We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime Thai food”
Review of Nana Thai Cafe

Nana Thai Cafe
Cuisines: Thai, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious Thai food friendly service with views to Dunk Island, dine in or take away open 6 days a week -sunday take away only,...
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sublime Thai food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We used to love going to a Thai restaurant in London on Camden High Street, and we never thought we'd find somewhere like it in Mission Beach, but here it is. When we eat out we often go to this local restaurant because the food is just so tasty, and the portions are enough to make you full. It's BYO with no corkage which we like too. The guys who run it are brilliant and the quality is always very consistent too. We love it and we keep going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIVCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    53
    20
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A relaxed dining experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A very relaxing and enjoyable experience. We were welcomed by a warm host and enjoyed wonderful Thai food in a pleasant setting. Great value for money too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai taste”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We found the Nana Thai food to be as tasty as any meal we have had in Thailand. Dining in the restaurant had an authentic feel, the service was attentive & well paced.
On our return visit, unfortunately all the tables were occupied, so we ordered a 'take away'.
This was equally as good as the food served at the table.
Very good value for money & well located.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai food. Always fresh. ”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Thanks again for fast and friendly service. Your food is always fresh and tasty. Tuesday was a busy night but you managed to have our take away to us very quickly. Thanks again

Helpful?
1 Thank efsjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unprofessional, uneducated.. That is where I'll stop.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Tried calling a few times as we were trying to get takeaway. Thought they must have just been busy because of the festival and weddings going on this weekend. We decided to go there in person, the sign was up on the front grass saying they were open for dine in and takeaway, there was two tables filled. We were waiting in line for a while why a couple of people were being served. Eventually after the guy serving finished punching away at his pre 90's cash register he decides to eventually tell us that they were to busy and he wouldnt take our orders, being 7pm on a Saturday.... I didn't quite hear what he had said to the older lady though she said 'how rude', then stormed off. I said to the man that it may be an idea if he should maybe take his sign out from the from so other people don't have the same issue. He replied with no word of a lie 'I do what I like' from such pathetic customer service I was enraged and may have moved the sign myself. I believe business like this do not deserve to get customers, lucky the weren't the only Thai resaurant in Mission Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cocosboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ben p, Owner at Nana Thai Cafe, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
G'day mate thanks for the lovely review. Uneducated? The way you carried on and you have the nerve to call any one uneducated? that is laughable, anyway mate in response during school holiday periods it does get extremely busy and we simply can't feed everyone with only one chef, people were lined up out the door! dine in patrons pay more for their food so get priority over take away. The way you walked out and kicked our sign down was immature and all the customers in the restaurant-a lot more than the two tables that you claim! We're all laughing at you. Sorry we couldn't accommodate you. Readers make of if it what u will, the only two terrible ratings we have recieved in the past year is from sour grapes because we can't serve every single person during these peak periods, it has nothing to do with our quality delicious food as u will see from peoples genuine reviews that have actually eaten here... Kind regards, Ben nana Thai cafe. P.S sorry about the pre 90's cash register were a bit behind in mission beach.. Maybe you could buy me a new one?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nana Thai Cafe also viewed

Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach
Bingil Bay, Mission Beach
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
Mission Beach, Queensland
 
Mission Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Nana Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing