We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place but too many snakes!”
Review of Avalanche Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalanche Ranch
Ranked #3 of 7 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the place but too many snakes!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Let me start out by saying that we love avalanche ranch and we have been going since the pools opened. However on our last 2 visits there were many many snakes all around the hot springs area. I even put my hand out on the ledge of the pool just to almos touch one, I saw 4 more in the span of 2 hours and at one point one came in one of the pools and a woman grabbed it and threw it out. I love tha cabins and I completely understand that the appeal of this place is that is rustic and away from everything but is there anything you can do about the snakes!? I don't remember seeing them until our recent visits. Also the staff is not as friendly as they used to :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluesunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had two of the wagons. They are quaint and fun. A nice fun experience that differs from the everyday hotel. We loved the beautiful well manicured lawns and many flowers. The hot springs were nice and secluded for privacy and a relaxing weekend. The only negative thing I could say is that someone else used our labeled parking spot. They have thought if everything. The cookies and welcome note in our wagon was a very nice touch. I just want there to be availability when I want to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend for our anniversary in cabin #12. This cabin is one of the first on the main uphill driveway onto the Avalanche Ranch property. Like the other cabins it has its own parking spot right next to the cabin. The day use parking is within sight just down the hill near the property entrance from Hwy 133. When outside of the cabin there is highway noise, but then after walking around the entire property we noticed that we could hear the highway noise from all of them. Inside of the cabin the highway noise was much less and wasn't a problem. The cabins are rustic and very basic but comfortable and have everything needed for cooking, plenty of towels for pool and shower, and comfortable clean beds. Each cabin also has its own picnic table and grill outside. They have lots of farm animals on the property and we thought it was entertaining to watch the sheep, horses, llama, and donkey get herded from one pasture to another by the owners who live on the property in the big red house. We thought that the property in general was well maintained, although we thought that they watered the grass a bit excessively, considering other parts of Colorado are under watering restrictions. The 3 hot pools are nice and in a rustic setting with great views of the mountains and are usually uncrowded. They are a decent size, not too big. There is an additional smaller hot tub inside of the old building up the hill but it's a bit dark in there. Since these are mineral springs there is orange and green algae deposits on the hard surfaces of the pools but this was not a problem. Just be sure not to wear light colored bathing suits as they will stain. The pools have been built nicely with some sort of tiling, slate, or something like that for the walls and steps, with gravel floors. The gravel floors felt surprisingly nice and weren't slippery like the steps could be at times. We kind of imagined ourselves sitting in one of those hot springs up in Yellowstone since the colors of the surrounding streams reminded us of that. They are dog friendly here but dogs are not allowed in the pool areas. We saw all sorts of people here...families, couples, singles so it's a place for everyone, kind of like a big family staying at a bunch of cabins all on one property. The sheperds wagon accommodations look cute but also look very small. No bathrooms in them either. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked our stay at the last minute in the wagons. The pictures were true and good, but when I spoke with the gal on the phone, she said our wagon was the most secluded. It was actually in the center of everything. We had no privacy. The Wagon was cute and very clean, but it is crazy how it is in the middle of the parking lot, the public area, the main store. I dont' see why they don't move it to a more secluded spot. We came back one afternoon to find a family using the table just under our window. It's kind of hard to change your clothes with the breeze blowing the curtains and people sitting right there. You are to be able to use the restrooms in the Lodge and the pool. Only twice did I not have to wait while regular cabin dwellers (with bathrooms) were using these facilities. It's a cute place, nice people, but be ready to spend time with the group! We wouldn't return to the wagons--unless they move them away from the main parking lot.

Room Tip: Be careful to get an actual plan of the ranch before you book your stay. Also, there are snakes in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bevArm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I almost don't even want to write this review for fear of the world discovering Avalanche Ranch. I want to keep this little gem all to myself! We just came back from our second stay at Avalanche Ranch. Discovered this place over a year ago when we were looking for cabin rentals for our large group of friends/neighbors in lieu of camping. We are all families with younger kids and loved the idea of staying in our own cabins on a property that offered hot springs, pond, animals, nature, etc. We loved it so much last year, that we booked on the spot for this year and have now booked for 2014!

Both times we stayed in Sunflower #3 cabin. This cabin is perfect for us and we booked the same cabin for our stay next year. Honestly, you can't go wrong with any of the cabins. Their website shows the photos of each cabin and they all have their unique personalities. Cabins are equipped with bedding, towels, and fully equipped kitchen. Anything you need, they've thought of. If you don't see something, just ask! The hot springs are just fabulous - beautiful setting with 3 different temp pools. Be sure to wear an old swim suit. The minerals in the water will discolor anything white! The pond is great for kids - dock with canoe and paddle boat, fishing rods are provided. My kids loved swimming in the pond too. Every Sat and Weds, Cowboy Steve comes around to sing campfire songs and make s'mores. He's a hoot! Also, on property are horseshoe rings, volleyball court, hula hoops, bikes, etc. The lodge has wifi with TV (Boo! No one should watch TV on this kind of vacation anyway!), table tennis, games, and books.

The owners are wonderful - they've left us alone on both trips although we were pretty rowdy this last stay and deserved a bit of reprimand for not picking up after ourselves very well. We are sorry, Avalanche Ranch. We'll be better next year.

Did I mention this place is dog friendly? Dogs can roam happily on property without leash. Just pick up after them, of course.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I booked a cabin at Avalanche Ranch,as a side trip to Aspen. They have a great web site on the internet. Based on the web site, you expect great accomodations in a beautiful setting....Wrong!
The property is spartin, in need of renovation, and lacks any activities (there IS a mineral pool).
Staying there felt like sleep away camp for kids. And at $230 a night, it's one of the more expensive places in the area. I booked 3 nights, but after the first night, I had to book a room in another near by hotel. Of course they wouldn't give me a refund for the unused nights. The only way this place might make any sense, is if you have a lot of children, because the cabin did have a multitude of beds.

Room Tip: Stay.at The Redstone Inn at Redstone. A lot cheaper and it's charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noahbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Such a very nice place to stay. went in Oct. 2012 stayed in # 11, 3 of us and 2 dogs. had a very good time for a Fall trip. Went back Super Bowl weekend, stayed in the Ranch House and # 2
we were 10 people. The Ranch House is good for a large group, lots of room for everyone, and # 2 was just used for sleeping. The Hot Springs as the Best!! 3 pools, 2 large and one small, also not part of the 3 pools is a "hot tub" in a small cabin, never used that one. We are going back March 8/11, looking foward to this trip also!!! and the Staff is the best!!!

Room Tip: In winter stay as near to the hot springs as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBaileyCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
11.5 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
310 reviews
12.7 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
880 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Redstone Inn
The Redstone Inn
#1 of 3 in Redstone
198 reviews
22.0 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Aspen Meadows Resort
#5 of 34 in Aspen
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Ranch

Property: Avalanche Ranch
Address: 12863 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 cozy log cabins, tastefully appointed, and a 3 bedroom Ranch House. Located on 36 acres 12 miles S. of Carbondale, CO. Spectacular mountain views! Hot Springs on site, stocked pond, riverfront, ice-skating, snowshoes provided. Great venue for family reunions, retreats, weddings and romantic getaways! Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalanche Ranch Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing