We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to nature”
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to nature”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a nice place run by nice people, Robert and Adrienne. The Hibiscus is in a quiet street away from main roads, so the nights are very peaceful, apart from the the bird cries coming from the adjacent rain forest, which plays host to a number of wallabies and their young and a large male cassowary, named Dad. The wallabies are around the house all day long, while Dad strolls past once or twice a day. Our bedroom was comfortable with a large ensuite. There is an air conditioning unit and a ceiling fan in the room. Coming from the south, we found the January heat and humidity a bit trying, so the we had the fan running all night - fortunately, it was a quiet one. There is no cooked breakfast, but the fresh fruit salad was delicious and supplemented the cereals, fresh croissants and toast . Adrienne also served up muffins. The Hibiscus has its own swimming pool which we and our fellow guests made good use of after a day's walking along the local forest and coastal paths. Robert and Adrienne are very hospitable and all guests were invited to join them for a cold drink on the back verandah around 6pm. They are good conversationalists and we learned a lot about them and our fellow guets. The Hibiscus is in easy walking distance to restaurants. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
To our wonderful guests from Canberra. Thankyou for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge and for giving such a comprehensive review of our B&B.
So pleased you enjoyed the wild life here at Hibiscus Lodge. Dad the big male Cassowary is still around but we also have two others now. Peanut the chick from 2012 has returned along with Sammy the chick, now fully grown, from 2011. So things on the Cassowary scene are very busy now.
Pleased you both enjoyed our healthy Tropical Breakfast we provide. Much nicer than unhealthy cooked bacon and eggs stuff which are so 1970's now.
Yes it was very hot whilst you were at Mission Beach and we could see you were suffering from the heat. It may have been better to use our very good Air Conditioning system at night to enjoy a better nights sleep. Although we have good fans in all our rooms air conditioning is a must this time of year.
Thankyou for joining us for evening drinks on the verandah. We enjoyed your company very much as did our other guests.
Please that you feel you want to return so we look forward to you both returning some time in the future hopefully in the cooler months.
Kind regards and God Bless.

Robert and Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
118
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

That was for shure the best B&B i have ever been! Adrienne and Robert are wonderful! And as one of few they also have single accomodations. I would return anytime. Thank you very much for this wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank harrasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Armin for such an excellent review.
Yes trying to find single accommodation at a reasonable price is a problem sometimes both in Australia and internationally. Solo travellers find it difficult as most hotels and accommodation houses charge a double rate which is a bit unfair.
Pleased you enjoyed your accommodation in our new single room with a special rate.
You seem to have a good time in Mission Beach visiting Dunk Island and walking the many rainforest walking tracks we have in Mission Beach.
Sometime you can have a great holiday without spending too much money. Mission Beach lends itself to that.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Do hope the weather in Italy/Australia is not too cold this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for a family gathering at Mission Beach. The place is very comfortable, clean, good value and quiet. Our hosts, Adrienne and Robert were great, they provided a very nice breakfast on the veranda watching the Wallabies and Cassowary. They had good advice for shopping, restaurants and so on - we would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are three rooms, we had the middle one (as far as size and price was concerned). It was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossSydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Ross for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge.
Pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience with the Wallabies and Cassowary. A rather unique experience in the world.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time meeting your Mission Beach friends.
Look forward to seeing you again in this magic place called Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We loved this B&B, primarily for its quiet location near the beach and its own grounds. The hosts were very hospitable and helpful, and the wallabies came right into the yard. The room was large and very comfortable. The only 'negative' was that the breakfast, although quite good, was lacking in variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erich545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Hello Eric, great to hear from our American friends. It was great having you hear for one night.
We did enjoy your company and wished you could have stayed longer.
A little surprised about your breakfast comment as it seems to be at odds with our previous guest reviews. ( See 21 Oct and 20th Oct )
We have looked at our records over the period you were here and found the menu over the week was as follows.

Fresh orange juice.
A selection of 6 cereals including our own home made muesli
Home made Greek Yoghurt.
Fresh tropical fruit salad.
A selection of breads.
Home made croissants
Home made blueberry muffins.
Selection of 3 jams made by Adrienne.
Mixed berry parfaits ( Robert's specialty )
Bottomless pots of tea and coffee from the Cairns Highlands

Eric coming from America you may have wanted a large American syle breakfast which we do not have or advertise on our website . If you were looking for that type of breakfast you may have been better to research for a B&B that provides that type of food. Keep in mind though you would be paying $15 to $20 more in the nightly rate.
At Hibiscus Lodge we are trying to keep our costs down and at the same time offer an excellent standard of accommodation.
Once again thankyou for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to meeting you again hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed over the long weekend in the room designated for single guests. The room was very clean and comfortable with everything you could need. Adrienne and Robert were more than helpful and provided a wonderful fresh, home cooked breakfast. They even helped me with further travel! Catering for single traveller was greatly appreciated and native wildlife an extra treat.

Room Tip: Room for single traveller had queen bed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Barbara for such a great review.
Please you enjoyed your FRESH HOMECOOKED BREAKFAST and it was really great talking to you in the evening over our happy hour.
It was good to see you enjoyed our single accommodation which we provided for you at a discounted rate. There is certainly a need to cater for the single travellers sometimes.
Hope you and your mother enjoy your up coming trip to New Zealand. We were only too pleased to help with your itinerary and planning.
Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Townsville is not too far away
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If a secluded place in the middle of the tropical forest in absolute silence is what you want - do not look any further! This B&B is a great, spottlessly clean place, with fantastic hosts and the greatest breakfast we had in Australia :) Stay there if you want to see wallabies while having breakfast. Overall a great experience, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 605ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Ola P for such a terrific review. It was such a privilege and an honour to have you as our guests especially coming all the way from Poland. We must admit we don't have too many guests from Poland so it was a nice surprise and we did enjoy your company very much.
Pleased you had the GREATEST BREAKFAST IN AUSTRALIA with our local Wallaby guests. We are so lucky to have so many native animals on our property, The Cassowary are starting to return now which creates great excitement at breakfast time.
It was nice you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you felt so comfortable.

All the best for your future life together . Hope its not too cold in Warsaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner & I stayed at Hibiscus Lodge for only one night but were treated like family by Adrienne & Robert. Our room was sparkling clean & absolutely lovely. The breakfast was delicious. Our special treat was see a Wallaby with a Joey in the morning...how beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Robert and Adrienne owners of Hibiscus Lodge reply.
Thank you CurlyOz77 for your fantastic review.

Not too sure who you are but we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please you enjoyed your breakfast with the Wallaby experience. The Cassowary are starting to return again now so perhaps next time you come you can have breakfast with them as well.
Look forward to you returning one day to this place we love.
Hibiscus Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing