We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm hospitality, great location”
Review of Dandelion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dandelion Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Carbondale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“warm hospitality, great location”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I had a great two nights here over Labor Day weekend. The hosts were friendly and helpful and provided a delicious breakfast with bottomless cups of coffee. If you want to bike ride on the Rio Grande Trail (Glenwood Springs to Aspen, through Carbondale) it is basically right out the door. Stroll from the inn down Main Street for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Kauai Room, as innkeeper told us when we booked, has a jacuzzi tub, but no shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelley A, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Hi! My husband Jon and I are the new owners of the Dandelion (formerly Ambiance) Inn. We bought the Inn in July and re-openend in September, 2016 after an extensive remodel. Please visit our website to see the new look. We hope you will come stay with us!
Kelley Amdur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay. The owners, Norma and Bob were wonderful hosts. ... friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Yummy breakfasts, beautiful rooms... All in all. ..a very pleasant experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelley A, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Hi! My husband Jon and I are the new owners of the Dandelion (formerly Ambiance) Inn. We bought the Inn in July and re-openend in September, 2016 after an extensive remodel. Please visit our website to see the new look. We hope you will come back and stay with us!
Kelley Amdur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this B & B two weeks ago. The two bedrooms had evaporative cooling into the rooms nonstop. When complained we were told they had to be that cold so the owners quarters could be warm!! Rooms not cleaned. Would never go there again.

Room Tip: Don don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaHMorris, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
At the Ambiance Inn B&B, Bob & Norma (that's us) we greet our guest with open arms. A friend came to stay with us who was a previous guest that has family in Carbondale and enjoys staying at our place. His lady friend did not want to be here. I told this couple after they were here almost immediately that she was not happy here and that they should go to the local hotel that had rooms.
Her companion wanted to stay here. This was just not the place for her.
She did not want breakfast at 8:00 am. We did not mind that she did not want breakfast but her friend wanted breakfast ( we make a fabulous breakfast.)
Most of our guest have so much to do, they always start out early so they can enjoy a full day.
8:00 is not early in Colorado(we have been here for over 40 years)
I told them the next day that she was not happy here and the local hotel had rooms available.
Her friend wanted to stay at our place.(thanks)
We have a great cooling system in the house. As far as we know every one that stays is happy to have this cooling system. It is hot this time of year. Her friend is from Lake Havasu City, Az. And he said he loved it
We run it from 10am to 8pm. We run it for the house. We have our own cooling system for our section of the house
I told them 3 times that there was room at the hotel. He did not want to leave.
We went to straighten there room but they were in the room most if the time when we could do it.
She does not have to worry about coming here again, I will recommend that she go to the local hotel.
They left 2 days early and her friend apppoligized.
Not every one enjoys bed & breakfast lodging, but ours is a GREAT place and we have been in business for 26 years and have enjoyed every day. But some times you do have a bump in the road.
Please call if you have any question about our wonderful place away from home
I think this women is mad at the wrong person
Norma & Bob Morris
Ambiance Inn B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Ambiance Inn is very well located and most elements about the property are comfortable. Two of the rooms do have open windows into the public spaces meaning anything said in the room can be heard by those in the hall or livingroom. The personal attention that a B&B can offer over a hotel did not occur on our recent visit. Trash was allowed to build up in our room, sheets were piled on top of our clothes in one drawer, the Keurig coffee machine was not kept well stocked and mention of this brought a complaint from the innkeeper. On two mornings we stayed at the breakfast table to talk with another couple and Norma indicated some irritation. On two occassions Norma said, "If you like something tell Trip Advisor, if you don't tell me."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormaHMorris, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
This is the second year that this guest has stayed with us and he has never mentioned any of his comments to us.
There is one room in our Bed & Breakfast that has an inside window. The Santa Fe room that overlooks the living room has a shutter and a curtain that closes that window.
When this guest came in he said we did not have to service his room, as many guests do.
Sheets are stored in the two bottom drawers of a very large dresser with many drawers.
I do not understand how clothes could get under them.
The Kureg coffee machine is very popular. We stock this everyday. If the pods ran short it is because lots of coffee was being enjoyed by all. The minute we are told that it is short of selections, we fill it.
Our desire at our B&B is that guests come in as strangers and leave as good friends. We work hard to make this happen. It does not irritate us, it makes us happy that these folks have met and become friends at our place.
when people leave I have said
If you have anything bad to say about your stay, please tell me...(So we can improve our service)
If you have anything good to say, please tell Trip Adviser.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WASH, DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a very unhappy experience at another Carbondale B&B a few years ago, we were very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful welcome accorded us by Norma and Bob. Over the last 26 years they have built up the Ambiance Inn to be the place of choice to stay at when visiting that area. Their B&B is immaculate (we stayed in the Sonoma and Santa Fe rooms) and the ambiance makes one feel right at home. There was a really personal touch at breakfast, which was delicious and served with great attention to detail. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the greater Aspen area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIKONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelley A, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Hi! My husband Jon and I are the new owners of the Dandelion (formerly Ambiance) Inn. We bought the Inn in July and re-openend in September, 2016 after an extensive remodel. Please visit our website to see the new look. We hope you will come back and stay with us!
Kelley Amdur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights with Norma and Bob at their Inn to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's birthday. Our room (Aspen) was spacious, clean, the beds very comfy. The inn is conveniently located on a quiet street close to the historic downtown area, close to some amazing local restaurants and hiking/biking trails. Norma served a hearty breakfast every morning that was so delicious, we didn't need to eat again until dinner. Her homemade apricot jam from a tree in their yard is wonderful! They are lovely hosts and had a wealth of practical and so helpful answers to our questions for navigating the Aspen/Snowmass area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelley A, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Hi! My husband Jon and I are the new owners of the Dandelion (formerly Ambiance) Inn. We bought the Inn in July and re-opened in September, 2016 after an extensive remodel. Please visit our website to see the new look. We hope you will come back and stay with us!
Kelley Amdur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tuna Canyon, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at Ambiance 5 times in 5 years & love the experience every time. Bob & Norma treat you like good friends. Their place is immaculate, the rates very reasonable, the breakfast is always delicious. They have thought of every little detail for your stay. Things you might not think of to ask for but appreciate when they are there. Every room has a little coffee pot & basket of stirers, creamer, coffee, tea, sugars, flashlight on the nightstand lovely decor & each room is different. Bathrooms are a little small but not a problem. Beds are very comfortable. Comfortable living room to visit in. Magazines everywhere. Upstairs there is a landing that is well equipped with extra towels, magazines, soaps, small refrigerator, Keock (sp) machine for coffees, teas, even Chai Latte. It is around the corner from a street that has good restaurants in walking distance. We take a trip every year to Mo. & pass thru Carbondale. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: The only downstairs room has an extremely small 1/2 bath with toilet & sink but makes up for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelley A, Owner at Dandelion Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Hi! My husband Jon and I are the new owners of the Dandelion (formerly Ambiance) Inn. We bought the Inn in July and re-opened in September, 2016 after an extensive remodel. Please visit our website to see the new look. We hope you will come back and stay with us!
Kelley Amdur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
312 reviews
6.9 mi away
Element Basalt Aspen
Element Basalt Aspen
#1 of 2 in Basalt
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
886 reviews
12.3 mi away
Best Western Antlers
Best Western Antlers
#4 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
830 reviews
10.9 mi away
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
Glenwood Springs Cedar Lodge
#13 of 24 in Glenwood Springs
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dandelion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dandelion Inn

Property: Dandelion Inn
Address: 66 N 2nd St, Carbondale, CO 81623-2102 (Formerly Ambiance Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Carbondale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off of Main Street in historic Carbondale, Colorado, the Dandelion Inn is a playful and refreshing take on a 1970's chalet-style home. Choose from one of our 4 unique, light-filled rooms, park your car and walk to the best shopping and dining in the Roaring Fork Valley outside of Aspen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dandelion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing