We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Hotel and Casino
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I just called to inquire about making a reservation and the lady (Katie) was so RUDE. Maybe they should take a closer look at the people they have on their front line. I would never stay here based on this bad first impression.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank calebous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was our first time to Central City, we normally go to Black Hawk but decided to try something different for our anniversary! We went to the table room at Century Casino and met Randy the floor supervisor and he is the absolute best guy! Super friendly and was very helpful! He was able to refer us to Nikki, the hostess who was also amazing, who was also able to help us book a last minute room! Shawna, one of the dealers, was friendly and fun! Win or lose, we were having a good time with her! Every one was a joy at century! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777melanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place has more pros than cons for me. The wife and I stayed last Friday night. First off the rooms are neat, clean and comfortable and met all my requirements. I’m a pretty picky guy. Were they worth $180 bucks for a weekend stay, NO. It’s not the Bellagio. But they are pretty much the only thing in Central City with only 25 rooms. The rooms were surprisingly quiet as well. You kind of have to remember, this is a casino with a little hotel attached and not their primary business. I liked it better than The Reserve but nothing beats Ameristar.
The Casino- Great for me because I like $3 dollar Blackjack and Craps and they are not crowded. This is more of a place for middle aged dudes like me (49) as opposed to Ameristar for the younger crowd.
Mid-City Grill- I give this place about a 6 out of 10. You cannot beat the $5.99 Prime Rib. It’s actually very good. Watched them make a few sandwiches at the snack bar and they looked pretty healthy sized for the price.
Overall- Good place for a quick getaway with the wife.

Room Tip: No pool, no hot tub, no fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLind90157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The casino hasn't changed in years. Very poor/limited video poker. They also have a very limited table game section. They have a large variety of slot machines. They really need more variety and more video poker machines as it's hard to get on them some times. They need Wheel Poker and Wheel Poker Deluxe, Dream Card, Good Times Pay as Ultimate X is streaky and Super Times is OLD!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoViePoPPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent three nights in the Century Casino and Hotel high up in Central City, CO. Our room was sparkling clean and quiet, though it faced partly onto a busy street. The "perks" we got as Seniors were a pleasant surprise, and the food in their little restaurant downstairs was reasonable and good. Personnel were friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms weren't cheap, but the rates, if I recall right, did vary with the day of the week.The city itself isn't very big, but still the hotel is located in a handy spot, facing Main Street and within 2 blocks of most of the attractions there.

Room Tip: Rooms are handly to the casino. This, again, is not a very big place, either the town or the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ierelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I’ve only been to this Casino a few times. I play video poker. There are not much video poker selections at this casino, but the atmosphere and people that work there seem to be hungry to please because they really need the business. Parking here is easy. When I applied for my players club they comped me a meal at a restaurant down the street. I had fish and chips and it was really good especially for free. I’ll probably check them out again and see what their video poker is like now.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nefesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

If you're in Central City for the unexpected delights of the world-class opera there, your lodging choices are limited to a couple of small B & Bs or one of the big casinos that are the primary life-blood of this historic mining boomtown. We chose the Century based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. A few comments to supplement those already well-stated here. The reservation and check-in process is indeed a little off-putting. You can only make reservations by phone and you WILL be put on hold! You'll recognize why when you check in: the staff has their hands full with gaming. Like the previous reviewer, the staff member on the phone was a little on the casual unprofessional side, but being from the mountain west, I recognized it and grin and bore it ;-) You cannot check in before 4pm, which is a bit of a pain if you arrive mid-day for a matinee and want to change or freshen up. You will be required to get a casino players club card--which is not terribly onerous and they did give me a few free spins on the big slot behind the desk because I was new and because it was my birthday. Once you make it through all that, you'll be pleased. The parking is excellent--very important in this crammed, busy little town. The rooms are very good, with good insulation from the gaming noise. Our room was on the north side, over the street and the relatively frequent tour busses making the climb outside, one floor down, are an initial annoyance; but not too bad. We ate at the Rouge for lunch and dinner; we only had breakfast at the hotel and it was OK. I'll stay here on future trips to the opera.

Room Tip: Avoid street rooms if you're sensitive to street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Central City
0.2 mi away
Reserve Casino Hotel
Reserve Casino Hotel
#1 of 3 in Central City
2,108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
1.5 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Black Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
1.2 mi away
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
0.1 mi away
Nicki Lee Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel and Casino

Property: Century Hotel and Casino
Address: 102 Main Street, Central City, CO 80427
Region: United States > Colorado > Central City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Central City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Winners' Zone! Our 26 boutique-style hotel rooms are each unique. We offer single King, Double Queen, Double Queen (ADA accessible) rooms, as well as Suites. Ask about our banquet and dinner hosting services for groups! Try your luck at one of 500 slot machines, Enjoy friendly dealers at our Craps, Roulette, or Black Jack tables. 500 free close-in, covered parking spaces provided for your convenience. Century Casino just keeps getting better and better with improved interior design, the latest in popular games, more winners than ever, delicious food in both the Retro Deli and Mid City Grill, and the best service in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Century Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Central City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing