We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Funky, nice experience”
Review of Sunflower Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunflower Lodge
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Quaint, Funky, nice experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Although the property is quite old it's had a fresh coat of paint and is well decorated.
Our cute little cabin had a kitchen, comfortable bed, Wifi and Cable TV.
The owners were really pleasant and have gone the extra mile to personalize the property with quaint decorations.
It's a great location for Pike's peak, Gardens of the Gods and Manitou Springs in general.
The only downside with the property is it's proximity to the main road so if you are staying with Kids you much ask for a cabin away from the road and preferably around the pool.
We;d go back it was quaint, eccentric and fun

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in Manitou springs to explore the Cave of the Winds and take the cog railway up Pikes Peak. Sunflower Lodge couldn't have been a more perfect place for our family of 4 to stay. The lodge was lovely, very clean, had a nicely stocked kitchen with mini-fridge and microwave, and a sweet neighborly feel. On the side of each lodge there is a quaint sitting area. The owners are super sweet, and my kids were overjoyed to meet Koko the kitty. (We all miss our animals on this long trip.) I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMuscarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwood, MO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed a Sunflower Lodge with a group of friends. We each booked separate cabins that met our personal needs; I stayed in a King / Kitchenette and loved it! The cottages are a bit run-down, but they're classic Route 66 style cabins and were kept very clean! The bathroom was a bit small, but it met my needs.

I loved the location! We were right at the edge of Colorado Springs right by the Manitou Springs arch sign. Every morning I ran to and through Garden of the Gods, and one night I even walked over to Rudy's BBQ for some banana pudding.

The owners were very friendly and extremely accommodating. I'll definitely stay here, again!

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool. Each room is unique. Call the owners and talk to them about yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wteare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this motel. The owners of this motel were very helpful during our stay, recommending places to see, and accommodating our arrival. The room that we had was very clean and was perfect for my family. The location of this motel allowed us close access to multiple attractions. I would definetly stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in late and the owner/staff was friendly. However, this is a run down motel quality and we were expecting a 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms for 4 adults and 1 child, but ended up in a 1 bedroom (with 2 beds) and 1 bed by the front door, :(, and a 1.5 bathrooms.
The room is clean but small and very old.

Overall, we felt that it's overpriced and also in a shady neighborhood. We would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank duchoa2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 12 nights here and really loved this place! It is charming, loved all the personal touches that the room and entire place had. It is seconds from manitou springs and garden of the gods, old colorado city and all the attractions in that area. The owners were wonderful and will definitely stay here in the future when we visit. I recommend this place to everyone! Pet friendly also.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are decorated differently and are cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had looked at this property online and when we got there, it was pretty much as I expected it. We don't usually stay in 5 star hotels, so this place was fine with us, especially for 1 night. The owner was friendly, check-in was easy. The bedroom was large enough, nicely furnished, comfortable king-sized bed. Bathroom was tiny, shower was old and cheaply built, but it was sufficient. One interesting thing: There was only 1 water control for each sink/shower, so only one temperature for the water. Shower was warm, but couldn't get cool water to drink or rinse with.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BugsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.8 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 18 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
Rainbow Motel Colorado Springs
#49 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Lodge

Property: Sunflower Lodge
Address: 3703 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904-1915
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Colorado Springs
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing