We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BRB Crystal River Resort
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend in a tent on a river site. Very happy with site, large enough for big tent and plenty of room to park truck. Each site has fire ring (with cooking grate) and a picnic table. Brand new bathhouse was nice (however, stairs on the north end would make it easier to access for those not needing the ramp) One inconvenience was no dish washing area for tent campers and no water at those tent sites. Also, only one dumpster in the whole campground which was full by the end of the long weekend. I had cell phone signal throughout the campground (Verizon), no wi-fi. There is road noise at night, so bring ear plugs. Very convenient location, close to Redstone and Marble. Going into Carbondale for dinner or supplies was a snap. Overall, happy with stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marichip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fountain, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A wonderful week was spent here in our self-contained RV. We had a nice premium pull -thru site with a concrete patio and picnic table. Environment was clean, neat with a beatiful new bathhouse nearby. No sewer sites are available as yet but a honey wagon can be arranged if you are there more than 4 days. Tent sites need improvement tho. Very scenic location with mountains surrounding the campground. No wifi at our site and only 2 stations on our TV(we don't have a satellite dish). If you want a remote experience this is it, tho close to Carbondale(6 miles) down the road. A few more lights around the campground might be a good idea at night. Bring a flashlight if out with the dogs at nite. Best sites are on the river but not available for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spent two weeks at this site, and this is my take. They have a few cement pads close to the river for self-contained which are nice. The site is 1950-1960's cabins with weeks of tree pruning and weed removal still needed. The new owner has had it for 1.5 years and is working to remodel. The tent sites are over-grown with weeds and brush. High desert with very little rain. It is a sandy, rocky area, no mud like KOA Durango, CO. That is a huge plus, and the road noise is 1/3 less. There is fairly constant traffic on this road, so don't expect it to be noise free. Could not find one in the area that did not have some noise, except the dinky hot spring spa up the canyon and it was over-priced and we did not like its too cool hot pools at Glenwood Springs Resort prices, which are a better do (*20 minutes away.) It is not on a side of the mountain main freeway like in Durango KOA, which unless you are deaf, or in a well insulated motorhome or cabin, is a NO GO!

It still needs at least a month to finish their bath house, maybe more, as of 7/15/13, so bring your own, or plan on being inconvenienced using the one or two cabins. The pool is an above ground, it had ants running around. The hole area has lots of ants, being right next to the river. Very few mosquitos-a plus! Did have a few yellow jacket wasps and the owner put up traps all around the areas. There is regular traffic noise, with maybe at best 15-20 minute gaps at 2-4 AM, drowned out,except on the river cabins. (*I used my Android app river noise which did not drain my battery with Wi-Fi off. No cell signal in this area!) Available signal at the office. No more than 2-4 cars at a time. The owner is remodeling slowly but surely. As to the cabin beds, I highly recommend you bring your own sleep number overlay, or like me my 4" memory foam 5 lb topper from justad on ebay. Just use cinch straps for your trip. Kitchens and toilets are some IKEA's in the partial remodels. Refrigerators in cabins 15 cu ft. It is rustic, log outsides. The river is shallow, and not swimmable like the resort on the river in Glenwood Springs, which has lots of constant train breaking noise at night! YUK! Would I stay here again? In one of the front self-contained motorhome spots? Maybe. A tent space~when the new bath house is completed and the site cleaned up? If I was hard of hearing, maybe? Pluses~ It is 5*F cooler than Carbondale during the day & night, and over 10*F than Glenwood Springs. It is higher elevation and Glenwood Springs holds heat from the hot sandstone. Minuses~ No regular wind to cool you off during the day. Has basketball court, shaded areas, laundry area, and eventually a new bath house. If you go, stay on the river as it drowns out the traffic noise. However, there are homes at the up river end which had a few parties while I was there, so you can get noise from there.

Room Tip: Tenting? Be on the river closest to I-tent site to be away from the home noise and away from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for an RV Park in Glenwood, but didn't want the city's noise. This place was perfect and only 17 beautiful miles to Glenwood. We had an amazing, shaded & level site (#3) right on the Crystal River with new electric breaker boxes and water. Sewer will be added soon, but in the meantime a "Honey Wagon" circles the park to drain the tanks. You must sign up for this service and it wasn't available on Sunday or Monday, which would have been nice to avoid the dump station. Brand new concrete patio with fire ring and grill made out site very comfortable.

This park is now a KOA, so they are constantly upgrading. A new bathhouse was being constructed, but in the meantime (again) you can use the port-o-potty if you aren't self contained. With all the improvements, this will definitely be a top destination for RVers, so make your reservations early. Staff was friendly and extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom cabin, which was clean but dated. The cabin housed our six adults comfortably and the location of the resort was convenient to Carbondale services yet because of the proximity of the Crystal River still quiet and relaxing. Reasonably priced but the cabin could due with some updating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pachecofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaceHorseLady
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The staff of the BRB "saved our lives" over the Labor Day weekend by going above and beyond to make sure we had a site for our camper.....after the reservation staff and campground hosts of the Redstone campground (White River National Forest) caused a huge problem for us.....the staff at BRB were so gracious and accomodating that we will be sure to use their facility again. The only issues that we could identify are the outdated bath house which they are replacing over the winter. Also they do not currently have on site sewers but they have another solution free of charge as well as working w local officials to get approval for sewers at each site. The plus side is their location....right beside the Crystal River......wonderful.

Room Tip: Sites next to the river are the best obviously....they also have cabins which look quaint....there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceHorseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We came here with our TT (travel trailer) and was very surprised to find our site has paved patio with patio furniture next to the river. We came with large group and the owners were very friendly and to make sure the group is happy with the sites/cabins. Some from the group was here before and noticed the improvement on the camping sites some with paved patios. The picnic pavilion is small but as group, it was crowded. BRB could build a larger one to accompany such group. We never used the pool. The time we spent was peaceful. There is also a paved bike/walkers path leading to town of Carbondale! We wish we knew about it to bring our bikes!

Room Tip: Asked for a paved patio with patio furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
311 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#2 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Redstone Inn
The Redstone Inn
#1 of 3 in Redstone
198 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
792 reviews
8.1 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRB Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRB Crystal River Resort

Property: BRB Crystal River Resort
Address: 7202 Highway 133, Carbondale, CO 81623-9454
Region: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Carbondale
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Brb Crystal River Hotel Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing