We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Repair Still Needed Unless in Self-Contained Motorhome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BRB Crystal River Resort
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lots of Repair Still Needed Unless in Self-Contained Motorhome”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spent two weeks at this site, and this is my take. They have a few cement pads close to the river for self-contained which are nice. The site is 1950-1960's cabins with weeks of tree pruning and weed removal still needed. The new owner has had it for 1.5 years and is working to remodel. The tent sites are over-grown with weeds and brush. High desert with very little rain. It is a sandy, rocky area, no mud like KOA Durango, CO. That is a huge plus, and the road noise is 1/3 less. There is fairly constant traffic on this road, so don't expect it to be noise free. Could not find one in the area that did not have some noise, except the dinky hot spring spa up the canyon and it was over-priced and we did not like its too cool hot pools at Glenwood Springs Resort prices, which are a better do (*20 minutes away.) It is not on a side of the mountain main freeway like in Durango KOA, which unless you are deaf, or in a well insulated motorhome or cabin, is a NO GO!

It still needs at least a month to finish their bath house, maybe more, as of 7/15/13, so bring your own, or plan on being inconvenienced using the one or two cabins. The pool is an above ground, it had ants running around. The hole area has lots of ants, being right next to the river. Very few mosquitos-a plus! Did have a few yellow jacket wasps and the owner put up traps all around the areas. There is regular traffic noise, with maybe at best 15-20 minute gaps at 2-4 AM, drowned out,except on the river cabins. (*I used my Android app river noise which did not drain my battery with Wi-Fi off. No cell signal in this area!) Available signal at the office. No more than 2-4 cars at a time. The owner is remodeling slowly but surely. As to the cabin beds, I highly recommend you bring your own sleep number overlay, or like me my 4" memory foam 5 lb topper from justad on ebay. Just use cinch straps for your trip. Kitchens and toilets are some IKEA's in the partial remodels. Refrigerators in cabins 15 cu ft. It is rustic, log outsides. The river is shallow, and not swimmable like the resort on the river in Glenwood Springs, which has lots of constant train breaking noise at night! YUK! Would I stay here again? In one of the front self-contained motorhome spots? Maybe. A tent space~when the new bath house is completed and the site cleaned up? If I was hard of hearing, maybe? Pluses~ It is 5*F cooler than Carbondale during the day & night, and over 10*F than Glenwood Springs. It is higher elevation and Glenwood Springs holds heat from the hot sandstone. Minuses~ No regular wind to cool you off during the day. Has basketball court, shaded areas, laundry area, and eventually a new bath house. If you go, stay on the river as it drowns out the traffic noise. However, there are homes at the up river end which had a few parties while I was there, so you can get noise from there.

Room Tip: Tenting? Be on the river closest to I-tent site to be away from the home noise and away from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for an RV Park in Glenwood, but didn't want the city's noise. This place was perfect and only 17 beautiful miles to Glenwood. We had an amazing, shaded & level site (#3) right on the Crystal River with new electric breaker boxes and water. Sewer will be added soon, but in the meantime a "Honey Wagon" circles the park to drain the tanks. You must sign up for this service and it wasn't available on Sunday or Monday, which would have been nice to avoid the dump station. Brand new concrete patio with fire ring and grill made out site very comfortable.

This park is now a KOA, so they are constantly upgrading. A new bathhouse was being constructed, but in the meantime (again) you can use the port-o-potty if you aren't self contained. With all the improvements, this will definitely be a top destination for RVers, so make your reservations early. Staff was friendly and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom cabin, which was clean but dated. The cabin housed our six adults comfortably and the location of the resort was convenient to Carbondale services yet because of the proximity of the Crystal River still quiet and relaxing. Reasonably priced but the cabin could due with some updating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachecofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaceHorseLady
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The staff of the BRB "saved our lives" over the Labor Day weekend by going above and beyond to make sure we had a site for our camper.....after the reservation staff and campground hosts of the Redstone campground (White River National Forest) caused a huge problem for us.....the staff at BRB were so gracious and accomodating that we will be sure to use their facility again. The only issues that we could identify are the outdated bath house which they are replacing over the winter. Also they do not currently have on site sewers but they have another solution free of charge as well as working w local officials to get approval for sewers at each site. The plus side is their location....right beside the Crystal River......wonderful.

Room Tip: Sites next to the river are the best obviously....they also have cabins which look quaint....there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceHorseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We came here with our TT (travel trailer) and was very surprised to find our site has paved patio with patio furniture next to the river. We came with large group and the owners were very friendly and to make sure the group is happy with the sites/cabins. Some from the group was here before and noticed the improvement on the camping sites some with paved patios. The picnic pavilion is small but as group, it was crowded. BRB could build a larger one to accompany such group. We never used the pool. The time we spent was peaceful. There is also a paved bike/walkers path leading to town of Carbondale! We wish we knew about it to bring our bikes!

Room Tip: Asked for a paved patio with patio furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a nice campground right by the river. We had 2 tent campsites, 1 on the river and one across the small road from the river site. The bath house is kept very clean and we used the volleyball court for some fun family game time. The bike trail is right off the property, which is nice. There were 2 challenges in our eyes with this location: the road and the campsite size. The road is directly next to this campground and the speed limit is high enough that cars and trucks make a good amount of noise. The highway traffic dies down at night, but certainly there were times when a load vehicle would startle me awake in the wee hours. The other downside is the camping site size. We have a large 7-man tent and we couldn't put it on the riverside site. The 3 man tent was a better fit, but not by much. We didn't use the pool, but it was kept very clean. The campground was also kept very clean - small pieces of accidental litter were picked up regularly.

Room Tip: Campsite E seemed to be a bit larger than F, where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

These are rustic cabins, clean, but musty smelling and very dated. There were mouse traps in our kitchen when we arrived and they caught 2 mice during our 4 day stay we had to dispose of. The beds were so saggy and uncomfortable we bought an air mattress and slept on the floor. There were many little things that needed to be fixed (electrical outlets, shower faucet, shower water control, etc.) the refrigerator never worked right and ruined our food. Little things would have made cooking easier (ie. hotpads, measuring cups, cookie sheet, etc) The worse part was we had to share our quiet river front cabin for two nights with a party of 35. This left us with no picnic table, privacy and stuck in a very hot cabin cooled with noisy fans and cigarette smoke wafting into the cabin from the other group. Although owner tried to make things right by reimbursing some money and moving us to a smaller cabin the only solution would have been to move the group so we could have had our privacy that was specifically requested and paid for when the cabin was originally rented. I would say with some updates, pride in ownership, and better management these cabins have great potential but as they are now I would not go back. We stayed in a hotel in glenwood springs that was cheaper, cleaner, quieter, and still by the river....it only lacked solitude which we didnt get anyway.

Room Tip: Do not accept cabin #8 unless you are part of a group for you will be required to share your picnick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IloinenCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
304 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Redstone Inn
The Redstone Inn
#1 of 3 in Redstone
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
91 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
865 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRB Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRB Crystal River Resort

Property: BRB Crystal River Resort
Address: 7202 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623-9454
Region: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Brb Crystal River Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing