We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fried Chicken”
Review of Castle Cafe

Castle Cafe
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in Castle Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went here for dinner on the last night of our trip to Colorado. 3 of the 5 in our group ordered the Fried Chicken. Came with veggies, mashed potatoes, and gravy. The food arrived family style. The fried chicken piled on a dish and the sides served in bowls. Help yourself! The fried chicken was tasty, juicy & not greasy. Very good food!

Seems like a popular place and by the time we left, the place was packed. Will definitely go again on our next trip!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    90
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World class pan fried Chicken”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have always gone to the Castle Cafe for the pan fried chicken, which includes all you can eat potatoes and gravy, veggies and biscuits. The wait is a little long, as noted on the menu, so order as soon as you can. Others in our parties have ordered other entries and said that they where very good. Good friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go for the fried chicken”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great local place, Restaurant is in an old historic on the main street in Castle Rock. Loads for charm. I love going Sunday evening for fried chicken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Good for Lunch”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

So they only serve their pan fried chicken at dinner. I have been here several times for lunch and been less than impressed. Today we had the chicken fried chicken which is about the thickness of two quarters. The gravy has an OK flavor but is too thin. Mashed potatoes are fresh but have no seasoning whatsoever, not even any salt. And the "vegetable" that they served on the side was a medley of frozen corn green peas and green beans. Yuck! Oh, and by the way corn is a grain not a vegetable. We had the blueberry cobbler which had once again had no flavor at all. The texture and the tastelessness of the blueberries tells me they were frozen. It didn't even taste like it had any sugar in it at all & the berries were rubbery & tasteless. The cobbler cake was completely tasteless as well. I am from the South originally and from a long line of cooks that really know how to cook & make fried chicken and cobbler (me included). Based on what I've had for lunch I would not be inclined to come back for dinner unless they have a completely different cook. I make a killer blueberry cobbler so I know a bad cobbler when I eat one. It's really a shame that they serve a lot of frozen items here. I know the enchiladas are also frozen because we asked to have them without cheese and they told us they come frozen like that with the cheese in them already. Blech! Oh & cobbler was $7 & CFC $11.50.

Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnHighker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Ever”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Castle Cafe has the best pan fried chicken! Yum! You must be prepared to wait, it is not quick, but so worth the wait. They do have other meal choices that don't require so much wait time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GotMud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Castle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing