We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hibiscus Lodge - Most Gracious Hosts”
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner & I stayed at Hibiscus Lodge for only one night but were treated like family by Adrienne & Robert. Our room was sparkling clean & absolutely lovely. The breakfast was delicious. Our special treat was see a Wallaby with a Joey in the morning...how beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Robert and Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thank you CurlyOz77 for your fantastic review.

Not too sure who you are but we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please you enjoyed your breakfast with the Wallaby experience. The Cassowary are starting to return again now so perhaps next time you come you can have breakfast with them as well.
Look forward to you returning one day to this place we love.
Hibiscus Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at hibiscus lodge for the third time in a year ,and yet again we had a fantastic time .We were greeted like family by Adrienne and Robert and it felt like our home from home.This was the first time we shared the place with people we didn't know ,but the way they look after all the guests you soon feel that you all met before.I recommend the Hibiscus Lodge to all my friends

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Keith and Sue. It was great to see you both again and yes we agree it was like having family return again.
We are pleased you feel so comfortable and at home at Hibiscus Lodge.
We always try and create a homely atmosphere at Hibiscus Lodge and the majority of our guests really appreciate it.
We are looking forward to you both returning one day. Perhaps we could do the markets together.
All the best and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

3 great nights with friendly hosts Robert and Adrienne. Tranquil, tropical garden with the opportunity to see amazing wildlife from the breakfast table - the cassowarys at close quarters were a very special bonus. The standard of facilities and grounds is a credit to the owners - we loved our room and the amazing breakfast. A big thank you to our hosts for the best hospitality in our 3 week stay in North Queensland. Fellow guests also enthused about this B&B

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness and view from the main Queen room at the front of the house. All 3 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Robert and Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thank you Denise for such a great review from a fellow New Zealander. Great to see more New Zealanders over here enjoying the winter sun and warmth.
Being your first experience of a B&B in Australia we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.
You were lucky enough to have breakfast with our local Cassowary and Wallaby. What a unique experience you had.
You also had a great day out on the Great Barrier Reef with the yacht "Big Moma"while you were here which you both thoroughly enjoyed. We were only too pleased to help arrange your tour for you and were so pleased you enjoyed your Great Barrier Reef experience from Mission Beach.
Once again thank you and hopefully we will see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very spacious room and bathroom, nice, clean and quiet. Very big and nice garden to relax. Kangaroos and casuwaris visit this garden, you can see them up close. The very friendly hosts present a kind of breakfast buffet leaving you to choice of combining fruits, yoghurt and toast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sparkle_serendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thank you for your review. Great to see more people from Belgium arriving this year.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the Cassowary and Wallaby up close.
You were only able to stay one night so hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time in the place we love called Mission Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a most relaxing and pleasant stay at Hibiscus Lodge. The owners, Robert and Adrienne, made our stay very comfortable. We enjoyed our evening catchup over drinks, and met a range of interesting and engaging fellow-guests. In addition, Robert and Adrienne made excellent recommendations of sights, restaurants and things to do based on our interests. The bonus was the Cassowary and Wallaby visits each breakfast. Our room was comfortable, the garden peaceful and we enjoyed the venue's facilities. We can highly recommend Hibiscus Lodge as home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank googlies843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your relaxing stay and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with the Wallaby and Cassowary.
You seemed to enjoy your walks to the beach which fortunately for you was only a 5 minute walk away.
Pleased you could walk to the local restaurants with our other guests. You all seem to have a great time.
Look forward to seeing you both again sometime in this magical place called Mission Beach.
Next time we will tell the rainforest animals to be quieter at night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed at Hibiscus Lodge before and after a sea kayaking trip with Coral Sea Kayaking in July. Robert and Adrienne went out of their way to make me feel at home, while at the same time respecting my privacy. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from an early morning checkout (with a delicious home cooked breakfast still provided), and transport to and from the bus stop. Happy Hour on the verandah each evening was just another example of the care and attention they give to their guests to make them feel welcome.The single room (with Queen Bed) was an added bonus ... a decent size, clean and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend Hibiscus Lodge to anyone looking for accommodation in the Mission Beach area. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Carolyn for showing appreciation regarding the single room facilities we provide at Hibiscus Lodge. Nice to know you felt comfortable and secure.
Not many accommodation houses provide a service to the solo traveller at a reasonable price so we are pleased it was to your liking.
Pleased you enjoyed the happy hour we provide. It does give guests an opportunity to talk to other travellers about their experiences. Most people seem to enjoy it.
Look forward to seeing you again some time in the future in this beautiful place called Mission Beach.
Thank you for being such a great guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Where else on the world could you share a breakfast of home-made muffins with cassowaries and wallabies? Lovely hosts who, as I didn't have a car, were only to happy to drive me to and from the coach terminal and also to a pub or restaurant in the evening. Also one of the few places in Australia that actually has a room especially for solo travelers. A relaxing complimentary drink and a chat in the evening was a nice touch. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Unusually, has a less expensive room especially for solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Robert and Adrienne owners reply.
Thank you David for such a glowing review.
Being a solo traveller without a car we were only too pleased to help with your transport needs around Mission Beach.
We do think that there is a need to assist the solo traveller at a reasonable price especially people from overseas. Pleased you appreciated the service provided.
I think Hibiscus Lodge must be one of the very few B&Bs in the World where you can sit and have breakfast with the Cassowary and Wallaby at the same time. Pleased you found the experience so fascinating .
Look forward to our evening drinks next to you visit Hibiscus Lodge. You will always be welcomed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Licuala Lodge
Licuala Lodge
#3 of 11 in Mission Beach
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range: £71 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing