We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and friendly house”
Review of Hibiscus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly house”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hibiscus Lodge in October 2013. Sorry for the late review! :-)

We only stayed there 1 night, as part of our road trip. Robert and Adrienne are wonderful. They welcome you in their house like you are family! The house is very very clean. The bedroom was spotless, wooden floor, comfy bed; we had our own bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The air con was working fine, it was not too noisy at all. We had a great night sleep after a 7 hours drive.

The breakfast in the morning was very tasty. The view was even better! They have a beautiful garden where some wallabies and other local animals feel like home!

The Wongaling Beach is only a few minutes drive. It is a nice beach for a walk but maybe not for a swim.

There are also a few restaurants/bars 10 min drive from the hotel. The roads are really dark during the night, don't get lost!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerGlasgow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Robert and Adrienne owners reply.
Hello to our friends in Glasgow.
Thankyou for your kind review. You stayed with us in October so it is great to see you did not forget us.
Thankyou so much for the great selection of photos you posted. Garden looks a bit dry but is very green and lush now as we are in the middle of our wet season. Looks quite different now and has its own beauty.
Pleased you enjoyed the area around Hibiscus Lodge and that you enjoyed your breakfast with all the local wild life who live with us on our mini game park.
We have two large Lace Monitors visiting now. The Wallaby are not too happy though.
Look forward to seeing you both again sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
118
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed for two nights with our fantastic hosts Robert and Adrienne during our trip up the Queensland coast. We were made to feel very welcome - a true home away from home - and our hosts made every effort to extend their hospitality including afternoon drinks and sitting with us at breakfast. Robert and Adrienne were always there to suggest where to go, what to do and see but without being intrusive. Robert even took time out to suggest a different route through northern Queensland to what we had originally planned based on his own trips. It turned out to be a fantastic detour through the Atherton Tablelands - an area of Australia we would have never discovered had it not been for Robert's kind recommendation. The lodgings are beautifully set in wonderful, well looked-after, gardens which offer a cool place to relax from the afternoon sunshine and become a sunrise and sundown natural habitat for the local wildlife. Eating breakfast with the local wallabies was something to behold! The rooms themselves were spotless and really appreciated the fact we were given free drinking water all the time, plus other things such as lending umbrellas in case it rained. Overall, a wonderful experience and stay. This is definitely somewhere we would recommend to friends and fellow travelers alike.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danela13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thankyou Dan and Vana for your terrific review which is so generous.
We both feel so passionate about North Queensland and just love telling guests about our experiences and advising and helping people on things to do. Your unexpected trip up to the Atherton Tablelands sounded great so we were only too pleased to help you with tours and maps etc.
Pleased you enjoyed all the wild life we have at Hibiscus Lodge. We have 3 Cassowary roaming the property now which includes your friend Peanut. The Wallaby are not too pleased though.
Thankyou for being such wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you both again sometime in this beautiful place called Mission Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay at Hibiscus Lodge on 20 December. The B&B is situated on a quiet street and is surrounded by a large well kept garden (with a nice pool) and adjacent rainforest. It really is a beautiful, peaceful place. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean and included a tropical fruit breakfast served on the verandah. We were also offered a complimentary evening drink which gave us a nice opportunity to chat to Robert and Adrienne who are such lovely people and very interesting. We enjoyed watching the wallabies in the garden and I was lucky enough to see Peanut the cassowary whilst having breakfast! Robert & Adrienne are perfect hosts and I can thoroughly recommend this B&B! Also - try Millers for dinner, very nice food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Max-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thank you very much for such a glowing review. What a nice surprise to hear from you both. Do hope you enjoyed your train journey down to Airlie Beach.
Peanut the Cassowary was wondering the grounds at Hibiscus Lodge today. Growing very fast now and is almost pure black and his neck is turning quite blue. Still very friendly but full of mischief sometimes.
Do hope it is not too cold back in England. The Wet Season here is starting to kick in with frequent tropical showers. Your timing for your holiday in Mission Beach was perfect.
Look forward to seeing you both again sometime in Mission Beach you are both welcome back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We had a really nice stay at the hibiscus. After a long days drive we arrived to be invited for a nice evening welcome for all the guests which is a nice touch. The grounds of the property making for a lovely setting. Robert and Adrienne were good hosts and were quick to provide you advice on trips and the mission beach area. Breakfast was just the ticket with very good filter coffee. Make sure to take your camera to breakfast for the regular morning showing of the endangered cassowary bird plus plenty of wallabies and other birds. The highlight of the stay was when Adrienne took us and another couple to visit a neighbour who looks after orphaned kangaroo's. Baby roo's in peg bags! Fabulous. Robert recommended a local eatery Bingil bay cafe. We went for evening meal and the food and setting were excellent. Try the vegetable salad. We also went to mission beach resort all you can eat carvery which was adequate for the money. Be warned that hibiscus does not have a barbecue facility which it states on their website, which caught us out. All in all an excellent stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dippyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Owners Robert & Adrienne reply.
Thankyou for such a great review. Hope it is not too cold back in Manchester.
Pleased you enjoyed all the animals at Hibiscus Lodge. We have quite a mini game park here now. Have 11 wallabies roaming the property now. It is so nice sitting on the verandah at night with our guests watching the Wallabies grazing as the sun sets behind the palm trees. Our guests just love the experience as you both did whilst you were here. We also have 3 Cassowary visiting us now along with Peanut the young juvenile who you met. We now have some large Lace Monitors living on the property which is great. The only problem is they keep digging our lawn up but they are great to watch. Its like the movie Walking with the Dinosaurs sometimes.
Sorry about the barbeque. The problem has now been sorted. In saying that the weather was not the best for barbequing whilst you were here with heavy tropical showers in the late afternoon early evening. You did visit the Bingle Bay Café though which was a great experience for you.
All the best and we look forward to seeing you both again when you visit Mission Beach.
Robert & Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a nice place run by nice people, Robert and Adrienne. The Hibiscus is in a quiet street away from main roads, so the nights are very peaceful, apart from the the bird cries coming from the adjacent rain forest, which plays host to a number of wallabies and their young and a large male cassowary, named Dad. The wallabies are around the house all day long, while Dad strolls past once or twice a day. Our bedroom was comfortable with a large ensuite. There is an air conditioning unit and a ceiling fan in the room. Coming from the south, we found the January heat and humidity a bit trying, so the we had the fan running all night - fortunately, it was a quiet one. There is no cooked breakfast, but the fresh fruit salad was delicious and supplemented the cereals, fresh croissants and toast . Adrienne also served up muffins. The Hibiscus has its own swimming pool which we and our fellow guests made good use of after a day's walking along the local forest and coastal paths. Robert and Adrienne are very hospitable and all guests were invited to join them for a cold drink on the back verandah around 6pm. They are good conversationalists and we learned a lot about them and our fellow guets. The Hibiscus is in easy walking distance to restaurants. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
To our wonderful guests from Canberra. Thankyou for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge and for giving such a comprehensive review of our B&B.
So pleased you enjoyed the wild life here at Hibiscus Lodge. Dad the big male Cassowary is still around but we also have two others now. Peanut the chick from 2012 has returned along with Sammy the chick, now fully grown, from 2011. So things on the Cassowary scene are very busy now.
Pleased you both enjoyed our healthy Tropical Breakfast we provide. Much nicer than unhealthy cooked bacon and eggs stuff which are so 1970's now.
Yes it was very hot whilst you were at Mission Beach and we could see you were suffering from the heat. It may have been better to use our very good Air Conditioning system at night to enjoy a better nights sleep. Although we have good fans in all our rooms air conditioning is a must this time of year.
Thankyou for joining us for evening drinks on the verandah. We enjoyed your company very much as did our other guests.
Please that you feel you want to return so we look forward to you both returning some time in the future hopefully in the cooler months.
Kind regards and God Bless.

Robert and Adrienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

That was for shure the best B&B i have ever been! Adrienne and Robert are wonderful! And as one of few they also have single accomodations. I would return anytime. Thank you very much for this wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank harrasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Armin for such an excellent review.
Yes trying to find single accommodation at a reasonable price is a problem sometimes both in Australia and internationally. Solo travellers find it difficult as most hotels and accommodation houses charge a double rate which is a bit unfair.
Pleased you enjoyed your accommodation in our new single room with a special rate.
You seem to have a good time in Mission Beach visiting Dunk Island and walking the many rainforest walking tracks we have in Mission Beach.
Sometime you can have a great holiday without spending too much money. Mission Beach lends itself to that.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Do hope the weather in Italy/Australia is not too cold this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for a family gathering at Mission Beach. The place is very comfortable, clean, good value and quiet. Our hosts, Adrienne and Robert were great, they provided a very nice breakfast on the veranda watching the Wallabies and Cassowary. They had good advice for shopping, restaurants and so on - we would stay there again.

Room Tip: There are three rooms, we had the middle one (as far as size and price was concerned). It was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossSydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibiscuslodge, Owner at Hibiscus Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Owners Robert and Adrienne reply.
Thank you Ross for taking the time to review Hibiscus Lodge.
Pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience with the Wallabies and Cassowary. A rather unique experience in the world.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time meeting your Mission Beach friends.
Look forward to seeing you again in this magic place called Mission Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongaling Beach
5.0 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
3.5 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
Driftwood Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge

Property: Hibiscus Lodge
Address: 5 Kurrajong CL, Wongaling Beach, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach > Wongaling Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wongaling Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hibiscus Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Lodge Bed and Breakfast is a Colonial Queenslander property set on 2.5 acres of lush tropical gardens and surrounded by rainforest yet is only a 5 minute walk the beautiful beaches .All guest rooms have AIR CONDITIONING and screened windows to keep out the bugs (both a must in the Tropics)and full ensuite bathrooms. All rooms have the latest television eqipment and DVD players along with a small library of DVD's for your entertainment.The lodge has a large swimming pool .Enjoy a delicious Tropical Breakfast each morning (included in price ) whilst watching the many native animals pass by.Cassowary and Wallaby are a must to see at breakfast.Free wifi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing