We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre lunch.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DOS Hombres

DOS Hombres
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Clifton
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre lunch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The chimayo chicken was awful. The red chile sauce was mediocre and the chicken overcooked. Chicken fajitas were OK. The salsa was nothing special. Atmosphere was cheerful and the service very good. Salad was OK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggannuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palisade, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the best Mexican restaurant in the United States, including Southern California. I have lived in several Estados in Mexico. Dos Hombres also has the best quality food; they try to make everything as healthy as possible. The atmosphere and service is very good, I did have a little problem with a female bartender with an attitude (she refused to give me a glass mug for my drink), but the manager quickly straightened her out. I love the seafood burrito with the jalapeno in cream sauce. My sister invented the square chile rellenos for them many years ago. This place serves the very best Mexican/American food. Plus, you can get Navajo food here. They are very nice about service dogs here. The bar is great, and you can order full dinners at the bar. I just can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spruce grove
Level Contributor
153 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Atmosphere was nice...but expected a little more from the quality of food served. Chimichanga ordered lacked some flavor and Seafood Tacos were just okay. Drinks were good!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always our favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Since my daughter could sit up in a high chair booster we have taken her to Dos Hombres. Now that she is 8 it is the place we go to celebrate or just enjoy being a family and treating ourselves. The food is great for kids especially if you love hot and spicy Mexican food and your kids don't. The service is always top notch and you can tell that it is a well run business - the employees are nice and the restaurant is always clean and welcoming. We've eaten at the other Dos Hombres in town and they are all great. We recommend them all, but especially this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife had three Old Mexico Tacos, and thought they were fairly good. One had beef, one had beans and the third had half beef, half beans. I had a New Mexico Combo with a blue-corn enchilada and chili relleno, plus posole. Unfortunately, the enchilada and relleno were served on a dish under the posole, so that all three items were blurred together in a puddle. We liked the salsa but the tortilla chips were machine-made and were closer to pressed corn than real chips. Our server was adequate but not very swift. The facility is very good, large and comfortable, but that wasn't enough to move Dos Hombres into a higher quality category.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DOS Hombres also viewed

 

Been to DOS Hombres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing