We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, cozy and convenient”
Review of Sunflower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Lodge
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy and convenient”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Sunflower Lodge. It suited us well. It is not fancy or spacious but worked just fine.The king sized bed was super comfortable. The kitchen was a nice bonus and well equipped. Owner was pleasant and kind. The location was great for a visit to this area. Close to Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon, Bear Creek Nature Reserve, Cheyenne Mountain. It is just between Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs, both charming towns full of galleries , shops and dining. The architecture in both of these towns is a delight. Though these little free standing cabins are on a main road, the traffic is minimal at night and the walls and windows do a good job of keeping sound out. It was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent one night at the Sunflower Lodge. The owners were nice and, from the outside, the little casita looked really charming, like a little adobe cabin.. Our night there, however, was a sorry disappointment. The decor and furniture was cheap and very tacky. The mattress was way too soft. The furnace was old, loud and ran every 14 seconds so it was a noisy night. The water in the shower was barely hot enough. Only one burner worked on the two-burner electric stove. The cookware didn't have any lids. The one skillet had food residue in it. I wish I could recommend this place but I can't.

Room Tip: I can only report on the one room available for guests with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billabong224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We rented the room with a king size bed to celebrate a birthday and we couldn't be happier. The stand alone adobe rooms are adorable! The bed was so comfortable, the sheets amazingly soft, and the kitchenette had everything including silverware, pots & pans, a toaster,microwave, 2 burner stove, coffee maker, and on and on. The bathroom was a shower only and that was just fine with us. The only odd thing was that you can't control the water temperature at all in the shower, bathroom sink, or kitchen sink. This was a first for both of us. The temperature was just perfect for a hot morning shower, just odd when brushing your teeth. The price can't be beat and I think we'll be returning over Thanksgiving!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erin620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I'd shopped various different lodges online and came across the Sunflower Lodge. My wife and I were on a getaway weekend from Breckenridge, CO and absolutely loved this place. In short, if you're looking for a place with tons of amenities, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a place that's run by owners that care and offer basic amenities, at an affordable price, come here. Very clean, quiet, and cozy. We'll be back for sure. -Ron in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: Don't be a demanding pompous type and you'll be fine! This place is clean and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just got back from a wonderful overnight stay at the Sunflower Lodge. The owners were wonderful and very acclimating. Our cabin was homey and beautifully appointed. Our favorite thing about the place was the "relaxation spot" as the owner called it. We spent several hours sitting outside in the "relaxation spot" reading and sipping wine. This morning we enjoyed our coffee in the "relaxation spot". I highly recommend the Sunflower Lodge. We have every intention of going back for Thanksgiving weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redheadedwitchywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Really nice place to stay in Manitou springs if you want easy access and a clean, well appointed room. Edward is a really nice guy. He owns the place and he s upfront about everything and helped with any problem. Only downside is that the cell phone reception was zero for some reason and the wi fi also a little weak. Another thing was the hot water wasnt hot enough for some. But overall it was a great place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. It was conveinent to all the locations we wanted to see. Really loved the little lodges. Very clean and homey. Great staff meeting my every need. Enjoyed having the kitchenette. I will definitely stay here on any future trips. Access to Garden of the Gods made it easy to keep up with my early morning walks, when weather permitted that is. I would recommend it to anyone visiting that area.

Room Tip: Get your reservations in early as it is a small place and will fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
552 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#4 of 19 in Colorado Springs
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Property: Sunflower Lodge
Address: 3703 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1915
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing