission Beach and you’ll experience yourselves how great hosts and people Steve and Sharon are.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uyuni78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haaltert
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Sharon and Steve are two hosts made for this job: they take very good care of their guests but give you a lot of privacy as well! Small details as running to the car with a big umbrella, when the wet tropics live up to their name!
The bungalows are really nice, cosy and modern at the same time , with lots of space.
The highlight for me was the breakfast where we could cuddle the tiny joey wallabies that they care for as wildlife carers. It makes you really regret you can't stay longer. A meet-and-greet with Sugar the snake is also an option, try it!
A very satisfying stay, even better than my -high- expectations !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

After 4 wonderful days at the Boutique Bunglalows we would definitely recommend to anyone reading this review now, don't hesitate, just go ahead and book! The 3 immaculate bungalows are hidden amongst lush rainforest and totally private from each other - all within a stone's throw from the pretty pool, where we spent a lot of our time just relaxing and enjoying the peace and tranquility. Steve and Sharon couldn't do enough to help in regard to providing information for things to do, when we could tear ourselves away, including a lovely morning kayaking along the shore and an excellent dinner at Millers, with courtesy transport there and back, perfect!

Breakfasts every morning were delicious, with tempting options such as full cooked English, to fresh fruit and yoghurts and home cooked pastries and of course Sharon's afternoon teas.. well..amazing really! All this of course we shared the wildlife including the daily visits by a few cassowaries and wallabies, and the sick animals who were being nursed by Sharon and Steve; the baby joeys, the small kingfishers, the baby cuckoo and even some young pythons.

All we can say is thank you to Steve and Sharon so much for making this a wonderful place to stay for a holiday and looking after us so well!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally wonderful, happy with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 303Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
253 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Bungalows

Property: Boutique Bungalows
Address: 3 Spurwood CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mission Beach Bed and Breakfast Accommodation!Boutique Bungalows provides the modern day traveller a truly unique environment where guests enjoy the privacy of their own clean, practical and modern bungalow with good old fashioned customer service second to none! King size beds an inviting resort style pool and delicious continental breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing