We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inexpensive , spacious friendly and clean place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunk Island View Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Trying to find inexpensive yet decent accommodation is difficult.. This place was beyond our expectations and far out did other places we paid $30 to $40 per night more.. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. The staff are extremely friendly, the grounds well kept and the cabin was not only very clean but spacious. We kept waiting for the catch BUT are pleased to say there was not one. They even recommended 3 great places for dinner even though they personally run a fish and chip shop within the grounds. A great place to stay ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Midway between Mission Beach (north) and Mission Beach (south) over the road from Wongaling Beach. Much quieter than the very touristy Mission Beach (north) but well served with a number of restaurants and a large supermarket about 15 minutes walk away. The caravan park also has its own takeaway and coffee shop. A lot of work is being done to repair the damage from the recent cyclone though it may be sometime before all the work is completed. There is a good camp kitchen and the amenities appear to have been recently painted. The sites are large with room for both a car and a boat. Very helpful staff. Have already recommended it to a number of people as an alternative to the better known Mission Beach area. But like all parks in North QLD at this time of the year book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi there, thanks for the positive feedback. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really close to beautiful beach (2 min walk), much quieter location than main Mission Beach area but still have supermarket and restaurant nearby, staff at park really friendly and helpful and make great coffee! Amenities clean and decent showers. Highly recommend to stay here if you want a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbnAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We've seen this park through 20 years of management and cyclones. This is a fresh start after yasi. The lack of mature foliage will be corrected over time but for now I have noticed--no cane toads, no midges or mozzies to speak of not sure why but its good.
The staff are keen and helpfull which is always good and the cafe looks a treat with great chips.
The sites are huge but the price isn't cheap and there are no discounts to speak of for those that stay more than a month. Apparently this is being reconsidered so time will tell.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr11zzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We are definitely looking to make our prices a bit cheaper for those that stay for longer than a month. And we hope that the installation of our new 40kW solar system will help us achieve this by being more resistant to utility prices going up year after year. Thanks again and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed for one night in a camper van and that was enough. Thought the customer service was average at best. Had to wait ages to check in. The site is very tired and in need of an upgrade as it says in its website. It had been raining quite heavily and they were originally going to put me on a waterlogged site right out in the back. It was only when I questioned it and the nice Scottish chap took over that I got a better site. It was still a long way from the amenities block which was also very average. The photo they have of the kitchen makes it look better than it actually is. It gives the impression of being a place where there are a lot of long term caravanners.
It dies have a decent bar and two good restaurants in its doorstep. Wouldn't stay here again though.

Room Tip: Check ground conditions first if you are camping to make sure it s not soggy underfoot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi Karen, we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and we apologise that it took a long time to check you in. We are incredibly busy at the moment but we will endeavour to make sure your experience is not repeated. Up until this week the weather has been unseasonably wet and we have turned a number of potential guests away because we want everyone to enjoy their stay as much as possible. When it has been raining, or when we are so busy that the only sites available are those around the outside of the park, then we insist that all guests inspect their site prior to check in. We accept that the amenities block is old, but we take pride in making sure they are kept spotlessly clean, even when the park is sold out and the weather is terrible. We think we have a great mix of old and young, with no permanent caravanners, just very down to earth tourists like yourself who are here for a few days or a couple of months. And you're right about the great bars and restaurants nearby, but don't forget the best fish & chips and coffee in Mission beach is served right here by our on-site café.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

So great to be greeted by friendly staff especially after our horrid experience at Hideaway Holiday Village (review tripadvisor).Amenities clean, great food and coffee. Great location on beach. What more can one say.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Friendly staff member here. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Location, Location, Location say's it all. Great beach, walk for hours. New managers who have there finger on the pulse and so, so DOG FRIENDLY.
My wife and I plus Paris the little black poodle have been coming here for the last 5 years in our caravan and we just love the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP, Manager at Dunk Island View Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
Beachcomber Coconut Holiday Park
#4 of 22 in Mission Beach
154 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mission Beach Hideaway Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
5.9 mi away
Jackaroo Treehouse Mission Beach
0.6 mi away
Absolute Backpackers Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunk Island View Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunk Island View Caravan Park

Address: 21-35 Webb Rd, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Wongaling Beach
Price Range: £15 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunk Island View Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunk Island View Caravan Park is tucked away at Mission Beach within 50 metres of a magnificent white tropical sandy beach with views across to Dunk Island. We are a pet friendly caravan park nestled among tall palms on six acres of lush green rainforest grounds. For campers there is free wifi, an equipped kitchen, which includes a fridge, freezer, stove, oven and TV. For those who prefer more homely comforts, there are eight fully-furnished and self-contained units with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. We are in the perfect location for you to enjoy everything Mission Beach has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunk Island View Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing