We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok, once you get in a room someone else isn't in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Suites Downtown
Ranked #53 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ok, once you get in a room someone else isn't in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Good: breakfast, though no biscuits and gravy as told and needs pancakes or waffles. Has a pool, but nothing spectacular. Large rooms. Friendly staff.

Bad: walls worn down and falling apart in pool area. The entire hotel is run down and old. Homeless people are all over nearby and walking by constantly. Beds are NOT good. Very uncomfortable.

We were checked into a room and went and opened the door to it, and someone else was in there starring at us!! This was quite embarrassing, luckily they were mostly dressed when we came in! We were moved to another room. Must say this is a first ever experience!


Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We have a great staff and I am glad that you saw them in action. We are in the process of completing our soffit in the pool area. We are also making some changes to our breakfast offering.

Sincerely,

Quality Suites Central Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    65
    22
    14
    20
See reviews for
104
35
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

On my last business trip I stayed at the Clarion next door, but this trip they had no rooms available so I got a room in the Quality Suites side. They really are the same hotel building - you just go through a double door in the hallway. I was definitely curious what the difference might be....

The good: suite is 2 of the Clarion rooms with a big opening (not closeable) between, so tons of space. The standard bathrooms and closets are in each room. One room has a couch and kitchenette and the other has the bed(s). Both sides have TVs and sliding glass doors to the outside and separate heaters/AC.

The not-as-good: The desk is in a weird corner - not very inviting as a desk, but works fine as a table for stuff. The same housekeeping as in the Clarion - not quite as spotty as my last visit, but still uneven. In this room the TVs didn't work as well as last time (picture was always fuzzy). Not sure why but didn't care enough to try to get it fixed.

The ugly: Everything seemed like it was a "hand-me-down" from the Clarion. Slightly broken shower curtain rods, cracked toilet seats, soft (uneven, as in worn down) bed, cracked tissue holder box, toilet seat lid missing some parts. Definitely felt very shoddy and run-down.

The internet still was super-spotty (as it was by the end of my last visit). Not sure what their problem is there, but the fact that it was fine at the start of my last visit and deteriorated to unusable by the end seems very strange.

Overall I'll probably end up staying here again on my next business trip (partly since I didn't have time to look into other options). Not sure which side I'd rather be on, though. Either way, definitely don't want a room on the ground floor again - people outside are noisy!

Room Tip: I prefer the courtyard side so there is less noise from the road (although the roads are not that bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hipsterbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your objective and candid feedback. We would have definitely moved you to another room based on the pictures you attached with this review. Please call me at the number below at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Quality Suites Central Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Got.in.very.late.but.staff.was.very.helpful.and.room.was.very.nice.two.rooms.with.frig.and.micorowave.Highly.recommend..very.close.to.freeway.staff.very.helpful.when.checked.in.about.local.places.to.eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We offer great value for the price when you consider that all of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, we offer complimentary breakfast, internet, business center, fitness center and parking. We are also centrally located which makes us the perfect homebase for visiting local attractions in our city.


Sincerely,

Quality Suites Central Management
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am actually mid-way through my stay as I write this review... My initial impression of this hotel was actually very good, since I met many of the staff first. My son has severe food allergies (in fact we were here for a related conference) and the kitchen staff was very concerned and accommodating for my family, preparing special allergy-free foods for my son. The front desk (while clearly not interested in being at work) was still friendly, to the point that I feel terrible with the review I'm about to give...
Ok, first the rooms are not clean; stains on the walls, ceilings, carpets (both in the room and in common areas), random hairs all over the bathroom, land line phones are physically broken and don't work at all anyway, housekeeping failed to clean my room for 2 days (out of 5) so I had no clean towels and overflowing trash buckets, toilet seat is all scratched up and appears dirty, courtyard outside is filthy and dangerous for children (broken glass, broken garden light figures, cigarette butts literally everywhere...), cigarette smoke pours into our room through the vent (since the courtyard is the designated smoking area)...and last but not least I found a pair of men's boxers stuffed under the sink. They were slightly out of eye shot, but would have easily been seen if the room was decently cleaned. Just not happy overall. Have spoken to several employees and tweeted about It? Bit they really haven't responded. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Our team strives to deliver great service, clean rooms and ensure our grounds are well kept and safe for all guests. The problems identified in your review were immediately addressed with my Executive Housekeeper. We also met with you to discuss your concerns during your stay and offered several options to help make your stay great with us. We wish you and your family the best and hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver on our promises should your travels bring you back to Colorado Springs, Colorado.


Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Quality Suites Downtown
Colorado Spring
719-329-7444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel definately needs some updating but love the fact that are 2 bathrooms and 2 separate rooms it works great for families. The breakfast was great lots of choices and the food was good. The rooms and halls could be cleaned up a bit more. I noticed there was alot of dust on the chair in the room and the couch looked worn out. We never could get on to the WIFI at all and we tried several different devices which was very disappointing. The staff was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LETITIA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. We strive to deliver great service and value for our guests and your input is extremely invaluable in helping us improve our guest experience. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Colorado Springs, Colorado!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Quality Suites Downtown
Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Good experience. Two bathrooms with new, modern fixtures, two flatscreen televisions. The breakfast was the best free breakfast I've had, possibly ever, relative to other chains. Staff was pleasant and eager to please. Couch was noticeably worn, older, and had marks (possibly cigarette burns that had been removed). My suggestion would be to put a more modern sofa in the room. Overall good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your positive review of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip to Colorado Springs, Colorado!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Quality Suites Downtown
Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is in need of some updating (where do they still sell brown toilets like that?), but it has many redeeming qualities. First, the old stuff has been maintained very well. It's got all the amenities you need, plus an extra bathroom. Never have we been ready so quickly in the morning! The location is great, close to most of CS and the mountains.

The breakfast was full, with pretty much everything you'd want and a comfortable seating area.

I was impressed with the pool, too as it has a 1-2 foot shallow end for kids. And somehow they managed to keep it warm, unlike many other hotels in this tier.

Downsides: You'll do lots of walking to the pool/breakfast as it's in the Clarion section of the building. The rooms are pretty dark. Could use more lighting, especially in the ceiling. The staff, while capable, clearly doesn't want to be there. And the two pillow choices: three cotton balls or a balloon.

I'd go back, no question.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your invaluable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will use this vital information to improve our performance as we strive to deliver great service and value for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip to Colorado Springs, Colorado!

Jerome Hopkins
General Manager
Quality Suites Downtown
Colorado Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Clarion Hotel and Conference Cen...
#55 of 105 in Colorado Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#39 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#47 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Academy Area
Comfort Inn North - Air Force Ac...
#51 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Downtown

Property: Quality Suites Downtown
Address: 314 W Bijou St # (A, Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Quality Suites® Downtownis ideally located just nine miles from the Colorado SpringsAirport and has convenient access from Interstate 25. ThisColorado Springs, CO hotel is also close to many local pointsof interest, including Colorado College, the United StatesAir Force Academy, United States Olympic TrainingCenter, Pikes Peak (America's Mountain) and Garden ofthe Gods park, just to name a few.Hiking, mountain biking, running, rafting, boating, rockclimbing, horseback riding, fishing, golfing and ballooning aresome of the most popular activities that can be enjoyed yearround in this area.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. Enjoy our free manager's receptionMonday through Thursday from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.Guest at this Colorado Springs, CO hotel are invited to enjoyamenities like:• Free hot American breakfast including scrambled eggs,sausage, hash browns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls and free coffeeBe sure to enjoy our indoor saltwater pool and hot tub.Business travelers will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with copy and fax service.All of our rooms are two-room suites and consist of aseparate living area, sofa sleeper and two full bathrooms.In addition, all suites include microwaves, refrigeratorsand two televisions, as well as standard amenities like coffeemakers and hair dryers.Coin-operated laundry facilities are on the premises and valetcleaning services are offered for added convenience. Ampleparking is available for cars, trucks and buses.Whether you are traveling to the area for business orpleasure, make the Quality Suites Downtown your homeaway from home while visiting the Colorado Springs area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quality Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Downtown Hotel Colorado Springs
Quality Inn Colorado Springs
Quality Hotel Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing