We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Konnyaku

Konnyaku
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place is awesome. We were just passing through the area craving japanese food and found this place through google maps. We were instantly surprised by the atmosphere of the restaurant and the staff. It is so welcoming and everyone is so friendly. The best part was though, when we decided we wanted desert the owner came out and brought a sampler of every desert they have as the menu. I will be honest, a person in my party asked him to marry her at that moment. It was a great experience, very tasty food, awesome service. I would definitely suggest a stop!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnabear13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    15
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Yorkers Favorite Sushi Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I am from New York and come out to Carbondale frequently to visit close friends twice a year. Konnyaku has become a staple to my Colorado visits. I want to start by saying this sushi is by far my favorite, which is in comparison to top restaurants on Long Island. I love this sushi mostly because you can taste how fresh the fish is, which after talking to the owners they explained that the fish is caught in Hawaii and on the first flight into Denver and prepared and served that night. My favorite part of their special sushi rolls are their brilliant creations, which is due to the combinations of sauces they top the rolls with- they are out of this world!!!! When you visit you must also try the Saki they have a multiple variety of delicious flavors for any pallet to enjoy. Also for an appetizer, the Atomic Shrimp has the most flavorful combination of sauces topped on the shrimp tempura. Words can't describe how delicious it is. This sushi restaurants food cannot be compared to any other. Hands down it is number 1!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Scott_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food and Service”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stumbled upon Konnyaku just looking for lunch near Aspen, Colorado. I turned out to be the best meal we had on our week long tour of Colorado. The Atomic Shrimp are great. All the meals were wonderful and the deserts are out of this world. Susan and Willie provided service beyond expectations and some great stories!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesLfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Aloha welcome and ono (delicious) food”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The internet crashed and my scintillating review has been lost to the ages. Had I not just tasted another piece of Konnyaku's duck I would have quit and gone to bed. Alll you lost Hawaiians and Hawaiian visitors, if you find yourself in Colorado please make a detour to this terrific outpost of wakame salad and hamachi poke. Susan Wang has created a beautiful and tasteful oasis of turquoise walls, sleek wood floors and granite tables, and happily guides you through her menu. The place is a little hard to find in a corner spot but if you drive slow to Aspen (DO DIVERT) on highway 133 it's only half a mile on your left on the Carbondale exit towards beautiful Mt Sopris (a Fujiyama-like experience).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MakaiWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistant Excellence”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant a number of times each year since they opened and have finally decided to write a review. Every meal is delicious and the service is excellent. Susan and Willy are consummate restauranteurs creating and serving an array of Asian Fusion meals that are amazing. Start with Nega-Maki and Atomic Shrimp for appetizers and then decide if you're going the Sushi/Shashimi route or order from the entree menu. Either way, you're in for a treat. If you are looking for a change from the usual, head over to see Susan and Willy for a great meal.
Also, Tuesdays are 2 for 1 Sushi.... Yea

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LennyB391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konnyaku also viewed

Carbondale, CO
Carbondale, CO
 

Been to Konnyaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing